">
 

Arcade Fire
Funeral


5.0
classic

Review

by metallicaman8 USER (65 Reviews)
April 16th, 2006 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


The Arcade Fire
Funeral


The Arcade Fire. These guys are without a doubt one of the most unique bands I've ever heard and they are one of few influences that got me into Indie music. One of the thigns that makes the band so unique is the range of instruments they use in all their songs. Like most other bands out there they use the standard guitar, bass, drums system. But they also throw in several other instruments like the violin, piano and accordian to give their music a different atmosphere than most other modern music.

One other main reason I like this album in particular is the emotion behind alot of the vocals. Now, when I say emotion I don't mean high pitched screaming or overly powerful lyrics. The majority of the vocals on the album are quite soft. But behind the tenderness in the vocals you can feel the sorrow and passion in the singer's voice. The passion in this album is due to the fact that every band member has lost someone dear to them. Hence the name "Funeral".

Now on to the instrumentals. As I previously mentioned there was a variety of instruments on the album. All of which were harmonized together perfectly. No one instrument was particularly great by itself. Infact, most instrumentals were very simple. But when they were all brewed together you couldn't tell at all. Also, each instrument managed to bring something of it's own to the table. The violin helped give the album it's emotional feel with it's powerful screeching notes and it's softer melodic notes as well. The bass and guitar didn't add much to the dynamics of the album. They were more like the fundamentals. Without them the band would just be a bunch of abstract instruments. They also had some nice riffs here and there. They piano, like the violin added to the emotion of the album, but at times it was also playful. High pitched notes dancing like belly dancers through my ears. Speaking of playful the steel drum which wasn't used much also gave the album a playful atmosphere. It's high-pitched rasta notes reminded me of a Jamaican beer commercial. And last but not least the regular drums. They didn't do much to help the overall atmosphere of the album, but they kept the beat and had some nice little fills here and there. Kudos to the drums for being the proverbial man behind the curtain, holding the show together.

Overall Rating: 5/5

Pros: Vocals
Range of instruments
Unique-ness of the overall sound

Cons: Instrumentals could've been a bit more complicated

And so concludes my review. I strongly recommend looking into this. I can almost guarantee it's like nothing you've ever heard before. And no matter who you are, you can enjoy it. I myself am primarily am into metal. But this is still one of my all-time favourite albums. So, until next time keep your stick on the ice.



Recent reviews by this author
Soundtrack (Film) Jesus Christ Superstar (Film Soundtrack)Brand New Deja Entendu
Opeth DeliveranceDe La Soul Stakes Is High
Coheed and Cambria From Fear Through the Eyes of MadnessThe Mars Volta Frances the Mute
user ratings (4041)
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
Sepstrup
April 17th 2006


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really big for a blurb

Neoteric
April 17th 2006


3243 Comments


I think he mistaked a blurb for a full review

metallicaman8
April 17th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah you're probably right. My bad. Does anyone have any actual comments on it though. It's my first review/blurb. I'm quite interested in what people will have to say. Although for some reason i doubt they'll be positive commentsThis Message Edited On 04.17.06This Message Edited On 04.17.06

Sepstrup
April 17th 2006


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In my opinion, if you're going to do a track by track, you should do all of the songs. If you want to highlight a few you should write a general review, and tell us what the stand-out tracks are and why.



I also prefer track reviews to explain the overall feel of a song and the lyrical themes, rather than go through ever section of the song (i.e. "then the piano comes in..." etc.) That's not really that helpful to me.



Some overall comments about Arcade Fire, other than the fact that you think they're the best indie band, would be helpful too.



Look at the full review, that's pretty good. (Don't mean to sound harsh or anything, just trying to be constructive, so you have something to work with)

metallicaman8
April 17th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

no offence taken man. I appreciate the pointers. I jsut did a full length review on Rage Against The Machine-Rage Against The Machine. If you want you can check that out i think i did a bit better of a job on that one

Two-Headed Boy
April 17th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haiti get's no love....



Yeah, you should make this an actual review. Good job regardless.

metallicaman8
June 22nd 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Okay. Apparently blurbs are gone and this is now a full review. So I re-wrote it. It's not overly great but I wanted to get to it before some one read it and hated it because well...it was just bad. I'll probably touch this up a bit later.This Message Edited On 06.21.06

tom79
June 22nd 2006


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Go to the forums to hear about all the information reharding blurbs and sound offs. And just because a review is short (like a blurb before), it can still be good, like this one.

Digging: Bill Callahan - Gold Record

metallicaman8
June 22nd 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Meh, I'm nto going to bother reading about all that. Blurbs are gone, sound offs are in. That's all I need to know.

The Sludge
July 5th 2006


2171 Comments


Well the only pointer I can give for this, is run it through spell check, there were a few errors. Overall, pretty good.

Muisee
July 5th 2006


679 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is such a overrated band IMO. Bland and boring. Good review though. =)

metallicaman8
July 5th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, sorry their may be a few grammatical errors I wrote it in about 5 minutes.

stinkypoptart
September 16th 2006


1169 Comments


they arent overated at all. and cool review dude. this band kicks ass.

Neoteric
September 16th 2006


3243 Comments


What I've heard from this is extremely good.

FR33L0RD
July 11th 2007


3005 Comments


Supposed to be real good, i will check that
Good review.....you have my pos voteThis Message Edited On 07.11.07

Duderino
April 17th 2012


830 Comments


this review sucks

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2012


57430 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well it is from 6 years ago

Digging: Charli XCX - How I'm Feeling Now

KILL
April 17th 2012


81241 Comments


hahaha mm8

KILL
April 17th 2012


81241 Comments


but the kidz! nah gay

KILL
April 17th 2012


81241 Comments


sonic bro check this justice showed me it

also check it fade you'll dig it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8WzVw11aHo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy