Haywyre
Two Fold - Part 1


3.5
great

Review

by Toondude USER (72 Reviews)
April 1st, 2014 | 55 replies


Release Date: 03/31/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Separate who you are from who you want to be."

Haywyre is a very unique project to say the least. Unlike most other electronica projects, Haywyre contains rather strange ideas compared to typical mainstream electronica like Daft Punk, combining many elements of different sounds that many fans of the electronica/house genre have listened to before. Not only that, but Haywyre doesn’t stick to just one formula of sound but rather experiments with other genres to create a rather lush and lavish concept throughout his music. That’s where Two Fold Pt. 1 comes in, as it’s probably the most complex, professional and ambitious record that Haywyre has made to date. Containing different attributes of EDM, Jazz, a somewhat new genre known as Glitch-Hop, and the musical fad that we all know as Dubstep, Two Fold is as what some people might find, rather interesting.

I don't claim to be an expert of the genre, but I feel like it is difficult to bring out a concept within electronica music. For the most part, you have no lyrics to directly send your message out clearly to your listeners, and you’re limited in your musical diversity knowing that a lot of dance/pop/house music nowadays seems to sound that same the more we hear it. And while Haywyre’s message isn’t completely clear as to what you might expect, it does show itself rather well thanks with the help of its collaborative artists. Some may say that it’s lazy or that Haywyre doesn’t have the complete talent to bring out the concept all by himself in doing so, but instead of affecting him negatively (for the most part anyway) it does in a way help the message become clearer to astute listeners. Even so, the guest artists will only be noticeable to those who have actually listened to them, and since these artists, including Haywyre, aren’t that well known, that number of people are relatively few.

The overall sound of this record in particular is rather incomparable. Honestly, I can find relatively few artists, if any, that contain even the broadest amount of resemblance as to what Two Fold sounds like. Instead of constant bass drops and catchy beats, Haywyre’s production of his most recent record is a rather simple one. He keeps the sound fresh and light-hearted, not constantly becoming nothing but noise that relies on being catchy. It doesn’t feel like it's trying to force every single second of it's heaviness or catchy rhythm down your throat as if it's constantly believing that complex production design will win fans. This record takes its time, as much of it is smooth and laid-back. If anything, this is the first record that Haywyre has made that differentiates his sound to almost any other record that he or most other electronica records, has made to date. It almost completely pulls him away from his comfort zone compared to his last album The Voyage and his Infinite EP. For the relatively few fans that Haywyre has, Two Fold is practically a milestone for his career, but for others, some might just scratch their heads asking how this is a remarkable achievement. With that being said, Two Fold seems to be an album for fans only, obviously not saying that those outside his fanbase aren’t going to like it.

I can’t guarantee that Two Fold will likely get you to draw yourself into the huge electronica/house fanbase that it is now, but I can guarantee that there will be some listeners who are at least curious as to what Haywyre has to offer. Aside from some repetitiveness and monotony, Two Fold is a rather enjoyable experience for those who are yearning for something new. Consisting of some rather unique talent to his credit (listen to Prologue (Part One) or the preview of Moral Compass (which is not in this album) if you want to listen to some of the incredible abilities that Haywyre has to offer) and excellent mixture of different sounds, Two Fold is an inventive blend of music and a curious case for what is to come for the future of both Haywyre, and electronica in general.



Recent reviews by this author
Kamelot The Shadow TheoryFight the Fade Masks
Machine Head CatharsisEvanescence Synthesis
Red (USA) GoneAugust Burns Red Phantom Anthem
user ratings (26)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
trending other albums

Golden Hour

Aviary

Suspiria

Konoyo


Comments:Add a Comment 
Toondude10
March 31st 2014


13389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album stream: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1oLTvCCQp-c



Tried to do something a little different with this review. Don't know how well it worked out.



Criticism is appreciated

Digging: Time, The Valuator - How Fleeting, How Fragile

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 31st 2014


39738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

electronic artists love circles

Brostep
Emeritus
March 31st 2014


4392 Comments


Haywyre contains rather strange ideas, combining many elements of different sounds that many fans of the electronica/house genre have listened to before


do you mean strange to the standard Monstercat fan? because I can name about a billion other artists who do similar things better. e.g. Bonobo, KOAN Sound, Nujabes, et al

Toondude10
March 31st 2014


13389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kind of but at the same time I meant to those who listen to some of the mainstream stuff out there. Not to mention, not everyone on Monstercat is particularly popular.



Should probably re-word that sentence.

Brostep
Emeritus
March 31st 2014


4392 Comments


and props for stepping out of your comfort zone with this review, it's really cool to see writers do that. that being said, this reads like you have extremely limited exposure to electronic music in general. and obviously that's fixable (I was in that position when I started writing for Sput, to the point that people thought I was a troll user haha), but it does make parts of this review pretty rough. for example:

It is extremely hard to bring out a concept within electronica music. For the most part, you have no lyrics to directly send your message out clearly to your listeners, and you’re limited in your musical diversity knowing that a lot of computerized music nowadays seems to sound that same the more we hear it.


I'd argue that lyrics really aren't necessary, but my main issue is that "computerized music all seems to sound the same." There are so many variations on "music made with computers" that you'd be hard-pressed to argue something like this unless your electronic knowledge only stems as far as big-room EDM stuff.

also:

Instead of constant bass drops and catchy beats, Haywyre’s production of his most recent record is a rather simple one. He keeps the beat fresh, not relying on being noisy or catchy and it doesn’t feel like a forced record constantly believing that complex production design will win fans.


I don't exactly understand what you're getting at here. are you saying he's not Skrillex-bass-centric or whatever? what does a beat sound like if it's fresh but not catchy or noisy? what does "not forced" mean?

that said, this is an admirable review and I'm really glad you're trying to write about electronic. I'm by no means an expert in any electronic styles but if you'd like some recommendations for some places to start if you liked this hit up me or Dev or TMobotron or Clercqie (or anyone else really, but all of us have titles so we're more "official"). Check out Bonobo's Black Sands, though, since that's probably my favorite album ever and it takes a lot of the hip-hop/jazz stuff Haywyre kind of tries to do and does it WAY better

Toondude10
March 31st 2014


13389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Will! And yeah I'm not really huge on electronica stuff, mainly because it's not my style but I do like some stuff like Daft Punk and Noisia.



Thanks for the feedback. Will definitely get that fixed up.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 1st 2014


32190 Comments


electronic artists love circles


Don't know why this got reported, it's hilarious!

Lord(e)Po)))ts
April 1st 2014


39738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Flying Lotus, Braids, Caribou, Four Tet, Tycho



just a couple circle lovers off the top of my head







Anyways, checked out the tags on this and sounds like i might like it, will check

Mad.
April 1st 2014


4732 Comments


Dat artwork

Nice review, pos'd

Mongi123
April 1st 2014


19874 Comments


Great rev dude! And yea, best study up on genres you barely review in the future, but like Brostep said, props for trying something new. You gotta step out of your comfort zone at some point.

Toondude10
April 1st 2014


13389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks guys.



I've been try to support this guy as much as I can since he is extremely talented. I really hope he goes futher in his career rather than just MonsterCat.

Toondude10
February 27th 2015


13389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow pots, I'm kinda surprised you liked this so much

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 27th 2015


39738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my rating is a little overzealous its more like a 4 for me tbh but yeah i like it lots

Toondude10
February 27th 2015


13389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

man I haven't listened to this in a while, might as well do that now

Lord(e)Po)))ts
February 27th 2015


39738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dont like the intro at all and the following track isnt the most impressive but everything from there on is so good

DinosaurJones
August 6th 2015


9960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn't know there was a review for this album!



I pretty much agree with it though. I loved the album a lot more at first, but I think it's grown off of me a little. I still like it quite a bit though.

Aberf
December 9th 2015


2429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Simply different.

FullOfSounds
January 11th 2017


15764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My god this rules so hard

VaxXi
January 11th 2017


4367 Comments


hell yeah it does

FullOfSounds
January 11th 2017


15764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All the layerings omg



Hell yeah Vax nice to see you fuck with this too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy