Modern Baseball
You’re Gonna Miss It All


3.5
great

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
February 11th, 2014 | 200 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: To hell with the spins I'm staying in, there's no good reason why I should leave your bed tomorrow

Modern Baseball have always been inconsistent songwriters. The majority of tunes on the band's debut album Sports worked, but the occasional track faltered. This wasn't much of an issue as most of the songs on Sports barely crossed the two minute mark, leaving little room for disappointment when a track didn't work quite as well as the others. Modern Baseball's sophomore effort You're Gonna Miss it All is no different in this regard. The band still skillfully blasts through two minute emo tinged, indie-folk anthems of snarky white underclassman parties and relationships conveyed through jangly guitar chords and nasally vocals. The biggest difference here is the improved production, more focused songwriting, and more commercial sound. Unfortunately, this tightening of sorts diminished some of the immature charm the band had on their debut album. Thankfully though, You're Gonna Miss it All is catchy enough and charming enough to draw in a slew of new fans, and keep existing fans satisfied.



Recent reviews by this author
Jetty Bones Push BackMisery Signals Ultraviolet
Covet technicolorSoccer Mommy Color Theory
Tiny Moving Parts BreatheState Faults Clairvoyant
user ratings (492)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Preston (3.5)
Being unpopular in high school never sounded so cool....

Breaded (2.5)
Strike two....

UnstableConnection1 (3.5)
Modern Baseball have done a great job at creating a raw, rocking and emotional charged indie punk re...

CemeteryDrive (4)
This LP is a lot of things at once, and it just so happens that they're all great-- and even more sp...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


58365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn nice soundoff!



Choice tracks:



Charlie Black: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRdmaOe3QPg



Rock Bottom: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4SdJGe_PyBE



Two Good Things: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPFg_yibg9M

Digging: Freshman Biology - Only Thing I Want To Keep

Mort.
February 11th 2014


16976 Comments


nice review treb

Digging: USA Nails - Character Stop

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


58365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you kind sir



I would 3.7 this if I was staff!

Brostep
Emeritus
February 11th 2014


4491 Comments


If Sputnik were Bandcamp this would be a grindcore EP

sweet rev tho

Mort.
February 11th 2014


16976 Comments


oooh take it out on jom


and damn I thought id like this band the vocalist is a bit....meh

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


58365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rock Bottom is my fucking jam



It's like they wrote the lyrics about me!

dimsim3478
February 11th 2014


8987 Comments


This piece basically legitimises half my soundoffs as reviews. Maybe I should post them all and step up my review count. :P

Good review but dunno how you like these guys and not Front Bottoms.

kris.
February 11th 2014


15504 Comments


shoulda been a tbt

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


58365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like The Front Bottoms, they just kind of annoy me and make me want to listen to The Mountain Goats instead

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


27100 Comments


nice. gotta try this 1-paragraph review format soon

Digging: Mos Def - Black on Both Sides

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


58365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The rating average for this and Sports is criminally low imo

Curse.
February 11th 2014


8079 Comments


This review is about twice as long as it needs to be

Wadlez
February 11th 2014


5011 Comments


Australian Rugby

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


58365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Yeah Sports is low. This better then the new You Blew It!?"



Yes

Athom
Emeritus
February 11th 2014


17242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

nice tweet.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014


1634 Comments


In about one year, following current trends, one sentence reviews will be common and celebrated.

letsgofishing
February 11th 2014


1634 Comments


Double post. Sorry bout that folks.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


58365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

short reviews > overly descriptive 5 paragraphers



tommygun
February 11th 2014


27043 Comments


band sux

dece rev

PeyoteCoyote
February 11th 2014


12 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Your Graduation" is the best song I've heard this year.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy