Talk Talk
Spirit of Eden


5.0
classic

Review

by DynamiteKyle USER (5 Reviews)
April 5th, 2014 | 17 replies


Release Date: 1988 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The record is calculatedly sparse and packed with haunting wonder, and I love it to death.

Spirit of Eden was released in 1988, two years after these guys' drum-machine propelled world-y pop record The Color of Spring. These two years saw Talk Talk’s music begin in a much slower, more pensive and human direction, allowing it to breathe and bloom into something really special. Spirit of Eden is dripping with a mood that just oozes cool. Layers of guitar slide and twang over each other in jazzy flourishes, backed by rattling and booming percussion, and the glowing hum of strings. The music morphs and twists into bursts of electricity before crumbling back down into a meditative lounge. The first track (on European editions of the record, which happens to be the one I’ve got, though I live in Mississippi), “The Rainbow, Eden, Desire,” is a beautifully sprawling twenty-three minute suite in which Mark Hollis croons the way only he can over a winding, sparkling scatter of wonderfully constructed and placed jazz instrumentation. The record is calculatedly sparse and packed with haunting wonder, and I love it to death.


user ratings (835)
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
derho (4)
Pop Art...Rock....

Nick Mongiardo (4.5)
Spirit of Eden easily serves as one of the quintessential albums regarding what could happen if a ba...

Zebra (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ethos
April 5th 2014


1894 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

FINALLY a FIVE-STAR REVIEW, you're going to heaven for this 5 dude i thought this day

would never come.. im so proud of you even though i dont know you best review ever i stopped

everything i was doing to read it including writing about it actually at the same time as

you i mean this could have been a bit longer but hey you killed it hardest pos i've ever

given easily and im glad you love it to death me too

Friday13th
April 5th 2014


7028 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good album...review would be good on itunes.

Digging: Stevie Wonder - Fulfillingness' First Finale

Hovse
April 5th 2014


2717 Comments


somedays i wanna 5 this,brilliant album pos'd hard

conesmoke
April 5th 2014


6136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dee sire...whisperred...spokenn.

IronGiant
April 6th 2014


1643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love this record but on the version I have, some of the songs end rather abruptly and it ruins the flow of the album. is that just how the album is or do I have a defected version?

ethos
April 6th 2014


1894 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

definitely a defected version

zxlkho
April 6th 2014


3491 Comments


yeah this album is incredible

JS19
April 6th 2014


7420 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good sound-off

conesmoke
April 6th 2014


6136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Owww yeah, the world's turned upppsiiidde doooown.

dosia
April 6th 2014


75 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Love it sooooo much

Yotimi
April 6th 2014


7543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wish i could get into this band more but that damn singer always sounds like he has phlegm in his throat and i can't see past that

Sniff
April 6th 2014


5961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude. Mark Hollis is mesmerizing as fuck. And a cool singer.

Yotimi
April 6th 2014


7543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But the poor guy must always have a cold

SaneTBP
April 6th 2014


2070 Comments


Really should listen to this more often since Laughing Stock slays ahrd

KILL
April 6th 2014


81232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yay another talk talk review thats not colour of spring wow

conesmoke
April 7th 2014


6136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol yotimi. Funny stuff

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2014


2786 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Colour of Spring > for real, Inheritance is especially lovely hto

Digging: Burial - Tunes 2011 to 2019



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy