Fueled by Fire
Spread the Fire


1.0
awful

Review

by Mister Twister USER (28 Reviews)
September 30th, 2014 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Hey Leonard, the kids like the fast musics, right?"

An album needs inspiration to truly connect to anybody. Something made devoid of soul, simply to cash in on a trend is one of the most unbearably painful things to behold. Spread the Fire is clear-cut evidence of this. Throughout a grueling 36-minute romp, Fueled by Fire have created a noxious mixture of dull, lifeless, unoriginal slop that won't satisfy anybody.

The album is almost trying too hard to find a place amongst those following the re-thrash movement. Everything about it just reeks of complacency and a desire to be "true" to the roots, ironically achieving the exact opposite effect. Spread the Fire feels like an album made by businessmen attempting to reach the youth through a medium they've never experienced before, and failing miserably. Don't take it from them though, their lyrics assure you that this isn't the case:

80's is when thrash was made,
Those were the glory days
Thrash was asleep, but now it's awake
We'll never die, we're here to stay
The glory days are back!
THRASHERS UNITE!! Scream with Me!!


Almost the entire album is as cliched as this. It's almost embarrassing to think someone would find this acceptable to set as a leading track for their supposed love letter to the "glory days". But hey, nobody listens to thrash for the lyrics or vocals right? Sure the vocal performance might be irritating and the lyrics cringe-inducing, but at least it brings the riffs, right?

Well, not quite. Heading back to the issue of unoriginality, there's very little variety to be found on the album. Not a single section stands out as particularly attention-grabbing, and there's nothing present that would possibly draw one in over any contemporaries. Riffs are very bland, repeated for far too long, and don't even sound all that different once you hear the next. This is on top of the fact that the members can't seem to keep time effectively, and therefore often make the production seem sloppy, as if the pathetically weak drum sounds or putrid mixing hadn't done enough to convince you of how half-hearted this affair is.

All in all, there's simply no reason to ever touch Spread the Fire rather than, well, basically any other thrash album. It's tolerable for a song at a time, maybe, but even then there's better options, and the entire album sounds exactly the same. This, on top of the fact that the album has a crushing feeling of uninspired staleness about it, render Spread the Fire more of a chore than the thrill it claims itself to be.

No Recommended Tracks



Recent reviews by this author
Temple of Blood Prepare for the Judgment of MankindHangar Last Time
Excel Split ImageFallen Angel (SWE) Faith Fails
Tantara Based on EvilPentakill Smite and Ignite
user ratings (46)
2.9
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mister Twister
September 30th 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This thing was pretty painful to drag myself through. Stay away.

ArsMoriendi
September 30th 2014


37483 Comments


"80's is when thrash was made,
Those were the glory days
Thrash was asleep, but now it's awake
We'll never die, we're here to stay
The glory days are back!
THRASHERS UNITE!! Scream with Me!!"


It seems like a 12 year old wrote these lyrics.

Great review, pos!

Digging: Meshell Ndegeocello - Peace Beyond Passion

Mister Twister
September 30th 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

tbh it's not even the worst on the album, it just demonstrates the point most effectively

BMDrummer
October 1st 2014


14835 Comments


lol this sounds hilariously bad

Mister Twister
October 1st 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

all words in your sentence are correct, aside from "hilariously"



i wish it were funny



but it sounds like this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7l5J_YS0uyw



to be fair, going off of just catastrophe, their new album doesn't sound that bad

tempest--
October 1st 2014


20634 Comments


they may not be the most original band of all time but at least it's still fuckin thrash you diltch, grow a pair

TheSonomaDude
October 1st 2014


8541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Eh, it's generic crap but most modern underground thrash is. I really don't see any difference between this and 99% of modern day generic thrash metal bands. Like it's not very good but it has some riffs in there, some solos, some okay moments. It's just okay. At least this band sounds like they'd make kickass live shows, and the album cover art is fucking hilarious.

Mister Twister
October 1st 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

except it's really really REALLY terrible thrash that might as well not exist it's so boring



seriously though this is a painful experience, they can't even properly play their generic riffs that all sound the same

tempest--
October 1st 2014


20634 Comments


i listened to that link you posted its like a 2 at the very worst unless you hate metal

Mister Twister
October 1st 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

but it's also more or less the best song on the album



imagine listening to that and worse for 36 minutes straight



i mean i had had it at a 1.5 but then i realized the review seemed too harsh for even that and that i also

hate this a lot

tempest--
October 1st 2014


20634 Comments


its not bad though its just generic as fuck
it still riffs and solos and thrashes and whatever
36 minutes isnt even long anyway

to me the review seems like it was written by someone who doesnt like thrash metal which results in me asking why you would even want to listen to this to review it in the first place

or maybe you just have a different set of standards for your 1s
to me, rating something a 1 is like the very worst thing youve ever heard like its literally not even music to your ears
couple that with thrash being my fav genre and ill listen to pretty much anything that thrashes it seems so absolutely ridiculous to 1 this

tempest--
October 1st 2014


20634 Comments


im not saying its not a bad album, but a rating that harsh and a review thats really not that good to justify said rating makes me confused and frustrated

not saying the review is bad either, grammatically and syntactically its all sound, but like what youve actually written here isnt working for me

Mister Twister
October 1st 2014


2701 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I see where you're coming from, but it's just that this doesn't even sound like they know how to play their

instruments. They lose time in multiple instances, and hell, the solos are painful to listen to. It's like

wank that isn't even technical, if that makes sense. It's like it sounds like they're trying to show off

something that's not impressive during the solos, and they sound terrible. It's hard to get through more

than a few songs at a time, and there's nothing here that stands out as ever being really worth listening

to. And again, the riffs are lifeless and sub-par.



I do get where you're coming from, I suppose it's more just a matter of agreeing to disagree. I mean I love

thrash, but this is just a dismal affair to me. I might be a bit harsh on it, but it's really telling that I

could only get halfway through the album before I found myself simply waiting for it to end.

TheSonomaDude
October 1st 2014


8541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I mean, it sounds like middle schoolers wrote it but it still has semi-decent riffs

TheSonomaDude
October 1st 2014


8541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And okay, a lot of the solos sound pretty amateurish.



" They lose time in multiple instances, and hell, the solos are painful to listen to. It's like

wank that isn't even technical, if that makes sense. It's like it sounds like they're trying to show off

something that's not impressive during the solos, and they sound terrible. "



You should've put this in your review.

FlyheadMetal
January 4th 2015


2422 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't that bad. It's more generic then awful.

Minushuman24
December 4th 2018


4941 Comments


I fucking hate this album cover



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy