Atrum Tempestas
Neant


2.0
poor

Review

by Metalstyles EMERITUS
September 23rd, 2014 | 9 replies


Release Date: 10/13/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not devoid of promise, but far from realizing it

Neant starts off pleasantly enough, with "Quitter ceux qui étaient déj* partis" setting the scene for a promising, if very familiar sounding atmospheric black metal record. Sadly, it all goes downhill fast. While the first song starts off with neat atmospheric guitars and lush melodies, the two following cuts (and to a lesser effect, the opener’s second half as well) fail to capitalize on the momentum set, serving as little more than filler. If you take into account that the whole album is only 32 minutes long, that is unacceptable. The record quickly sets into a comfortable pace – alas, that pace be plodding. Coupled with a severe drought of anything interesting happening instrumentally, instead of flying by and serving as a brisk piece of atmospheric black metal, Neant ends up being a bit of a chore to get through. The guitars and overall atmosphere aren’t hypnotic enough to engulf the listener, the riffs themselves sound recycled, and even when Atrum Tempestas try to change things up by introducing clean piano or taking a doomier route for a bit, the alterations fail to inject any sort of additional energy or intrigue into the narrative. The album seems to be stuck in an inferno where its in-song transitions don’t come off naturally, while its more long-winded parts don’t sound particularly interesting either. Neant means nothingness in French, and fittingly, it manages to invoke zero emotions in me.

While I’ve certainly heard worse, I’ve also heard a lot better. There’s nothing about Neant that convinces you to get it above any other atmospheric black metal record, which is a shame, because conceptually, the introspective approach of the band could in theory be transformed into some really interesting music. It hasn’t happened on this album though, and until the two-piece come out with a more coherent, inspiring record, to me they’ll be just another band playing atmospheric black metal.




Recent reviews by this author
Mauno Meesit Varjudemaa (OST)Dope Stars Inc. Terapunk
Furor Gallico Songs From The EarthAhamkara The Embers Of The Stars
Eluveitie OriginsMiXE1 Starlit Skin
user ratings (6)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Emeritus
September 23rd 2014


8574 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm not really into writing negative reviews, but since I snagged a promo of this, I had to put out something. My apologies beforehand to Atrum Tempestas.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2014


8378 Comments


Album stream: http://www.terrorizer.com/news/streams/atrum-tempestas-stream-new-album-neant-on-terrorizer-com/

Jamming the first (and only available) track at bc, it's good overall, but its temporal length could be shortened quite a bit.

As always, well written review Magnus.

Digging: Norman Shores - De L'Ombre Surgit La Lumire

Metalstyles
Emeritus
September 23rd 2014


8574 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

As always, thanks for your support, man!

Willie
Moderator
September 23rd 2014


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I liked this. I didn't think it was really anything special, but I didn't think it was bad.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
September 23rd 2014


8574 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Your soundoff describes also my own feelings pretty well, just that, for me, the feeling that nothing really comes together here was a lot more bothersome. And the atmosphere didn't click with me - just didn't have that special quality to draw one in.

ExplosiveOranges
September 23rd 2014


4408 Comments


There's a weird box in the first part of the top paragraph, but other than that, great review. I prefer your longer reviews, but honestly, I think that there probably isn't enough worth talking about on this album to make a long review.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
September 23rd 2014


8574 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You know, I prefer to write a bit longer than this usually as well (having said that, compared to other staffers and most writers here, my stuff is almost always on the short side), but like you said, there wasn't too much I had to say about this. My thoughts were rather few and set in stone.

Crysis
Emeritus
September 25th 2014


17383 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought this was good but wasted a lot of the potential it had by instead doing nothing much at all.

Digging: Falls of Rauros - Patterns in Mythology

Willie
Moderator
September 25th 2014


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

That's my position in a nutshell.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy