Tuomas Holopainen
Music Inspired by the Life and Times of Scrooge


4.0
excellent

Review

by Shabz USER (2 Reviews)
April 11th, 2014 | 22 replies


Release Date: 04/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A lifelong dream achieved indeed.

When Tuomas Holopainen first announced details of his solo project, it was met with a mix of delight and scepticism. Some found the idea of an album based on the comic book story "The Life and Times of Scrooge McDuck" simply laughable. However, Tuomas has showcased why he is so well regarded as a musician with his latest effort casting prejudices aside. A fantastic cast of vocalists/storytellers were chosen to assist in this endeavour. Johanna Kurkela as "Glittering" Goldie o'Gilt, Johanna Iivanainen as The Narrator and Downy O'Drake, Alan Reid as Scrooge McDuck and Tony Kakko as the Storyteller. The sheer beauty of this release is at times breathtaking. It sounds somewhat like a mix of Hans Zimmer and Nightwish if the metal elements were removed.

The album begins with the track Glasgow 1877 and very quickly the beauty of the Johannas' is noticed. So much emotion is conveyed that it almost feels as if the titanic is sinking all over again. Then one delves "Into The West" where a young duck radiating with energy awaits. The catchy use of the banjo and harmonica was particularly effective in capturing its wild atmosphere. While the album is often premised upon melancholy, sadness, and adventure, comic relief can be found in songs like Duel & Cloudscapes. Vivid images of a silly duck arise and will put a smile on most people's faces without any prior knowledge of the story. Tuomas even appropriately utilises the didgeridoo in the Australian based song Dreamtime. It has a very hypnotic feeling achieved through its repetition.

A special mention to Tony Kakko who provides great vocals on Cold Heart Of The Klondike. Musically this track is so Nightwish like that if metal was added no one would be the wiser. The Last Sled is a personal favourite and the Johannas' shine once again with their heart-warming vocals. The song is so emotionally fuelled that it makes you want to help find the poor ducks lost sled and end the misery. Goodbye, Papa is generally a sad song with comic relief mixed in, while To Be Rich is primarily focussed upon darkness. A Lifetime Of Adventure is the most typically structured song and probably the weakest on the album. It is still a very fitting song for the album and it slowly brings closure to the journey of an adventurous duck. The final song Go Slowly Now, Sands Of Time is a nice way to finish with Alan Reid as Scrooge McDuck uttering his last words of what he would say now. The pleasant blend of piano and acoustic guitar ensure a soothing timely exit without undue delay.

It is the atmospheres which are captured that make it so memorable. Whether it is sadness, fear, comedy, or excitement. It is an experience and form of escapism in itself without any graphical assistance. This album provides a great addition to Tuomas Holopainen's already noteworthy career. Nightwish fans may like it and should at least give it a try. If you are a fan of soundtracks in general then do not hesitate to pick this up. There is a chance, however, that some metal fans may find its often slow melodic tempo boring, or just plain unexciting. Ultimately, the passion to which it was crafted can hardly be ignored. Despite not being overly complex or ground breaking, it never delves into mediocrity. Come and enjoy the adventurous journey of a troubled filled duck. A duck which now has a tune and a melody to be remembered for many years to come.


user ratings (81)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Shabz
April 11th 2014


21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My first ever review, but it was fun making it.

Asdfp277
April 11th 2014


19457 Comments


great review, especially for a first, pos.

(this sounds so silly, damn. maybe i'll check. also, how's the album cover so clear? :00

TPM731
April 11th 2014


240 Comments


"it never ceases to delve into mediocrity"

Do you mean, "it never delves into mediocrity"? Because the way it is worded now makes it sound like you're saying "It's always mediocre". Other than that, the review is pretty damn solid, especially for a first.

Whispered4tw
April 11th 2014


864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually ordered this because I'm simply enthralled by the idea of a symphonic soundtrack for a comic book character.



If only the book wasn't so expensive nowadays, I'd buy that as well for reference.

Poet
April 11th 2014


6005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Everything this man does is amazing

DidgeDunn
April 11th 2014


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Heard the single for this album and it sounded amazing, hope the rest of the album lives up to its standards.

Shabz
April 11th 2014


21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@TPM731 thank you, you are correct and I'll make it clearer. As mentioned, I really enjoyed this and I

encourage everyone to check it out.

TPM731
April 12th 2014


240 Comments


I'll definitely check this out once I get the time and the money. Holopainen's work has always appalled to me because he frequently straddles the thin line between musical genius and pure insanity (I mean this in the best way possible, I love Nightwish).

KriegdemKriege
April 12th 2014


1544 Comments


Great review.

kaparoni
April 13th 2014


330 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice album . Tuomas is one of the best . This album is not meant for one time hearing . I need to hear it over and over again. Something I can't understand is why Nuclear Blast put out this record . I know Tuomas is the leader of one of the biggest metal bands , but it doesn't mean Nuclear Blast ,which is Metal record company , should put out an album that doesn't have any Metal in it ...





Whispered4tw
April 13th 2014


864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm happy they did, because the packaging of the album is beautiful.



Still need to find the right time to listen to this, but I'll definitely will soon.

Mythodea
April 16th 2014


4270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am a big fan of Niwhtwish's music and a bigger fan of Don Rosa's work. Just today I arrived back home from Athens, from his signing session. Throughout the journey I listened to this album and all I have say is that it is extreme! Great album, filled with emotions.



Great review, especially for a new one! Nice to see your work here!

Pho3nix
April 23rd 2014


569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was really cool!

Pirate666
April 26th 2014


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dem feels.

This is seriously one of my favourite albums of the year so far

Miggl
April 27th 2014


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The female vocs are extraordinarily beautiful

Onirium
April 30th 2014


3035 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review, man. Pos'd



From what I've heard of the single, it's pretty much like Nightwish but without the metal, am I right? I'll check it out, although I really didn't have high hope for it to be that good... Could hardly beat Dark Passion and Imaginaerum, though

Shabz
May 2nd 2014


21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Onirium Yes some bits do sound like Nightwish without the metal. I hope you like it. It surpassed my

expectations initially, so I hope it also surpasses yours.

DungeonBoy
June 11th 2014


5191 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review! This album has been a serious guilty pleasure of mine for the last month. Some of the epic parts on this album like the latter halves of Duel & Cloudscapes and Cold Heart of the Klondike are so insane. They easily rival anything he has done with Nightwish.



He loves repeating the same melodies on every album which makes me laugh, but there are some really cool new ideas here. Either way the guy's a musical genius.

Digging: Outre-Tombe - Nécrovortex

thatoneguy726
September 29th 2014


1667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How has this thread been dormant for three months?

Mythodea
September 29th 2014


4270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ahh, good to see another lover of this album. I expected it to draw a lot more attention (given Tuomas's popularity) but it seems to have failed to do so. Anyway, loved this album, loved Tuomas even more, and loved Don Rosa's work eeeeeveeeeen more, if such thing is actually possible.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy