Young and in the Way
When Life Comes to Death


3.5
great

Review

by ozmahex USER (1 Reviews)
June 30th, 2014 | 26 replies


Release Date: 05/27/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Young And In The Way release their heaviest and darkest album to date

Young And In The Way is a pretty scary band. Their music is an intense mix of black metal and hardcore, the songs that aren't about self-loathing are about worshipping Satan and they spray their audience with blood. While many black metal bands do the whole ‘blood and Satan’ thing, Young And In The Way back it up with great tunes and ‘When Life Comes To Death’ is their heaviest and darkest album to date.

The album opens with ‘Betrayed By Light’, which immediately announces the bands intentions, with front man Kable Lyall screaming the album title before dropping into a teeth shattering riff. The album doesn't let up till the melodic ‘Take My Hand’ and even then, the album carries a strong atmosphere. Lead single ‘Be My Blood’ is a brutal ride with two breakdowns and cool lyrics (‘Satan feel me/Father feel me/Bringer of light/Be my blood), while tracks like ‘We Are Nothing’ slow down the tempo but lose none of the intensity.

Unfortunately, there are a couple of problems with album. Firstly, although the album has an uncompromising sound and this works well on most of the tracks, some of them are flat out boring such as ‘Final Dose’ (which really has no right to be boring). The stabs at experimentation fall flat as well, such as the acoustic track ‘Shadow Of Murder’ which, while having the strong atmosphere previously mentioned, just ends up sounding a bit like a worse version of ‘In Her Shadow’ by Converge. With that being said, the closing epic ‘Embrace Extinction’ ends up being the best song on the album with a straight black metal riff exploding throughout the track before dropping into a heavy, mosh-worthy riff.

While it may not be the most original album and can be boring to listen to, ‘When Life Comes To Death’ is a worthy album to listen to for black metal, hardcore and general metal fans.



user ratings (149)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
NoSons (3.5)
It is perfectly alright to accept and overcome death....

related reviews

Amen

Comments:Add a Comment 
ozmahex
June 30th 2014


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yo



Constructive criticism is welcome

Million Ghosts
June 30th 2014


114 Comments


This album owns, and your review is good too. Disagree about the experimental junk not working, breaks up the monotony for me.

zaruyache
June 30th 2014


17883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Their music is an intense mix of black metal and hardcore, the songs that aren't about self-

loathing are about worshiping Satan, and they spray their audience[s] with

blood (during performances?).




Oxford comma ftw



which immediately announces the band's intentions with front man

need apostrophe and get rid of comma between "intentions" and "with"



doesn't let up till



either 'til or until--I don't think this has anything to do with farming :3 Although "till" is

still correct, I hate that spelling so I refuse to acknowledge it as being correct. English is

stupid.



even then, the album carries a strong atmosphere.



don't need no stinkin' commas there



and cool lyrics



I'd use a better adjective than "cool." Interesting, vicious, morbid, aggressive,



while tracks like ‘We Are Nothing’



tracks, plural? List more than one track if you're going to suggest there are multiple in

this category.



there are a couple of problems

there are a few problems with the album



ends up sounding a bit like a worse version of ‘In Her Shadow’ by Converge.



I don't know that song so this comparison is lost one me. Might want to remove that and just say

why it's a bad song.



While it may not be the most original album and can be boring to listen to



I think you mean that it can be boring at points? If it's boring then I don't want to listen

to it, which would conflict with my wanting to listen to it as a bm fan, as you go on to say.



Pretty decent review for a first-timer.

zaruyache
June 30th 2014


17883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Uh oh looks like someone can't handle all the gut-spilling BLAST BEATS m/ m/ m/ m/

ozmahex
June 30th 2014


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks zaruyache, I'll change when I have time

Kmndr
November 22nd 2014


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think this album is best in 2014.

BallsToTheWall
July 31st 2015


48141 Comments


fire monkey.

Digging: Midnight - Sweet Death and Ecstasy

someguest
September 16th 2015


28775 Comments


Aging And In The Way

Spacesh1p
November 18th 2015


7099 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This rocks pretty hard. Enjoyable listen.

Digging: Deadbeat - Drawn and Quartered

Hawks
February 20th 2016


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This slays.

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

icatchthirtythree
February 27th 2016


838 Comments


Darkthrone v2.0

Spacesh1p
February 27th 2016


7099 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah might bump, this is good stuff

Hawks
September 20th 2016


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck this album slays so hard.

Spacesh1p
September 20th 2016


7099 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

WHEN LIIIIIIIFE

Artuma
September 20th 2016


29114 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

worst album title ever. the music itself rules though

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2016


21997 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ehhhh

BallsToTheWall
September 21st 2016


48141 Comments


Wow!

Hawks
September 21st 2016


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn Brandon. :[

AdolfChrist
December 18th 2016


12939 Comments


this is pretty gnarly.

Digging: Iniquity - Serenadium

elliootsmeuth
December 18th 2016


3353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*really gnarly



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy