Dinosaur Jr.
You're Living All Over Me


2.0
poor

Review

by rock4Him USER (3 Reviews)
September 18th, 2014 | 52 replies


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An overindulgence in pretension, or just incompetence?

Dinosaur jr. is widely hailed as one of the greatest alternative rock bands of all time, though this seems to be a case more of myopic cronyism among the musical elite than for any appreciation of the music. The lead singer sounds like a whinier version of Adam Duritz of Counting Crows, the guitars range from ear pleasing to noisy and weird and the lyrics are simply drivel without any regard to greater depth.

It really cannot be stressed how much the singer of this band sounds like Adam Duritz. But while Counting Crows uses many different instruments in a unique and ear-pleasing way, such as the piano and the mandolin, Dinosaur Jr. is stuck using the same combination of guitar, bass and drums, the guitar only being used to make weird noises as a substitute for any kind of talented playing. An Exception would be the opening riff of "Kracked" which has a driving, toe-tapping rhythm reminiscent of the music from Sonic The Hedgehog. This alone rescued the album from being one of the worst things I've ever heard, although the singer's whining took me out of the enjoyment of the music almost immediately.

This is almost a hallmark of the album, as an ear pleasing guitar riff, sometimes teasing you with the hope that it will break into full on Hard Rock is almost instantly drowned by the whining of the Adam Duritz doppelganger(imitator) that goes into a lame attempt at a guitar solo, with pathetic attempts at shredding that quickly collapses in on itself with missed notes and ugly feedback. It's almost as if they didn't have enough money to record the guitar more than once so they just said "S---w it" and left all the errors and mistakes in there.

Lyrically the album sounds like existential moanings of "who is it, where is it, what is it" nonsense along with some whining about a girl. Life is pointless, "Why is it screaming, It's unfair." Maybe if the lead singer had picked up "The Purpose Driven Life" or "How Should We Then Live" he could write something of substance, although he would still have to do something with his voice to differentiate it from Counting Crows. This follows the theme of the rest of the album: it has no purpose. The entire thing, except for some oddly brilliant passages that shows that there is yet hope for this band, just reeks of laziness, self indulgence and atheism.


user ratings (1476)
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
Jalapeno CONTRIBUTOR (5)
Twisted, melodic mega-distortion....

Deadwing42 (5)
A fuzz drenched masterpiece from start to finish...

The Jungler (4.5)
...

Neoteric (5)
Besides from the production and J's voice, this is absolute essential stuff....



Comments:Add a Comment 
rock4Him
September 18th 2014


35 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think somebody had to say it.

Jots
Emeritus
September 18th 2014


7562 Comments


probably the best review of this, please flag

LepreCon
September 18th 2014


5481 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ooooooh controversial



But solid review nonetheless

VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
September 18th 2014


1389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decent review but you do milk the Counting Crows comparisons.



Interesting take though, as many people find J's drawl somewhat endearing, and his guitar playing

isn't called into question too often either. Still, I like reading an alternate viewpoint.



I can't protect you from tommygun though, nobody can.

Gwyn.
September 18th 2014


17270 Comments


teach me how to reek of atheism

NorthernSkylark
September 18th 2014


12134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm so happy there's still hope for this band

AmericanFlagAsh
September 18th 2014


13332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol this album came out before the Counting Crows even were a band

rock4Him
September 18th 2014


35 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, but I heard Counting Crows way before I heard this album.



I understand people are going to have different opinions. And yes, I think that if they manage to learn how to sing/play their instruments better, they could go a long way. Maybe not as far as CC, but maybe Matchbox Twenty or Van Morrison

tommygun
September 18th 2014


27109 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hardest neg i ever gave

tommygun
September 18th 2014


27109 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And yes, I think that if they manage to learn how to sing/play their instruments better, they could go a long way.

tommygun
September 18th 2014


27109 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sup arcade bro yah it's unreal

rock4Him
September 18th 2014


35 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Wow. Things are pretty bad when any difference of opinion is automatically a "troll". Grow up

tommygun
September 18th 2014


27109 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

read your review but all i got from it was a bunch of counting crows comparisons so

clander270
September 18th 2014


433 Comments


Lol, Dinosaur Jr. will never match the instrumental and creative prowess of Skillet.

zakalwe
September 18th 2014


38934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Counting Crows make me physically ill.

Even saying the name makes a bit of vom force it's way from me bile duct into me mouth.

AmericanFlagAsh
September 18th 2014


13332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

August and Everything After used to be my jam.



To each their own. If he likes Skillet so much for some reason, fuck it, let him.

Still doesn't mean it's a great review.

zakalwe
September 18th 2014


38934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I remember being a young lad smoking a joint in me mates garage listening to that album (August and Everything After)

The thought process going through me head at the time was.



"Fucking hell, I'm well cool smoking weed......what the fuck is this drivel on the stereo"

AmericanFlagAsh
September 18th 2014


13332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh man, you're a complete CC hater aren't you.



That album has some great lyrical content. Round Here is awesome.

zakalwe
September 18th 2014


38934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I lumber them in with:



Hootie and the Blowfish

Goo Goo Dolls

Gin Blossoms

And Christ knows how many others of the ilk there were that I've forgotten.



Bilge.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
September 18th 2014


16649 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hahahaha pos



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy