Black Stone Cherry
Magic Mountain


1.5
very poor

Review

by Jordan M. STAFF
May 3rd, 2014 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Coming Down

I could start off this review lamenting the current state of how we conceive rock & roll or how Black Stone Cherry's new record sounds almost exactly like an even more offensively sexist and racist Nickelback. I could try and make a witty comment about how this album is 'coming down the mountain' (read: summary), or better yet make hyperbolic claims that this will be the most blatantly homogenous outing this year. But I'm not going to. Simply put; Magic Mountain just isn't a good album.

It's not to say it's ridiculously offensive in nature (which lyrically, it is) or that it is even unlistenable (possibly the only quality I will put in its favour if radio rock merit must be awarded), but Black Stone Cherry are so rooted in something so bland and dead in the ground that it's physically repulsive that a band would attempt such a resurrection when they have little innovative to offer. So indistinguishable are the opening trio ("Holding On... To Letting Go", "Peace Pipe" and "Bad Luck & Hard Love") that it's difficult to imagine much effort or thought went into the songwriting process. Things only get hugely worse from this point on; "Me & Mary Jane" provides a fairly unlikeable chorus hook to hang some uninspired lyrics that imply a bit of ass play is at hand (yes, that's how I interpret "creepin' up slow/hangin' round my back door").

But then, that's really just the beginning. At least those songs could be redeemed for their laughable post-grunge diatribe. When it gets to radio-rock power ballad "Runaway" or horrendous McGraw-aping "Hollywood in Kentucky", all you can do is attempt to hold back your own vomit at the repulsively generic structure and lyrics that this band musters. Admittedly, salvation comes only in songs that can be described as 'not quite as ***'; obligatory heaviness on "Fiesta del Feugo" and hints of Alter Bridge on "Remember Me" hint reprieve that is still not up to standards.

Of course, it's all well and good to prove a point that a substantial market is available for this, and without a doubt this band will appeal to those who aren't as critically discerning. The tendency for the masses to shout 'rawk ain't dead!' will unfortunately see more uninspired efforts like this take hold as people forget the Roll and just focus on three and a half-minute song structures, guitar solos, riffs and simple choruses. It stifles innovation and irritates the rest of us who realize rock and roll really isn't being as regressive as humanly possible; I can hardly blame these deep-Southerner's for taking advantage of the situation.



Recent reviews by this author
Sheck Wes MudboyTravis Scott Astroworld
Denzel Curry TA13OOPusha T DAYTONA
Post Malone beerbongs and bentleysJ. Cole K.O.D.
user ratings (73)
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
AaronBatt (2)
Black Stone Cherry tumbles down the mountain......


Comments:Add a Comment 
BigSneakySnatch
May 3rd 2014


343 Comments


their first 2 albums were ok, last one was shit, not gonna bother with this one. btw, they're from Kentucky so they aren't deep southerners, just normal southerners. nice review though

EvoHavok
May 3rd 2014


7696 Comments


The rain wizard will do it again
Bring magic to our land

Not anymore, right?

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2014


31633 Comments


i see this band is labeled both hard rock annd rock. was this band ever good?


also curious about this please answer

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2014


31633 Comments


they appear to be very visual kei, no?

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2014


31633 Comments


huh?

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2014


31633 Comments


oh my bad. the album art

Green Baron
May 3rd 2014


24649 Comments


last one was so cock rocky, i hated it.

I heard Me & Mary Jane a couple times on the radio, it wasn't that bad. I like the hook, honestly. It's about weed though, can't believe it took me that long to realize.

Digging: Killing Joke - Night Time

RivalSkoomaDealer
May 3rd 2014


1630 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

These guys are from my hometown. So are Cage the Elephant. I vastly prefer Cage. Not to mention the guys in BSC go around town acting like they're the best thing that ever happened to music.



That said, first two albums are quite decent. They're actually pretty solid musicians but it seems like either the label is making them write terrible pop radio butt rock or they're just trying to sell out.

Killerhit
May 3rd 2014


6013 Comments


fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck this band

Kalopsia
May 3rd 2014


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"It's about weed though, can't believe it took me that long to realize."





you didn't realize that from the title alone? lol

TooManyFriends
May 3rd 2014


3114 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

People saying this band has always sucked are out of their minds. Their first album was extremely good. Interesting lyrics and killer songwriting. All been downhill from there though

KerfuffleinaHussle
May 3rd 2014


1033 Comments


their first and second albums had some great jams

this and the other one are unforgiveable though god damn

Kalopsia
May 3rd 2014


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

agree with kerfuff here, i own their first two albums



3rd album had 2 or 3 decent songs



but yeah, gonna pass on this one

KerfuffleinaHussle
May 3rd 2014


1033 Comments


isnt that basically what happened with lynyrd skynyrd though, a few good ones and a slurry pit of
crappy ones after that

so maybe they are just trying to stay true to their southern heritage m/m/m/m////

TooManyFriends
May 4th 2014


3114 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If you listen to "Holding on to Letting Go" especially that bridge it's easy to tell they can still write great songs they just choose not to

tiesthatbind
May 4th 2014


7441 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, what's frustrating about this album is that songs like Holding On... and Never Surrender are really good and actually sound like they could fit on their first two albums, but most of the time it's the same lazy songwriting as the last album.

NodScene23
May 5th 2014


274 Comments


This band did used to be good.

Their first two albums had a few duds, but on the whole were a refreshing take on 90's heavy riffs meeting Skynyrd and Zeppelin style leads. In the post grunge glut, they actually stuck out as a straight up hard rock band with some talent.

Sadly, they have been devolving since.

AaronBatt
May 6th 2014


113 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I love this band, but I'm dreading this. Echo the sentiments about the first two albums, they kick ass but the last one was "meh"

Rice303
May 7th 2014


382 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

So Disappointed in this, was hoping for the band to learn from their last effort.. On the other hand, laughed my ass off at the allmusic review that stated Never Surrender is 'crunchy death metal with low-tuned guitars run amok' Mainstream reviewers are officially retarded

AliW1993
May 8th 2014


7511 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Brilliant review. The score's a little harsh, but I echo most of its sentiment.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy