Architects
Lost Forever // Lost Together


4.5
superb

Review

by jaspvr USER (3 Reviews)
March 13th, 2014 | 30 replies


Release Date: 03/10/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Perhaps Architects have finally found their sound with album number 6

Architects, a band that with every album seems to change their mind on what band they want to be. From their early mathcore-esque days, to the straight up heavy assault that was "Hollow Crown", and then the radio friendly "The Here And Now", which the band admits was not the music that 4 men of their potential should have been making. Their 5th album "Daybreaker" attempted to combine the heaviness of Hollow Crown with the catchiness and ambience of "THAN" and ultimately sounded forced and like a band that didn't know exactly what they wanted to do. Enter Lost Forever // Lost Together, where Architects have decided to go heavy once again, with much better results.

From the first track on the album, and one of the album highlights "Gravedigger" it feels as if Architects mean business this time. This track starts with a haunting clean guitar, before kicking into one of the fastest intros in Architects distinguished career, and when the breakdown hits, rather than resort to boring one-note chugging, a more powerful, creative melodic breakdown is employed, and they keep this up throughout the album, generally using the melody instead of letting it be a crutch in order to make their breakdowns stand out as something unique. This track doesn't let up though, the chorus shows Architects at their melodic best, Sam Carter sounding better than he ever has as he screams and yells, maybe even taking a page out of Oli Sykes success with his vocal work in "Sempiternal" "Take all of this and add in how well this album is produced (it actually has audible bass) and is perhaps one of the most powerful opening tracks in Architects' career thus far.

The album lives up to this track though, keeping up a high energy right up until the last two tracks, which slow things down and end the album with Sam at his very peak. Tom Searle (guitar) has stepped his game up here as well, while not being as technical as he has been in past albums, Tom provides many many memorable guitar licks, most notably in the two stand out tracks "Colony Collapse" and "Castles In The Air", where Tom's lead parts see him dancing around the fret board. When Sam whispers "I wasted time, building castles in the air.." in the latter track you can just feel the emotion in his voice, and he's gone from being a member I felt was dragging the band down in "Daybreaker", to perhaps the stand out member in this album.

My only complaints with this release is how I've noticed many of the songs repeat themselves with an "intro, verse, chorus, intro, verse, chorus" kind of format, and it makes the album lose it's replay value a lot faster than it should. The drums as well, while not doing anything wrong, aren't quite up to the technical standard that they could be considering Architects' discography and Dan Searle's obvious ability behind the kit.

While not being without flaws, Lost Forever // Lost Together does see a return to form for the band and raises the bar for many other bands of the same genre as one of the better written albums in modern metalcore. With this album, Architects set out to make something full of energy and emotion that live audiences would enjoy, and well, they've achieved that and then some. I just hope that with their next record these 4 lads built on the sound they've created even further and create a truly amazing record.


user ratings (833)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (2)
Lost forever, lost together, we have no idea where we are....

iChuckles (4)
Not groundbreaking, not forward-thinking -- just loads of aggressive fun....

Nikkolae (3)
Hollow Crown this is not....


Comments:Add a Comment 
jaspvr
March 12th 2014


33 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

All the comparisons to Architects previous albums were annoying me, and I wish more people would enjoy this album for what it is rather than bringing up where they've come from, so I thought this review was necessary, tell me what you think

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2014


24657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yes, I love Hollow Crown.

Yes, this doesn't sound like Hollow Crown.

Yes, this is a metalcore album, and it sounds like a metalcore album (because it is one).

So what?




really really bad way to start a review



Lost Forever // Lost Together doesn't break the mold of metalcore, but it pushes the mold to the very limit, and resets the bar as one of the most well written albums in modern metalcore.




wtf how? like everything on here sounds exactly the same

jaspvr
March 12th 2014


33 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It was kind of just a counter argument to everyone else starting their reviews comparing this to HC

And no two songs on this really sound the same at all, it sounds like other albums but I feel it just does it a little better than the thousands of metalcore albums around lately

Snake.
March 12th 2014


21390 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

neg

jaspvr
March 12th 2014


33 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Kk, figured none of you would agree with this

Snake.
March 12th 2014


21390 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it's not that we don't agree, it's just that the review sucks

paradox1216
Emeritus
March 13th 2014


730 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Terrible review. You shouldn't do reviews "in response" to other people's reviews, that's what comments are for. you should do reviews to examine the album on its own merits. You open up with a defense that seems schizophrenic because it comes out of nowhere, and then you proceed to fanboy about the actual album.



Your actual writing is mostly fine, but the structuring is just bad.



TL;DR don't make your tagline "Shut the hell up about Hollow Crown" and people won't make fun of you and might read your reviews seriously.

Nocturnal
March 13th 2014


1329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You seem like a nice guy so I gave you a pos.

paradox1216
Emeritus
March 13th 2014


730 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^^going to heaven if there is one

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2014


15084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Terrible way to start a review, man.

Digging: HEALTH - VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR

FearThyEvil
March 13th 2014


16749 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Removing the summary would help too.

tempest--
March 13th 2014


20630 Comments


lol

TomArnoldsArmpit
March 13th 2014


3081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boo this man

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2014


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'll give this review a full run through for you, chin up.



Your summary:

Shut the hell up about Hollow Crown.




What is it exactly you're trying to relate to the reader? A tagline/summary should be able to relate some theme or message to engage the reader, while providing some information.



Keep in mind that a tagline like you have is incredibly immature and presents you as the "informative reviewer" being a twelve year old. Try thinking about what you want to get out of that single section.



Yes, I love Hollow Crown.

Yes, this doesn't sound like Hollow Crown.

Yes, this is a metalcore album, and it sounds like a metalcore album (because it is one).

So what?




Like Andrew mentioned above, this is a pretty bad way to initiate a review. You might 'love' Hollow Crown, but what relevance does it have to the album titled Lost Forever // Lost Together?



You say the album doesn't sound like Hollow Crown. Again, where is the relevance to this album? Are you reviewing Hollow Crown or Lost Forever // Lost Together?



Yes, this is a metalcore album, and it sounds like a metalcore album (because it is one).




Am I missing something? Is this a metalcore album? It's like I didn't know which rap artist was singing on the radio until he sung his name 32 times and kept telling me to put my hands up...



So what?




That's the big question, so what are you trying to tell your reader?



_______________----________________________More on the next post



Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2014


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Forget about comparing this to Hollow Crown,




It's a bit hard when the four lines above this mention nothing but...



their 6th album




sixth* album



Architects have combined explosive grooves, awe-inspiring melodies and beautiful ambient sections, all at a relentless breakneck pace.




Way, too, many, commas in that paragraph. That was the easy thing to fix. You'll find I'm better at pointing out context rather than grammar. "Explosive grooves", I've never seen a band explode while headbanging to a great beat. "Ambient Sections", Um, fucking where? "Breakneck pace", I've never had my neck broken by the tempo of any band, let alone a simple metalcore group. Think about your wording, is the terminology accurate, does this make sense?



Take the first track, and one of the album highlights Gravedigger for example.




Take the album's first track for example. "Gravedigger"...



Read everything out aloud while you're proofreading. If it doesn't make sense while being spoken, it's going to make less sense for your readers.



This track starts with a haunting clean guitar, before kicking into one of the fastest intros in Architects distinguished career,




*Architects'



This track starts with a haunting clean guitar, before kicking into one of the fastest intros in Architects distinguished career, and when the breakdown hits, rather than resort to simply chugs on the top string like many other bands in the genre would, Architects add their own little technical flourish to make the breakdown unique.




This is all one sentence, break it up. Find a point, provide an example, close. Start a new sentence.



_____________________________________________More on next

BigPleb
March 13th 2014


57042 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nocte wants that Staff spot, hard.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2014


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sam Carter sounding better than he ever has as he screams/yells/sings/whatever he does these days




If you don't know what it's called, try not to point out the fact you don't know what you're talking about. "Whatever he does" is not an accurate description of anything, especially if you're readers are new to the genre/band/whatever it is. ; ]



and you could say the opening track is somewhat jaw dropping.




A review is your opinion, you shouldn't speculate as to what others are thinking. Failing that, my jaw didn't drop.



The album lives up to this track though, keeping up a high energy right up until the last two tracks,




Seems like a contradiction.



while not being as technical as he has been in the past,




Provide examples, give your readers something to back your points up. What you've given your readers is as relate-able as 2+2 = 5. The rest of that paragraph would benefit if examples were provided, give reference points. It doesn't have to be a 'play by play' but a few spots here and there are only going to help.



_________________________________________________More on next

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2014


9293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Lost Forever // Lost Together doesn't break the mold of metalcore, but it pushes the mold to the very limit,




Think about it, does this actually make sense?



and resets the bar as one of the most well written albums in modern metalcore.




A big call, and completely unfounded by anything you have provided in this 'review'.



[quote]With this album, Architects set out to make something full of energy and emotion that live audiences would enjoy, and well, they've achieved that and then some.[quote]



Phrasing dude, read it aloud. Another 'rule' is one "and" per sentence. Otherwise ^^

iChuckles
March 13th 2014


276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"where Tom's lead parts see him dancing around the fret board"



This could be a coincidence, but this line is frighteningly similar to my review, where I literally say the exact same thing about this track in particular.



All in all, this review requires a lot of work, the structuring is a bit of a mess.



Keep at it, though. You'll develop fo'sho!

paradox1216
Emeritus
March 13th 2014


730 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think the statement he made about pushing the mold to the limit makes perfect sense (though I don't think it describes the album personally). There are some formulaic albums that achieve greatness based on quality alone. I just think it clashes with him saying it's one of the best albums in modern metalcore. Aren't those best albums supposed to truly break out of the mold?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy