Converge
Petitioning the Empty Sky


4.0
excellent

Review

by Avagantamos USER (1 Reviews)
October 15th, 2014 | 38 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A seminal release from one of hardcore's most important bands

Released in 1996, Petitioning the Empty Sky is an album that could be said to be ahead of its time. This was just a few years after the birth of metalcore, which is said by many to be Integrity’s release of Those Who Fear Tomorrow, which has a very different sound than the metalcore many know today or even heard on this album. It would be several years until bands like Botch and Poison the Well brought attention to the scene, so it was quite impressive of Converge to release an album like this so early on.

The first track on the album, “The Saddest Day” sets the tone for the album, and in a sense Converge’s whole career. Only two minutes into the album we hear one of the most crushing breakdowns recorded, which for me, in all the music I’ve heard, hasn’t been topped. The next five tracks show the same kind of blisteringly fast and heavy intensity as the opener. Beyond that, the middle tracks don’t do much else in the context of the album, so the album benefits from its brevity at this point. This is not to say that those songs are bad by any means, which they are far from being. “Farewell Note to this City” is where the album shows its uniqueness once again. The song has an incredibly groovy bass line and is like a ballad of sorts, but take that with a grain of salt because this is Converge we’re talking about. Closing the album is “Color Me Blood Red” Which is another balls out sprint featuring one of the most infectious guitar hooks I’ve ever heard.

Jacob Bannon’s vocals on this album are powerful as always, but much less refined than in Converge’s later work. This shouldn’t be seen as a detriment though, because in tandem with the gritty production his high-pitched growls and whiny crooning add a lot to the aesthetic of the album. Kurt’s guitar playing will also not disappoint, but it would only improve from here. Overall, Petitioning the Empty Sky is essential to any fan of the genre, and is definitely worthy of Converge’s now legendary status.


user ratings (1830)
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
Avagantamos
October 15th 2014


8926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review, comments appreciated : )

Judio!
October 15th 2014


8496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty brief review but good for a first, pos'd. For future reference you might want to be more descriptive in the positives and negatives of the album; if you have a point to make, expand on it instead of summarizing it in only one sentence.



Agreed with most of the points you make, but this album is a hard 5 imo.

Artuma
October 15th 2014


32769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

good first review, pos'd. i'll let the better writers give the feedback but this is a decent review, albeit quite short



btw is your real name hans messersmith holth? cuz that sounds pretty badass

Avagantamos
October 15th 2014


8926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it's my real name

Artuma
October 15th 2014


32769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

nice to meet u hans

Avagantamos
October 15th 2014


8926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is your real name ugh pop punk i'm not hong?

Artuma
October 15th 2014


32769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah it's my real name

demigod!
October 15th 2014


49613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review dude, album is one of converge's best

Judio!
October 15th 2014


8496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey remember when Demigod got me into this album by playing Shingles and The Saddest Day on Plug and then I slowly became obsessed with these guys to the point where they are now my favorite band?













ya

adr
October 15th 2014


12097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

#goodguydemi

BMDrummer
October 15th 2014


15106 Comments


was just playing the saddest day for my bro

Artuma
October 15th 2014


32769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

if he didn't mosh like a crazy then idk what else you can do

emester
October 15th 2014


8271 Comments


how the hell do you go from Finnish DM to this

I like Demigod even more now :D

wait were talking bout the user?

BMDrummer
October 15th 2014


15106 Comments


that big crescendo after the quiet break made me go ape-shit

demigod!
October 15th 2014


49613 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i am finnish death metal

BMDrummer
October 15th 2014


15106 Comments


btmi slays too

Artuma
October 15th 2014


32769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"wait were talking bout the user?"



duh lol

Supercoolguy64
October 15th 2014


11790 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

saddest day was pretty damn jam-worthy, to say the least. might jam sometime

Avagantamos
October 16th 2014


8926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you should do it

jtswope
October 16th 2014


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes you should.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy