Starset
Transmissions


3.5
great

Review

by Kars Landman USER (7 Reviews)
July 13th, 2014 | 28 replies


Release Date: 07/08/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A modern rock band reaching for the stars.

Starset starts their career with an ambitious record. The band, formed by Dustin Bates (Lead singer for Downplay) is backed by the story of a group of scientists, the Starset Society. Starset is here to spread awareness of the fact that the world changing discoveries of numerous scientists in the Society are being stripped by a Governmental Agency, known as the United States Capitalism Oversight Organization.

While this is just a made up story, the band really built their album around this tale of scientists, making it a concept album without you even noticing it. If you aren’t paying attention, lyrics like ‘Who are you to change this world"’ and ‘Take away everything I am’ may just seem like your everyday modern rock album, in the fashion of Breaking Benjamin and Red. Ofcourse the similarities are there in the music itself, with the epic strings on every track, the drumming by ex-Red drummer Joe Rickard, production by Rob Graves, the modern rock riffs and Dustin Bates sounding really similar to Benjamin Burnley.

But then the Transmission starts…

You are welcomed with distorted horns, sounding like the opening of an epic action movie. Voices start talking about changing this world and sending your message out. 'First Light' builds itself up into a symphonic dubstep track, Starting to make this album sound more like a soundtrack than a modern rock album. The soundtrack feel stays in the whole record, and is what really sets this apart from other modern rock bands. Songs like 'Halo' and 'My Demons' really stand out, with their catchy choruses, big synths and epic symphonics. It’s huge, but never really going over the top. The album’s production and mixing is the best I have heard in a long time, making the soundtrack aspirations really shine.

While this may seem like a really good record, it is a bit too long to keep you entertained, as songs like 'The Future Is Now', 'Point of No Return', and 'Rise and Fall' could have just been removed from the album. While the interludes of the last two tracks are amazing, it would be better if the songs which they are attached too weren’t there. The album has loads of these epic interludes, with spoken word passages about astrology, backed by the spacy soundtrack. Without these parts the album would sadly fall flat on its face, sounding just like another Breaking Benjamin album.

I really enjoyed this album, but I would like to see these guys dropping the modern rock genre, and trying something else. The soundtrack parts are epic, but are taken down by the generic guitar riffs and songwriting. If they would focus more on this and maybe add some solos, Starset might actually reach the stars.



Recent reviews by this author
Uneven Structure La PartitionEarthside A Dream In Static
Dream Theater The AstonishingAugust Burns Red Found in Far Away Places
Various Artists Midnight Clear: A Solid State CompilationThe Royal Dreamcatchers
user ratings (169)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Killtank (4)
The depths of outer space are mighty cold, yet there are still so many wondrous sights to behold....

Toondude (3)
An overblown, cliched, and utterly flawed record, though the overall product does end up being surpr...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Beardog
July 13th 2014


2728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

My first album review! Please tell me what you think and correct me if I made mistakes, English is not my first language, so please be kind.

Toondude10
July 13th 2014


13740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Not bad but a couple things:



You have some spacing/grammar problems like "Leadsinger," which is two words, not one, and that's not the only one.



While this is just a made up story, the band really built their album around this story, making it a concept album without you even noticing it.




Repetitive/awkward sentence here. Make it something like "This story, while fictional, is created through the record as a concept album."



But then the Transmission starts…




I'm personally against putting a single sentence in between two paragraphs when it comes to reviews because those who write them feel like that sentence is extremely important when it really isn't. But that's just me. (though I'm no the only one)



Songs are identified with quotation marks and albums should be in italics.



Again, it's not bad, and for someone who doesn't have English for a first language, it's admirable. Just keep those things in mind.

Beardog
July 13th 2014


2728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thank you very much! I will edit it, and yes I read past the awkward 'story-story' sentence.

ericu03
July 13th 2014


186 Comments


Such a fun album, really dig the vocals here. Good review.

mawdicker411
July 13th 2014


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The songs you said you would pull are my favorites on the album! Not to mention the hardest hitting songs. I think you should go back And listen to those again. Overall, good review.

Beardog
July 14th 2014


2728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks guys! Didn't listen to the album much, but I just started to get bored at the end and I thought the last songs just weren't as interesting as the previous ones.

omgraptors
September 28th 2014


843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Such an awesome record. I'm so glad I discovered it (NO THANKS TO SPUTNIK MUSIC).



Dunno why it gets no attention here.

Toondude10
September 28th 2014


13740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Probably because there are other bands that are better than this.

Beardog
September 29th 2014


2728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

True, the album kinda grew off...

CaimanJesus
February 11th 2015


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't decide if this is more deserving of a 3 or a 3.5. Probably somewhere in the middle.

pizzamachine
February 11th 2015


14133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really love this album for some reason. It's just really cinematic and I like it lol.

Green Baron
February 11th 2015


24436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

CARNIVORE CARNIVORE WON'T YOU COME DIGEST ME



yes those are actual lyrics

Digging: Kate Bush - Hounds of Love

GiantSpeck
May 27th 2015


294 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This band has been coming up on my Pandora a lot lately. I dig the sound. Kind of reminds me of a weird mix of Falling Up, Breaking Benjamin, Janus, and... Owl City?

Toondude10
June 15th 2015


13740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah...no

Beardog
June 15th 2015


2728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Hm those names say a lot... Not necessarily in a good way for most metal fans

Toondude10
June 15th 2015


13740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I feel like this should be a side act for Celldweller. Wouldn't be that bad of a show tbh

Storm In A Teacup
October 1st 2016


26345 Comments


SO this is who does My Demons. Good song.

Snide
October 31st 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New song leaves a lot to be desired.

Valkoor952
October 31st 2016


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Point of No Return is one of the best tracks here though.

Also why is there a Nu-Metal tag ? I really don't think it fits in that genre.

FullOfSounds
December 25th 2016


15770 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Let it Die is so cheesy but I love it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy