White Zombie
Astro Creep: 2000


4.0
excellent

Review

by zpoop_smith USER (3 Reviews)
April 13th, 2006 | 36 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


White Zombie is one of my favorite bands of all time. Iím not a fan-boy or anything, but I just like the sound of the music, and the darkness of it all. Astro-Creep: 2000 is a pretty good cd. If not for a major negative point, this would be a perfect cd, in my book at least.

The overall sound of the cd is basically heavy-metal / industrial, and every song is fast and hardly slows down, which keeps you wanting more.

White Zombie has this thing with their intros. Every intro, each in its own way, creeps you out. Whether itís the factory sounds of Electric Head Part 1 (which makes me think of the devil in his factory building evils, kinda crazy), or the rantings of woman from the documentary Helter Skelter on the track Real Solution #9. White Zombie and Rob Zombieís solo efforts always have that stylish touch of interesting intros, which makes me want to listen on.

The musicianship on the album is pretty well done too. The guitars grind and crunch with heavy metal enthusiasm. Some of my favorite guitar work is on Blur the Technicolor. The drums pound in your ears, and the bass is there sometimes, but can get lost in the thick of the other instruments and the vocals. That being said, I love Robís voice. His voice is perfect in this album and adds to the sound. No one else would be able to sing in these songs and make it sound half as good.

Now on to the bad point of the album. The main problem is the production. The bass isnít heard hardly at all in any of the tracks, which should have been fixed, and the instruments can have that weird metallic distortion to them, which you get when downloading a song off the internet.

In the end this is a great cd for any Zombie fan, Metal Fan, or someone looking for buried treasures of yesterday. Pick it up if you havenít already. There is an hours worth of music on this disc, so it will be hard to get bored with it. Recommended!

Track Ratings

Electric Head Pt 1 (The Agony): 4/5
Super Charger Heaven: 5/5
Real Solution #9: 5/5
Creature of the Wheel: 4/5
Electric Head Pt 2 (The Ecstasy): 3/5
Grease Paint and Monkey Brains: 4/5
I, Zombie: 3.5/5
More Human Than Human: 5/5
El Phantasmo and the Chicken-Run Blast-O-Rama: 4/5
Blur the Technicolor: 5/5
Blood, Milk, Sky: 3/5


user ratings (426)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
f_u_c_t (5)
White Zombie is a must for any die hard fans of Rob Zombie, but is most of the time, is overlooked b...

Horsehammer (2)
There's more than just darkness and Satan to it, you know......


Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalhead1409
April 14th 2006


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn good cd althought I do like La Sexorcisto: Devel Music just a tad bit more. Overall good reveiw

pattern_recognition
April 14th 2006


950 Comments


Super-Charger Heaven is a sweet, sweet song.
Pretty good review, but it could've used some more detail.

sgrevs
April 14th 2006


698 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's some decent songs on here (Super-charger Heaven, More Human Than Human) but also so pretty damn mediocre ones (Blood, Milk and Sky, El Phantasmo).



Alright review.

Zak_262
April 14th 2006


24 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

good review this was my fist metal album i got and its one of my favorites

zpoop_smith
April 17th 2006


15 Comments


yea i like just about anything that rob zombie has done. I have yet to see House of 1,000 Corpses or Devils Rejects though. I plan to

f_u_c_t
May 1st 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^ so... what about this album?

Ha, ive had this album for a long time now, i just never had the cover so i didnt know which White Zombie this was until a buddie told me the other day. And this is hands down my fav. white zombie album. It still til this day will not let down and get old. 5/5

STLMiguel
May 27th 2006


335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I got this album years ago and it still sounds great, I'm shocked. I listen to most stuff I

listened to when I was like 15 and I can't take it seriously, but I put this on the other

day and I loved it. This Message Edited On 05.27.06

Foreskin Fondler
May 30th 2006


279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And I just am bothered by everything Zombie does. I don't find him to be bad or anything, I just can never sit through it.


you should pick up this album, it just might change your mind.

This Message Edited On 05.30.06

Bron-Yr-Aur
May 30th 2006


4405 Comments


Okay review. You did explain the sound well, so that's a plus.

f_u_c_t
August 31st 2006


1406 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i should review this soon

FR33L0RD
June 4th 2009


1472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is good.

ThusSpokeZarathustra
June 5th 2009


293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Whoa, now this one’s a trip down memory lane. Don’t like it quite as much now as I did back in the seventh grade but it still has some decent tracks.

Papasfritas42
June 23rd 2009


29 Comments


I remember when I wrote this review... I need to get back into it. It's definitely awesome to see how my music taste has changed though.

Wizard
June 23rd 2009


20163 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album used to kick my ass back in the day. Still a good listen.

anotherBriOnline
November 23rd 2009


20 Comments


Just saw Halloween 2..... absolute GARBAGE, the only thing to look forward to is the original music score by carpenter right before credits. Put down the video camera Pack in the solo career zombie and lets see the WZ reunion! auspicious beginning robbie!
YYEEAAAHHH YEEEAAAHH

Tool1
August 14th 2010


81 Comments


Fn groove metal classic

random
September 12th 2010


2649 Comments


I am electric head.

random
October 15th 2010


2649 Comments


Somebody, please do a review of La Sexorcisto: Devil Music Vol.1.

mark7477
January 25th 2011


411 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It was an OK attempt for doing something a little different and more human than human is a pretty good song.Once again the overall vibe on this album is very redundant and was definitely the death of white zombie perhaps a little too industrial for their own good.

BigHans
April 13th 2011


28858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Super Charger Heaven ftmfw



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy