Neuraxis
Imagery


3.5
great

Review

by Insurrection USER (114 Reviews)
March 29th, 2014 | 21 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dense, muddy, technical, and sloppy – Neuraxis' debut is a wholly impressive and mature death metal album with no shortage of the potential they would soon come to realize.

After almost two decades, Canadian death metal-ers Neuraxis never quite got the recognition they deserved, despite being one of the most consistent and brutal technical death metal bands to emerge in the late ‘90s. They were certainly no Cryptopsy or Suffocation, but their fresh and effortless amalgamation of technicality and melody gave them the edge over the more streamlined acts appearing at around the same time. What’s impressive is how mature Neuraxis sound even on their debut record, Imagery – the riffs flow together seamlessly, complimenting one another while pummeling your ear drums into oblivion. Thrash-y melodic leads are juxtaposed between dense tremolo-picked death metal riffs, giving each song its own character and preventing the album from becoming at all boring during its brief 30-minute runtime.

Steven Henry certainly knows how to shred, bringing some tasty guitar solos into the mix, on top of being the primary songwriter in the band. The vocals are no slouch either – Maynard Moore alternates between deep guttural lows and raspy highs frequently, sometimes shifting right in the middle of a phrase. On the other hand, while drummer Mathieu Royale is undeniably talented, as shown by his fluency and speed around the kit, the drums are produced in such a way that the snare sounds thin and lacking any sort of substance, and the bass pedal hits sound artificial and plastic; this can become an unpleasant distraction to the guitar work during the double bass heavy passages, which appear fairly often. The production as a whole is fitting for the genre, however. It’s muddy; it’s thick; occasionally sloppy, yet it provides a perfect atmosphere to accommodate for both the extreme metal sections bordering on grind (“The Drop”), and the clean, anticipatory instrumental passages (“A Drift…”).

Neuraxis may not have made much of an impact with Imagery in the underground death metal scene upon its release, but this potential-filled debut stood the test of time and still has some of the most genuine and brutal old-school riffage the genre has to offer.




Recent reviews by this author
Incubus Trust Fall (Side B)Between the Buried and Me Automata II
Between the Buried and Me Automata IIncubus 8
Metallica Hardwired... to Self-DestructAvenged Sevenfold The Stage
user ratings (46)
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
March 29th 2014


24765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

riffs hard

tempest--
March 29th 2014


20634 Comments


these guys are the epitome of cool-but-not-that-interesting tech death

mandan
March 29th 2014


13409 Comments


Odd review Ins, you summed it all up in one paragraph.

Insurrection
March 29th 2014


24765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

didnt have much to say. albums only 30 min and it needed a review



lloyd have you heard trilateral progression or truth beyond?

tempest--
March 29th 2014


20634 Comments


I don't think so, I'm pretty sure I've only heard the first two.

Insurrection
March 29th 2014


24765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah check trilateral dude. one of the first albums that got me into dm

Necrotica
March 29th 2014


10686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really nice condensed review. Yeah, Neuraxis is pretty cool; I always enjoyed the melodic moments, as they offset the technicality quite effectively

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2014


12772 Comments


Might be a personal opinion here, but i would've liked a little more, maybe one more paragraph. Technically sound review regardless, good to see you're keeping the Contributor tag moving.

Wizard
March 29th 2014


20304 Comments


Now this is what a great condensed review should read like.

MO
March 29th 2014


22965 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

band is awesome this is good

psyclonus
March 29th 2014


153 Comments


really like their last few albums, not heard this one though. will check it

bloc
March 29th 2014


62200 Comments


They have some good albums but I rarely listen to them. Never heard this one however.

Digging: Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Dazzle Ships

Insurrection
March 29th 2014


24765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks guys



this is a lot more straight forward old school brutal death compared to their other stuff. personally i like it a lot more than their last two albums

Shuyin
March 29th 2014


13864 Comments


used to dig these guys, ill prolly check this out soon

also, wtf review

Digging: Illustrations - In Vain

Insurrection
March 30th 2014


24765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what?

Shuyin
March 30th 2014


13864 Comments


giant block

Insurrection
March 30th 2014


24765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

id hardly call it giant. think i should break it up?

Relinquished
March 30th 2014


45096 Comments


break that shit up

Insurrection
March 30th 2014


24765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

done

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2014


14622 Comments


Nice review.

Band's interesting. The Thin Line Between and Trilateral Progression remain my favourite releases.


Digging: Karmacipher - Introspectrum



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2020 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy