Ifing
Against This Weald


4.5
superb

Review

by osmark86 USER (3 Reviews)
July 29th, 2014 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sometimes life hands you lemons and sometimes it hands you albums worthy of invisible orange cupping. This is one of the latter instances.

Ifing is a black metal duo from the United States of America and Against This Weald is their debut album. If you desire to learn more information about the band I am most positive that they have provided some form of biography somewhere on the interwebs to appease your inquisitive nature.

If this album was a vehicle it would be a vast nautical monstrosity skillfully crafted out of the sturdiest of old oaks and manned by a crew of immaculately bearded marauders, tattered yet not weakened by eons of morally-bereft pillaging quests on foreign shores.

If this album was a meal it would be a dashing dish of delicious delicacies forged in the finest oven capable of inducing the most orgasmic mélange of salty umami goodness frolicking in your froth. Like a juicy sirloin steak that you didn’t have to pay for because the restaurant failed to deliver it within the set amount of time reserved for in their special customer deal and we all know that the flavor of free is top.

If this album was a beverage it would be a sensational concoction of fermented berries mixed with juices also made from berries and various fruits and served in a cooled glass inducing that most wonderful level of intoxication where you have enough Dutch courage to hit on Sally without vomiting into her open purse and never hearing from her again.

If this album was a concept it would be the most fascinatingly mind-boggling of abstractions ever construed in the minds of sorcerers and men of science. Such as the thought experiment allowing for the theoretical possibility of women being of equal stature to that of men.

If this album was a person it would be Richard Nixon’s antithesis because that guy was a cunt of majestic proportions and there is nothing cuntish about this album.

If this album was a form of government it would be an absolute theocracy dedicated to itself.

If this album was a religion it would be justified.

If this album was your father you would not be the brony little self-deprecating pile of vile bile you are, but a citizen of utmost stature.

Get this album. It contains field recordings, synths, kvlt flvtes of trvth, various guitars, bass and drums. It will borrow just 35 minutes of your time and give back tenfold in aural pleasure.


user ratings (35)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TzarChasm
July 29th 2014


279 Comments


Not sure if sarcastic . . .

osmark86
July 29th 2014


9209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album.

RivalSkoomaDealer
July 29th 2014


1630 Comments


"If this album was your father you would not be the brony little self-deprecating pile of vile bile you are, but a citizen of utmost stature."

You've convinced me. Pos sir

dh198
July 29th 2014


463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I downloaded this a while ago, but haven't listened to it yet.

osmark86
July 29th 2014


9209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@captn: yes, get this album. you will not be disappointed.



@skooma: see above

Pennywise_M
July 29th 2014


7490 Comments


Damn Oz, that was something. Pos'd

You've conviced me too.

Damn.

zaruyache
July 29th 2014


21285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pos for getting me to snort out loud with that Nixon line.

Bergtatt
July 31st 2014


73 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album so, so much. Better than the new Saor.

DungeonBoy
July 31st 2014


6586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Better than the new Saor [2]



Totally agree. Everyone's going on about how EPIC the new Saor album is, and as much as I do enjoy it, it is nowhere near as cohesive and monumental as this.



zaruyache
July 31st 2014


21285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Saor has a much better sound than this. This isn't anywhere near as epic.

Amphoteric
July 31st 2014


2014 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I also liked this a lot more than Aura.

zaruyache
August 1st 2014


21285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Forgot that this is free on bandcamp. Gonna download it and try to listen again, then inevitably keep it at a 3/5



8|

osmark86
August 1st 2014


9209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol, at least you're giving it another shot zaruyache and for that I commend ye.



I think this album is on par with the new Saor. both albums really deliver in their epic scope and execution. I might still be a tad more partial to this album however, but only ever so slightly.

osmark86
August 2nd 2014


9209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

seems I won an "award for the most creative review" from Ifing on their facebook page. well fuck me that's an honor ^^.

FrozenVain
August 20th 2014


3031 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeh, this shit is good.

Good job on the review as well. Fun read.

Hawks
August 23rd 2014


73501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really good.

Digging: Erang - Kingdom Of Erang

DungeonBoy
September 10th 2014


6586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Had to bump my rating up. This is in my top 10 of 2014 for sure.

osmark86
September 16th 2014


9209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

DungeonBoy, you got that right. it's got a solid spot in my top 10 metal of of 2014 list (for sure).

osmark86
October 14th 2014


9209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

needs moar love

jimmykidd
November 25th 2014


640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

holy shit this is incrdible. i may even like it more than the new Saor too..



great review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy