Deceased
Fearless Undead Machines


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Davis CONTRIBUTOR (289 Reviews)
January 26th, 2014 | 20 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Fearless undead Machines is undoubtedly one of Deceased's career-defining albums, thanks in part to the solid line-up at the time of the album's release, as well as a genuine willingness to progress from the band's earlier years.

By 1991 Deceased had created and solidified the perfect line-up, and this is more than evident on the band's third album, Fearless undead Machines. As the title suggests, this album is solely focused on the undead, particularly zombies, and though such a subject has been seemingly used to death by many bands within the extreme metal circuit, Fearless undead Machines really takes the subject seriously, so seriously in fact that at least half of the album's songs are some of the most creative and ambitious songs to be found within death metal itself.

Opening with an excerpt taken from one of George A. Romero's zombie-based films (presumably, for the films from the man's “Living Dead” trilogy are arguably the most genre-defining of them all), blistering and near perfect opener “The silent Creature” is deadly, eerie and evil in all the right ways. Guitars may be the focal point here but it's really the enigmatic rhythm section that pulls no punches in creating solid instrumentation and ambitious musicianship. The complex nature of each and every riff seems to take its time in amounting to an almost epic finale, but this is in no way a barrier of the song's general progress. Comparing this to the band's first album seems very easy, sure, but the same sort of evil-sounding atmosphere is still here in spades. Naturally, “The silent Creature” is one of a handful of songs which makes Fearless undead Machines so excellent, and you can feel this through the visceral nature of the enigmatic title track and “Mysterious Research”, both of which explode immediately from beginning to end.

The band also go through frequent bouts of musical experimentation in Fearless undead Machines, although the core style is still very much rooted in death metal. The two short interludes which give the listener a nice albeit eerie breather from “The silent Creature” and the title track for example are led for the most part by soothing acoustic guitars and a narrative performance by King Fowley. Fowley on these tracks sounds every bit as haunting as Vincent Price in his heyday, and together with eerie atmosphere and well-executed musicianship simply uses his talents to the full extent. There's also a great sense of melody in various riffs on songs such as “Mysterious Research” and “Night of the Deceased”. This naturally shows the band's more experimental side and proves that they don't just stick to ear-battering aggression, for the melodic licks of Mike Smith's and Mark Adams' guitar work works to the band's advantage each and every time.

The one thing which not everyone will be able to get into is Fowley's vocal style. For some, his vocals are as grim and as eerily tasteful as the listener would expect, whereas for others they could simply prove weak compared to the excellence of the instrumentation. This isn't necessarily a problem when reflecting on the album's overall impression, so much as a slight annoyance for those who prefer the more guttural style. Two songs towards the end prove unfortunately weaker than the rest, though not by much. “Beyond Science” seems to attempt a more back-to-basics approach which has much more in common with the band's earlier material than it does with the longer songs on Fearless undead Machines and “The Psychic” is simply too lenient for its own good, but with such a mammoth of a closing song in “Destiny”, one can safely forget those two filler-based tracks.

For those who wonder where the perfect starting point is for Deceased, Fearless undead Machines is definitely one of the first albums you should try, for it is at best a career-defining moment and a concrete sound which would be worked on even more for future releases such as As the Weird travel on and Supernatural Addiction. If you like your death metal ambitious, eerie and grim and don't mind lengthy songs, this album is definitely for you.



Recent reviews by this author
Jinjer MacroThe Great Old Ones Cosmicism
1349 The Infernal PathwayKadavar (DE) For the Dead Travel Fast
Blood Red Throne Fit to KillFoscor Els Sepulcres Blancs
user ratings (56)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2014


2622 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Full album:



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Rw_Ybs87OA

Myrkur
January 26th 2014


164 Comments


Finally a review for this forgotten gem of thrash, congrats, obvious Pos.

facupm
January 27th 2014


11430 Comments


need to check this band

HenchmanOfSanta
January 27th 2014


1994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Brings the riffs

DikkoZinner
August 12th 2014


5340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good stuff

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2014


26234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I fucking love this album



Digging: Liturgy - H.A.Q.Q.

Doctuses
January 31st 2016


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

seeing these guys in april stoked

Scoob
August 10th 2016


4396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys don't get enough credit

necropig
November 3rd 2016


5851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listen to deceased peeps

Digging: Vothana - Khng Bao Gi Np / Never to Submit

Shadowmire
November 3rd 2016


5118 Comments


ok

necropig
November 3rd 2016


5851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet

evilford
November 3rd 2016


42172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked luck of the corpse better. this is pretty good tho

necropig
November 3rd 2016


5851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good stuff to just put on and jam

necropig
April 3rd 2018


5851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tis deceased night m/

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
April 3rd 2018


26234 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The drummer/vocalist of these guys lives right around the corner from me

combustion07
April 3rd 2018


6664 Comments


You live by King Fowley?!? That's awesome seems like a real fun dude from the few chats I've had with him

combustion07
April 3rd 2018


6664 Comments


Edit here it is:

"so we set up a big show in washington d.c years ago. it was DECEASED, RIPPING CORPSE, REVENANT. show was a blast and we set out for virginia for a night of drinking and hanging out. we ended up at some big chain hotel in the middle of town. we all started drinking and the night soon had a super energy to it. well the super energy seemed to run out about 12:20 am when we ran out of beer. so we ran over to 7-11 knowing damn well they weren't going to sell us any as it was after hours. so i was set to take what we needed. les and i and a few others walked in and i put a few cases of beer on the counter and the $ for it. guy said we couldnt buy it. i told him we're gonna have to take it then, so out we ran with the beer. well the 7-11 was only about 50 yards from the hotel we were at. so it was easy to see where we ran when he came out to find us. we ran back into the floor we were all on and partied it up. well our buddy who had all the rooms on his credit card got a call from desk that cops were there for the 7-11 beer snatching and coming up. he told us all to hide and try and change our identities. we were all drunk and laughing. i tried to switch into this one guys pants who was a 29 waist. hahahaha that was hilarious . we ran out of room and tried to go in rooms of people we didnt know on our floor. got one door open and the couple were scared shitless. we were wasted. had fire axe in our hands we broke off the fire alarm. then the cops saw us and pointed at me and les and 2 others and told us to come out and go to the 7-11. lot of us were very similar looking as the old metalhead stereotype with jeans long hair and leather jackets. we walked in and the guy looked at me. i sorta said under my breath and right at him. if he narcs we'll kill him. he said 'never seen him' to me. and then the same for next two guys. now les was last and stood out like a girl at a prog fest. he had to have been able to recognize him. but drum roll please 'i dont recognize the asian kid' came out of his mouth. hooray!!! yip yip yipee!! we all jumped up and down. all of us were free to go. we were like 'wow, he called cops but then didn't bust us' on our walk back to hotel. well the 7-11 we got away with, even kept the beer. the fire axe and damage we did tot he hotel walls was another thing. our buddy got it all charged to his card for the damage.

combustion07
April 3rd 2018


6664 Comments


moral to this story is a) va stops selling beer at midnight so be prepared b) fire axes easily go through hotel walls c) you have 30 days to pay your american express card in full and d) crowded elevators smell different to midgets. and e)REVENANT and RIPPING CORPSE would be pretty slow in a foot race!!!

Just found the story and posted it so no digging necessary lol

Scoob
April 4th 2018


4396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dat riff on the t/t

necropig
April 4th 2018


5851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2] riffs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy