The World Is a Beautiful Place...
Between Bodies


3.5
great

Review

by puertasmagicas USER (5 Reviews)
September 30th, 2014 | 126 replies


Release Date: 10/07/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The end of everything is the beginning of a brand new everything.

A few days ago, I had a little discussion with a friend. She mantained that instrumental music was superior to music with lyrics, because the second didn’t let her “drift away”. I told her that she wasn’t listening to the correct lyricists, because she clearly hadn’t understood that that is the exact intention of good poetry: to take anyone far beyond any one “here”.

Cue the appearance of Between Bodies, The World Is…’s controversial new EP which merges the band’s trademark spacey and unapologetically corny music with just as spacey and unapologetically corny spoken word poetry. Corny happens to be a praise here: one of the reasons this band’s music is so powerful is precisely that they geniunely believe in what they shout and whisper--which unlike 99% of emo, isn't merely teenage melancholy, but existential melancholy and the quest for embracing the whole of life a la Nietzsche (if you need proof, reread their complete band name)--and they aren’t afraid if you find them a bit ridiculous: just because it’s a bit ridiculous, and a bit out there, doesn’t mean it isn’t true. In this very sense, I could hardly fathom a better fit for their poet than Chris Zizzamia: his cosmos imagery and using of atoms as metaphors for unity, chance and immortality might just make one or two Carl Sagan fanboys shed a tear.

Yet the marriage sadly isn’t as perfect as it should be. The first problem is that Chris Zizzamia's voice is somewhat lacking. Spoken word artists, much like vocalists, are meant to have a certain control over what the emotion of their voices invoke, and Zizzamia falls a bit flat. It always sound like he’s talking (though not shouting) from the top of his lungs, but this doesn’t always translate into making one feel like he’s screaming from the bottom of his heart.

But the main problem is that the songs don’t feel like a completely unified statement. It’s just too obvious that the band is playing around Zizzamia’s compositions--which is to say that there’s no seamless integration of all the elements at play (even if the elements themselves are actually quite good, the band laying down some of their most intricate aural textures yet). In fact, the EP contains one song that accidentally proves this by providing a counter-example: the last track, autotonsorialist, is exactly how a merge of spoken poetry and The World is…’s music as one hollistic artistic statement should be. It starts with a subdued intro that prepares the landscape for a consistent, brief poem which itself prepares for the track’s rising climax, in which various layers of David F. Bello’s singing play against the other. Every one strength of the band and the poet are very effectively displayed, if perhaps not to their maximum potential.

Great music fused with spoken word can be done right and has in fact been done countless times before, for milennia; the talented and evokative The World Is a Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid to Die are well on their way, but not quite there yet. One can already feel what Between Bodies's place in their discography will be looked back as: neither a disaster nor a groundbreaking stylistic shift, but merely an imperefect execution of a good idea.


user ratings (126)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
puertasmagicas
September 30th 2014


61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The band just made the whole thing officially streamable through bandcamp right here: https://theworldis.bandcamp.com/album/between-bodies



Enjoy!

YakNips
September 30th 2014


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ooo im excited to give all my criticisms of this

YakNips
September 30th 2014


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

first song is so good can we get some hype on this please

Artuma
September 30th 2014


29123 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

stokedstokedstokedstokedstoked

MonotoneMop
September 30th 2014


565 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Everyone talks about the big bang. I'm not talking about your parents fucking, but your parents' parents' parents fucking"



Yeah this is kinda dumb so far. Precipice was good.

zakalwe
September 30th 2014


23376 Comments


From that opening paragraph if I was sat in the pub supping a pint between you two having that 'conversation' I'd tell you to "shut ya fuckin prattle" between handfuls of ready salted.

YakNips
September 30th 2014


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

chris fits way more in the more ambient tracks

YakNips
September 30th 2014


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

zak youre gonna hate this

puertasmagicas
September 30th 2014


61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well, i had to simplify for that paragraph but the reality was closer to "you fuckin crazy! music with great lyrics is the dopest thing!"

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


6372 Comments


"insturmental" - instrumental
"máximum" - why the weird accented 'a'?

review seems pretty basic but it just started streaming apparently, so I guess I'm not surprised.

Your first paragraph starts with the super broad discussion topic of 'music with lyrics' vs 'music without'. Then you follow by saying 'Now comes Between Bodies...' as though it's breaking some sort of new ground in this sense, which it clearly isn't. It's just a weird way to introduce the album. idk

"his cosmos imagery and using of atoms as metaphors for unity, chance and immortality might just make one or two Carl Sagan fans shed a tear." - lol, doubt it but ok

your next couple paragraphs could be inserted into just about any emo album review, and feel... basic, I guess. not bad, but you could have been wayyy more insightful if you took more time, rather than pounding it out as soon as it started streaming.

YakNips
September 30th 2014


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i mean i see where she's coming from, there's a lot of instrumental music i think wouldn't be as good with vocals

BMDrummer
September 30th 2014


14034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

damn gotta check more of these guys

dimsim3478
September 30th 2014


7698 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i liked Chris' performance on the Audiotree sesh way more; it feels less forced there

YakNips
September 30th 2014


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

its perf

ABjordanMM
September 30th 2014


1701 Comments


If and when I die is sweet. Kinda reminds me of listener's new album.

MonotoneMop
September 30th 2014


565 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The Facebook comments section for this is pretty funny:



""WE ARE STARS; THE UNIVERSE IS GRASS, AND I AM A BALL OF DUST. I WILL DIE AT MY FUNERAL IN THE SKY WITH MY HEART" - actual lyrics from this"



"This shit sucks. BTW where the fuck is my fork? I ordered it yesterday and it isn't here yet."



"This guy ruined all of Cosmos for me"



"Can you put out precipace separately with heartbeat in the brain in the background?"

DangerBatty
September 30th 2014


88 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Im going to put the twiabp fork in my ass"

puertasmagicas
September 30th 2014


61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

johnnyonthespot: First paragraph is to clarify that I’m all for words in music, since all the hate this is getting is people

against the very idea of a spoken word artist, which I’m very much for. “Now comes Between Bodies” is NOT indicating

that this is breaking new ground (which I state it isn’t in the last paragraph), but it IS indicating that it’s breaking new

ground for the band’s style.



Changed “Carl Sagan fans” to “Carl Sagan fanboys”. But yeah, any one who cried during during a TWIABP concert is the

kind of person who could potentially cry by his “I liked you like I liked the dark”.



You probably didn’t read the next couple of paragraphs, since they’re not addressing anything emo at all; they are

addressing how to successfully integrate poetry with music, specially in the particular case of TWIABP’s twinkly music.

Which is why I included Patti Smith in the recommended albums.



Now for something much more important:



YES THE FACEBOOK COMMENTS SECTION IS AWESOME

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
September 30th 2014


6372 Comments


@puerta - just giving you my thoughts on the review as I read it. not saying you need to change it, just advice for possible improvement in the future.

I was being a bit harsh in saying your other paragraphs could be inserted into any review, but:
"band’s music is so powerful is precisely that they geniunely believe in what they shout and whisper, and aren’t afraid if you find them a bit ridiculous"
"are meant to have a certain control over what the emotion of their voices invoke, and Zizzamia falls a bit flat" - idk man, seems like pretty basic emo descriptors to me but suit yourself.

"they are addressing how to successfully integrate poetry with music"
- ... you know poetry was traditionally meant to be sung aloud, right? You're basically saying that this album successfully merges poetry with music, which is an argument could apply to pretty much any lyrical album ever made.


puertasmagicas
September 30th 2014


61 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're right, thanks for actually giving me criticism. And I think you're mostly right with the quotes you mentioned. Except for the third: where did I ever say this album successfully merges poetry with music? If anything, I'm saying the opposite. And I agree that any lyrical album's lyrics count as poetry, but I think in this context it's pretty clear when I say poetry I mean Zizzamia's poetry which is to say I mean spoken word, which is where all the controversy is at.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy