L7
Smell the Magic


4.0
excellent

Review

by Muisc4Life26 USER (25 Reviews)
April 21st, 2014 | 22 replies


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's time to Smell The Magic.

Members

Donita Sparks- guitar/vocals
Suzi Gardner- guitar/vocals
Jennifer Finch- bass
Demetra Plakas- drums


An all female band, is nearly impossible to think about, especially the style they portray in such a passionate matter. As many punk bands like The Replecaments, The Melvins, Black Flag, Minor Threat, etc. They still had one thing in commom, that unique raw energy. Smell the Magic is filled with exiciting riffs, drums that will wake up your attention span like a pound of bricks the bass slaps will get you on your feet and those aggressive vocals are premitive to your fierced little mind. Every member plays with such toughness and stanima, their energy is define, with their swagger that packs a cold punch, that they were born to achieve.

Smell The Magic's sound is very destructive, they pursue an all female attidude with such pleasure and depth, to their connection from the Sub Pop label and always being overlooked, with bands like.. Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Screaming Trees, Soundgarden, Hole, etc.. The females, were ready to push the boundaries and become so essential, they played on dirty channels, tuning it up to over 11, it creates that raw twist and power, like you never seen before, from an all female band. Their musicianship.. is so energized and effected, the intensity, they follow in such a right path, it's almost impossible to overlook them as just a poser band, that can't be like the guys.

Smell the Magic is a very straight to the point album, it's very influenced by old school hardcore with a dash of grunge, that makes this record, a treat for your dinner plate. The writing on this record is filled with forcefulness and hatred, the aggresrive style and the so called the bad bitch attitude, breaks out all the essentials into your mind and out to world with no judgement and lots of spirt of emotion, that makes L7, such a great band.


''4/5''

Fav tracks

Fast and Frightening
Deathwish
Till The Wheels Fall Off
Shove
American Society



Recent reviews by this author
Avenged Sevenfold Waking the FallenEminem The Slim Shady LP
My Bloody Valentine LovelessElvis Presley Elvis Presley
Kate Bush Hounds of LoveDuran Duran Rio
user ratings (67)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
dannyboy89
April 21st 2014


13408 Comments


Sweet review man. Ars should be pleased, since likes this band.

Would be nice if Hans posted as well.

Muisc4Life26
April 21st 2014


3468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks bro :D

sheelanagig
April 21st 2014


56 Comments


Good review.
Just a little correction here:
Janis Tanaka wasn't the bass player on this record,
the mighty Jennifer Finch was.
I love that gurl, with here waving red hair and here "monotone" vocals.

Also, Mike Patton - guest vocals = last Track.

Cheers


ExcentrifugalForz
April 21st 2014


2124 Comments


^^ i didn't know pj harvey was a member of this site

Muisc4Life26
April 21st 2014


3468 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh my bad lol, thank you man.. i really appreciate it.

ArsMoriendi
April 21st 2014


25798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha finally this has a review! I was going to make one for this eventually, but now I don't have to!



It's short, but decently written, Pos'd.



Also "i didn't know pj harvey was a member of this site"



What? Oh the username reference... very funny.

Digging: Submotion Orchestra - Finest Hour

MrSirLordGentleman
April 21st 2014


12399 Comments


titties m/

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2014


2594 Comments


Wow, L7 got reviewed! Decent job, but you might want to proofread the review for any grammatical error and spellings. I like the band's first three albums, they seem to have a generally dirty, grungy sound which works really well.

Digging: Numenorean - Adore

ArsMoriendi
April 21st 2014


25798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@linguist: Have you tried their 4th and 5th? They're pretty similar in that aspect.

undertakerpt
April 22nd 2014


1584 Comments


Used tampons for everybody!

Good idea - toilet paper

Bad idea - toilet hedgehog

JohnXDoesn't
May 14th 2014


1393 Comments


"got so much clit she don't need no balls"

good effort on review

ArsMoriendi
June 8th 2015


25798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wonder if Muisc would be offended if I told him I don't care for this review...

ArsMoriendi
June 14th 2015


25798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Be sure to give Slap-Happy a 2.0 or worse.

ArsMoriendi
June 14th 2015


25798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Did you like my review for it? :o

Supercoolguy64
June 14th 2015


8808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

smells like sex and candy

Digging: The Shizit - Script Kiddie

ArsMoriendi
June 14th 2015


25798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ch-check check check it out

Supercoolguy64
June 14th 2015


8808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

k

shit just realized that slap-happy isnt on spotify or itunes

is it that bad?

ArsMoriendi
June 14th 2015


25798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"is it that bad?"



Read my review for it.

Supercoolguy64
June 14th 2015


8808 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

got so much clit she dont need no balls

ArsMoriendi
May 18th 2016


25798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

More grunge fans on this website need to check L7...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy