Marmozets
The Weird and Wonderful Marmozets


2.0
poor

Review

by wwba USER (6 Reviews)
September 24th, 2014 | 38 replies


Release Date: 09/26/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Is it horrible? No, it's just painfully mediocre.

After two embarrassing EP-s Marmozets released their first full length album. As you know, the EPs were full of TFoT worshiping, plot twist: this LP is more like a bunch of b-side tracks thrown together. For example Particle's chorus sounds like Evanescence. Hit the Wave's main chord progression was most likely ripped from Sempiternal (I'm not saying BMTOS invented this IV-ii-VI thing but they are the most mainstream band who used it in the last few years). They still have TFoT-esque moments (Vibetech) and even a hardrock song that reminded me ETF (Cry).

Don't worry. If you're a music snob, you'll really like this album. There are polyrhythms, weird time signatures, dissonant riffs, so almost everything that people who (think they) have refined taste in music, like. The fact that there are no fun breakdowns nor modern electronics, makes this album even more likable to these snob kids.

As for me, well, to be honest, I can't really get into this album, because of many reasons. For example:: the lack of originality. Is there a single riff on this album that you could show someone and say "THIS is Marmozets" hardly. There are songs that are even more clicheic than the rest of the album, for example "Back To You", the guitar riff is basically the verse of Adam Lambert's "Whataya Want from Me". Becca's highs are very annoying, on the other hand when she goes lower, she sounds very good (e.g in Captivate You).

This album is not good and it's not horrible either, but one thing's for sure. They need to find their own sound if they don't want to go down in history as a joke, that no one will remember in ten years.



Recent reviews by this author
Darkest Hour Darkest HourMarmozets Passive Aggressive
Asking Alexandria Stand Up and ScreamDeftones Koi No Yokan
I See Stars Digital Renegade
user ratings (156)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Chamberbelain CONTRIBUTOR (4.5)
Electrifying And Charismatic...

JohnnyoftheWell (3.5)
Visceral post-hardcore that you can get your friends into. No wonder these kids have hype......


Comments:Add a Comment 
wwba
September 24th 2014


480 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sorry for my English!

As you know it's my second language.

If you disagree with my opinion, please, explain why instead of posting a "FOAD", thanks!

ChoccyPhilly
September 24th 2014


11794 Comments


Not a great review, as you point out, but I'm glad this got a review in general. Haven't heard their stuff, other than "Move, Shake, Hide" and I thought that was a solid song. Not sure whether to check this out or now

Digging: Bliss Signal - Bliss Signal

wwf
September 24th 2014


6216 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn I meant to be the first to review this one.

BMDrummer
September 24th 2014


14440 Comments


lol when will this troll give up

wwba
September 24th 2014


480 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

different opinion + poor grammar = trolling?

scottpilgrim10
September 24th 2014


4750 Comments


I saw a few songs by these guys at warped I wished I got to their set earlier, because they rule.

Why do you hate me? jams hard

StKiyo
September 24th 2014


384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TFoT = The Fall Of Troy?

I heard a few songs and thought it was a side project from that Paramore chick

RoundOnEndHiInMiddle
September 24th 2014


909 Comments


Is that second paragraph really necessary? It's nice you talk about what the album has in store, but is there really a need for that "music snob" and "snob kids" nonsense?

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2014


14139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

how the fuck were marmozets ever tfot worship wtf

Digging: Paddy McAloon - I Trawl The Megahertz

wwba
September 24th 2014


480 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Marmozets clearly try to do the TFoT-esque "we play dissonant stuff weird time signatures" thing but unlike

TFoT they lack the skills and the creativity, this is why their mathematical stuffs sound so cheesy



The Fall of Troy - The Holy Tape http://youtu.be/KU-WTTUB2eA

Marmozets - The Perfect Beverage http://youtu.be/WpUJd1BdU0I



You can hear the similarities, even though Thomas alone is more skilled than each members of "Marmozets"

together

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2014


14139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah see ive only heard a few of their singles which is nothing like that or tfot



fair enough, carry on

wwf
September 25th 2014


6216 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't worry folks, a fair and balanced review is headed your way.



If I don't fall asleep writing it.

scottpilgrim10
September 25th 2014


4750 Comments


nice

NorwichScene
September 25th 2014


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn I thought my reviews were bad

Artuma
September 25th 2014


30112 Comments


"There are polyrhythms, weird time signatures, dissonant riffs, so almost everything that people who (think they) have refined taste in music, like. The fact that there are no fun breakdowns nor modern electronics, makes this album even more likable to these snob kids."

ur the best

RadicalEd
September 25th 2014


9432 Comments


Are you horrible? Yes.

Fantas
September 25th 2014


66 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Wow that review was relentless. Bearing in mind the average age of the band is ~19 (One of them turned 18 during this year's Warped Tour) they're pretty incredible musicians who have done some pretty incredible things. Their lives shows are something else too, one of the best bands I've seen in terms of energy and performance.



Vibetech rules too

NorwichScene
September 26th 2014


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cover Up is the only song I don't like

ArchStanton
September 26th 2014


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't the sort of music I typically listen to, but I really enjoyed it; well written, vibrant rock music with lots going on.

ChoccyPhilly
September 27th 2014


11794 Comments


Eaaassy on the eyes, my friend, you don't wanna mess with this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy