Carissa's Wierd
Songs About Leaving


4.5
superb

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
April 19th, 2014 | 686 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ugly but Honest

Carissa's Wierd is a depressing band, like really depressing. The short lived,but extremely influential band's formidable blend of minor key guitar arpeggios, softly played stacatto piano, subtle violin parts, and complimenting male and female vocals manage to create a somber, melancholy atmosphere that is almost unparalleled. Songs About Leaving almost feels like a distant, fleeting memory played out over twelve beautifully crafted songs. Every track feels like a piece belonging to a larger puzzle, with strong feelings of regret, loss, rumination, and depression interweaving each track. From the opener "You Should Be Hated Here's" painfully slow tempo that barely manages to climb to a mid tempo during its climax, to "Ignorant Piece of shit's" infectious guitar parts, and reserved, yet powerful drums, Carissa's Wierd showcase their ability to make you feel like shit even when their music is catchy and infectious beyond belief. Carissa's Wierd's music is a perfect metaphor for depression: it brings you down, it makes time seem slower, it's unsettling, it's isolating, and when you're already knee deep in it, you wouldn't have it any other way.



Recent reviews by this author
State Faults ClairvoyantOvero Overo
American Football American Football (LP3)Hotel Books I'll Leave the Light On Just In Case
Bring Me The Horizon AmoAlkaline Trio Is This Thing Cursed?
user ratings (378)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Axel (4.5)
Heaven's a distance, not a place....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2014


56821 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been on a Carissa's Wierd kick lately



Choice cuts:



Farewell to All These Rotten Teeth:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1tSK_nk-pw&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08



Ignorant Piece of Shit:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sdl6V5otgoY&list=PL33292D57F4ABCA08

Digging: Me in Capris - For Those Who Think You

Cygnatti
April 18th 2014


32837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

superhero is fucking goat

Funeralopolis
April 18th 2014


14345 Comments


great review for being so short. Got the message across. Catchy, atmospheric and depressing sounds like a good combination.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 18th 2014


43287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boring

Avagantamos
April 18th 2014


6573 Comments


short, just like my attention span for reading reviews

YakNips
April 18th 2014


19805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Kind of lame taking an album title from the band as the summary. Nice plugging Farewell To All Those Rotten Teeth though. My fave song here.

Snake.
April 18th 2014


21750 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wah waaaaaah

Green Baron
April 18th 2014


24612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn, I thought Treb would pour his heart out into this one



but five sentences shall suffice

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, that is all.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 18th 2014


43287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its pretty underwhelming

TheNexus100
April 18th 2014


2696 Comments


nope

Wadlez
April 18th 2014


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds great to these ears

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 18th 2014


43287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope




maybe you missed the part where opinion

YakNips
April 18th 2014


19805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

very

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2014


42213 Comments


First listen, Farewell to All these Rotten Teeth is my fave

Digging: Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein - Stranger Things 3

Iamthe Nightstars
April 19th 2014


2798 Comments


Yeah, I could never really get into this album either, LordPots. I always thought 'You Should Be at Home Here' was better.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 19th 2014


43287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked that one a bit better as well

Aids
April 19th 2014


24459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit I could have 83 reviews too if they were all this length

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 19th 2014


43287 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

stick to your current length, sput doesn't need more 3 scentence reviews that say "this weird, like really weird, depressing band makes me feel like shit"

EvoHavok
April 19th 2014


7692 Comments


Glorified sound-off, but does its job well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy