King 810
Memoirs of a Murderer


1.0
awful

Review

by Simon CONTRIBUTOR (232 Reviews)
September 3rd, 2014 | 138 replies


Release Date: 08/19/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Edgy just got a band name.

Some things in life can really make you sit back and wonder “why"” You’ll come across genuinely amazing Musicians and Artists that create extremely innovative and interesting music that move a genre to the next level, something really different and ahead of the time. Thing is, these bold artists are normally the starving musician looking for their big break, which half the time never happens.

Every now and then you come across a buzz, the latest “it” band. You’ll flick through a magazine, see a music video on the TV or find articles on the internet on the “hot new band”. You’ll then listen to the band everybody is talking about and be blown away by just how plain, bland or unoriginal they are and you’ll just muse on how they got that kind of deal when really great music doesn’t get a look in.

In 2014 that band is King 810 and their debut album is called Memoirs of Murder. From the moment the opening track, originally titled “Killem All”, kicks in your initial thought is how it sounds like an album that was released 15 years ago. Furthermore you'll be in utter shock by just how badly these guys rip-off Slipknot; from the pounding metallic sound of the drums, the chugging guitars and, the biggest giveaway, in the Corey style vocals. Sure, a band can rip-off another bands sound, or even sound like a throwback from way back when and still have a redeeming quality about them, but it is not the case with King 810, who make little to no effort at making their sound their own.

After hearing “Killem All” you’ve basically heard everything this band has to offer. Every song sounds flat, one dimensional, accompanied with unoriginal compositions and, most importantly, every song just comes across fake. When you aren’t listening to the heavy songs that sound like the same thing over and over you come across the odd song here and there like “Take It” which is a laughable attempt at variety, by playing an acoustic guitar while the singer puts on his best Tom Waits impression as the song plays out. You’ll find equally amusing songs like “Anatomy 1.2” and “Anatomy 1.3” which are hilarious 4-5 minute rap breakdowns of 810’s singer David bumbling like an idiot and talking absolute nonsense. While songs like “Devil Don’t Cry” try its hardest to tug on your heart strings as a piano plays during David Gunn's “heart-retching” performance.

My biggest criticism though falls under the lyrics. I can’t stress enough just how atrocious and childish they are. You’ll have heard everything this guy has to say a million times before and done light-years better. Main topics of discussion are his women, knives, guns, gore, etc, etc. All cookie-cutter subjects -- desperately bad attempts to shock. And David, more often than not, executes his vocals by throwing word after word at you like he’s in a rap off with Eminem, hoping you get overwhelmed by everything he’s just said so you can just end up thinking the words he’s spat out have meaning or intelligence to them.

Overall, I find nothing to recommend here. If you’re looking for that NU-Metal sound from a currently active band you can find bands doing it much better elsewhere. Memoirs of Murder is lazy garbage that shamelessly steals ideas from bands without making any of the ideas their own. The only effort put in to the album was trying to make the songs as edgy and in your face as possible, which unfortunately doesn't pay off in the slightest.

AVOID.



Recent reviews by this author
Rotting Christ The HereticsHEALTH VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR
Busted Half Way ThereBring Me The Horizon Amo
George Michael OlderSlipknot All Hope Is Gone: 10th Anniversary Edition
user ratings (155)
Chart.
1.8
poor
other reviews of this album
TheDrownedGod (4.5)
A Stunningly Unique Masterpiece...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2014


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This fucking band guys. I really struggle writing reviews on albums with zero redeeming qualities, so i hope it's okay.



WAOTY for sure. Though no surprise.



As always, constructive critisim welcome.

Digging: HEALTH - VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR

Vakarian12
September 3rd 2014


4088 Comments


lol aren't these guys doing soundwave next year?

NorwichScene
September 3rd 2014


2791 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Totally agreed. My mate told me to listen to these, got 3 songs in and couldn't take no more

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2014


24656 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

cant wait to check this



good review

SharkTooth
September 3rd 2014


13949 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Nu-metal poetryslamcore

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2014


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Cheers Ins. I know this band has been surrounded with being bad, but I didn't expect the album to be this bad.



Them anatomy tracks are seriously LOL.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2014


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

poetryslamcore





lol!

SharkTooth
September 3rd 2014


13949 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Ive only heard their EP, which was pretty awful. Curious to check this out and see if its any worse..



DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2014


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Never heard the EP only the singles off this album. I won't be checking the EP, so let us know. lol

SharkTooth
September 3rd 2014


13949 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Why am I trying to convince narrow-minded f*cks that I hate/Of course they don’t get it, they’re

built like sh*t/And I could’ve said

it with metaphors, but this way you understand it, goddammit


Lyrics from anatomy 1:1, here's hoping 1:2 & 1:3 live up

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2014


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Genius

VaxXi
September 3rd 2014


4392 Comments


I knew this was coming.

Also... "WAOTY" more like worst album of the last decade. There are seriously zero albums that come to mind that is as bad as this one.

HenchmanOfSanta
September 3rd 2014


1994 Comments


Flint represent

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2014


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

If I had the decibel rating system it would be a hard 0.3 haha

BMDrummer
September 3rd 2014


14440 Comments


lol their fans are even funnier

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2014


15080 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Oh I can believe it. I don't know how I got through the album tbh. lol



The things you do for reviews.

Mercy
September 3rd 2014


225 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a pretty good work out record, and it hits hard when it has to. I agree that the spoken word is ridiculous and it's very preachy, it was really off-putting at first but it grows on you with time. Clearly it's no masterpiece, though I'm not sure that's what they were going for.

sapient
September 3rd 2014


2407 Comments


If I end up getting tickets to see Korn/Slipknot this winter, I'm gonna make sure to show up late to avoid seeing these guys opening

Tunaboy45
September 3rd 2014


16702 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Oh man fuck this band to hell.

ExplosiveOranges
September 3rd 2014


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Thank you for writing this review so I didn't have to.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy