NehruvianDOOM
NehruvianDOOM


2.0
poor

Review

by boomerwrangle USER (6 Reviews)
October 6th, 2014 | 27 replies


Release Date: 09/23/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: no doom i don't want recycled beats off of special herbs and spices thank you

When DOOM decides to join up with another rapper, I can’t help raising my ‘hype meter’ – we’re talking about the MC who was half of Madvillainy, the Mask on the Mouse, the Key to the Kuff. At the pinnacle, the nirvana of a DOOM collab, we see DOOM as an MC, a producer – a force. In the same way Kanye seems to bring the absolute best out of his collaborators, DOOM has, in the past, revolutionized alternative hip hop by combining his persona and his skills as an MC with whatever his other half brought to the table. DOOM + Madlib" Genius. DOOM + Dangermouse" Pretty damn great (even if the Adult Swim pandering did get old). DOOM+ Jneiro Jarel" Passable. DOOM+ Nehru" Overwhelmingly mediocre.


What does Bishop Nehru bring to the table" He brings his flow, sure – for a rapper his age, he has a remarkably stable flow. OM is a good example of how passable Nehru is as an MC. “Am I being idolized"/ Or am I a pair of idle eyes"” he asks in OM. So it’s not necessarily a lack of skill that drags down the record. It’s the lack of effort. This collab comes off as lazy.


Rapping over an old DOOM beat is something we’d expect to see on a debut mixtape; I’m thinking early Odd Future, and even Nehru’s 2012 mixtape, Nehruvia, where Nehru spits over Doom’s Lemon Grass. And there’s nothing wrong with spitting over your favorite MC’s beats. But when you have the opportunity to put out an album with, not from afar, DOOM, I would hope DOOM’s more involved in the process than handing you a beat off of Special Herbs. In fact, there’s very little Doom on the record, which isn’t a straight up bad thing – if this record was meant to be a platform for Nehru, it makes sense that DOOM would back off. But even when DOOM pops up with the rare verse, he sounds lazy, and tired. This is not a “One for the money, two for the better green/ 3-4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine” DOOM. This is a “cap to your chest, in your complex cuz honest/ Your conscious said the guy following you has lost it” DOOM.


In the current state of hip-hop collabs – Run The Jewels, Freddie Gibbs and Madlib – we’re seeing fully charged, fully realized artists playing off of each other and producing hard hitting, concise, and playful records. Neither half of the NehruvianDOOM duo is bringing out their full potential. If this were a mixtape from a upcoming rapper, I would be all over this album, but it’s not. It’s DOOM release. I know what DOOM can do with a collaborator – hell, I know what DOOM can do himself. But in terms of energy, persona, and even basic effort, this album falls flat.



Recent reviews by this author
Lydia Loveless Somewhere ElseWeen The Mollusk
Bright Eyes The People's KeyBoards of Canada The Campfire Headphase
The Daredevil Christopher Wright In Deference to a Broken Back
user ratings (94)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
WizardZombie (3)
DOOM is back with a new collaboration, but there is a long way to come here...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Funeralopolis
October 6th 2014


14250 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Alright review, felt the intro was a bit obnoxious and your review borderline ignores nehurvian. But review is still spot on in its criticisms pos.

Digging: Tori Amos - Little Earthquakes

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
October 7th 2014


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

tldr but yawwwwwwwwp

ZombicidalMan
October 7th 2014


2476 Comments


seems accurate from the couple tracks I've listened to. the JJ DOOM EP from a few months back was pretty mediocre too

BafflerMeal
October 7th 2014


1 Comments


Of the nine songs (ignoring the intro, including the iTunes bonus track), only two of the beats are from the Special Herbs series. DOOM was actually in the studio with Nehru for at least some of this. Maybe Nehru wanted to rap over the two Special Herbs beats used. This was originally gonna be an EP and frankly, due to its shortness, probably should've stayed that way as hip-hop EP's tend to be from four to nine tracks nowadays, even though nine or ten songs can carry an album anyway. But that's another topic. The album isn't a bad one, but it's not really gonna make me rush out and buy more Nehru. He's definitely a capable rapper, but I guess he doesn't bring anything new to the table.

LambsBread
October 7th 2014


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah i neg'd this review



1st paragraph irrationally compares Coabs where DOOM was the rapper to a coab where DOOM is the

producer.



2nd paragraph: nehrus good but 'lazy'



3rd paragraph: 'all beats are from special herbs' even though only two are. 'doom is lazy'



4th paragraph Uses circular reasoning where you say the reason this album isn't good is because it's

not as good as other coabs. then you irrationally compare this to a completely different style of

rappers and conclude this is far inferior because its "lazy".



You don't really justify the rating at all, you just call the album lazy multiple times and sound

really redundant when pointing out this isn't comparable to releases where DOOM is the primary

emcee.





oltnabrick
October 7th 2014


36494 Comments


the fact that DOOM is reusing beats from Special Herbs (from like 10+ years ago) really shows how lazy DOOM was with this project tbh.

Digging: The Durutti Column - LC

LambsBread
October 7th 2014


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

no it doesn't, there is only two of them and they both fit well.

oltnabrick
October 7th 2014


36494 Comments


he only raps on like four of the songs too so there's that as well.

really disappointing considering DOOM is one of my, if not my #1, favorite rapper.

frigyourgenre
October 7th 2014


3791 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

rlly disappointed

LambsBread
October 7th 2014


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

If you just look at this as a bishop nehru CD produced by DOOM and disregard the disappointment that DOOM didn't release a rap record, this is not bad at all.



this is really good actually, way better than Pinata.

HalfManHalfAmazing
February 16th 2015


1968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

baby you already knooooowwww

HalfManHalfAmazing
February 16th 2015


1968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nehru kind of sounds like a youtube rapper with 57 subscribers

LambsBread
February 16th 2015


6523 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i know what you mean but he sounds better than drake to me tbh

frigyourgenre
February 16th 2015


3791 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

2'd this on second listen haha

HalfManHalfAmazing
February 17th 2015


1968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i really dig Nehru tho his amateurish flow has its own little charm. plus he goes pretty ham

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 17th 2015


41694 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol @ 4/5

Digging: Edyth - Bare II

iamamanfromspace
February 17th 2015


1030 Comments


"way better than Piñata"

Fucking

LambsBread

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 17th 2015


41694 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

pinata wasnt very good so.

HalfManHalfAmazing
February 17th 2015


1968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really enjoyed this on the first listen. loved the production, Nehru is good in this very rough around the edges, amateurish way.

iamamanfromspace
February 17th 2015


1030 Comments


This album is just boring; can see Nehru getting better but he's just not a great or engaging rapper here. Thankfully he's young and has time. If DOOM sees potential in him I trust that he could get good at some point down the line



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy