Nickelback
The State


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSupernatural USER (15 Reviews)
January 26th, 2014 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 20th Century Nickelback plays in 6/4 and writes about the Holocaust.

Imagine a fresh young Nickelback, making the rounds through Canadian towns in the late 90s, trying to promote themselves and their music. It's hard to separate that band from the modern Nickelback and their machine-esque process of album making, to which they seem to have a formula which hasn't changed in a decade (I could spend all day on the comparisons between every album from The Long Road to Here and Now). While they are adored by millions and loathed by critics now, the band's second LP, The State was long before this.

Nickelback's sound on the The State is the same as the straightforward post-grunge of the late 1990s and early 2000s. The first half of the songs are lyrically driven, while the second half clearly focus around guitar riffs that repeat several times over the course of most of the verses and/or choruses.

Chad Kroeger's voice plays to strengths of the first half of The State. In several of the songs, the emotional pain of the lyrics sounds quite real. Take the final chorus of "Old Enough" as an example. It's even more evident in the album's first song, "Breathe," ("All I ever really wanted was / To be like you / So perfect / So worthless / If I could take it all back think again / I would"). Kroeger stands at the front of the first single, "Leader of Men". While the unique structure and quiet-to-loud dynamic is worth noting, nothing else in the song is.

The guitars begin to take over with "Worthy to Say," a surprisingly well-layered track focusing on drug-induced paranoia (no really, check out the lyrics). In fact, the themes of the album often cover the different institutions that rule over people, whether it's religion ("Not Leavin' Yet"), parents ("Cowboy Hat"), or the state itself. The final example is shown in the dense but heartbreaking "Hold Out Your Hand", a song about the pain and suffering of the Holocaust.

The State has its lighter moments in the catchy "Deep" and 6/4 grooves of "Diggin' This". Even in these guitar-driven songs, Nickelback manages to provide more musical value than in the albums they would go on to release in the following years. There's no single component that makes this album successful. Sure, there's the occasional odd moment like the Arabian-sounding bridge of "Hold Out Your Hand", but those moments are easily forgotten amidst the guitar crunch that makes up the majority of the album. The early post-grunge simplicity actually feels more complex than what the genre became. At their best, Nickelback is on par with Bush and Foo Fighters, and worth a listen to anyone who finds themselves interested in modern rock.

I'd also prefer to give this album a 3.7, but as a lowly user, I'm rounding up.



Recent reviews by this author
Thrice PalmsGlassjaw Material Control
Parabelle The Kill PlanThe Sidekicks Runners in the Nerved World
In This Moment Black WidowFinch Back to Oblivion
user ratings (527)
Chart.
2.2
poor
other reviews of this album
Big Tone (2.5)
...

Yuma310 (3)
“I am not a leader of men…” Unfortunately that is painfully obvious now, but maybe they could ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSupernatural
January 26th 2014


1747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"20th Century Nickelback..."



Album is listed as being released in 2000. Well, #@$%

BlacKapes
January 26th 2014


1964 Comments


good review, but i completely disagree with "At their best, Nickelback is on par with Bush and Foo Fighters". nickelback never really gets better than a 2.8, and yeah this one leans to the better side, but comparing them to the foo? pshhhh.

TheSupernatural
January 26th 2014


1747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

When you boil it down to the simple musical and lyrical factors, I really do believe that this album is as good as any Foo Fighters album. Dave Grohl is definitely a charismatic guy, but I can't say I'm a huge fan of his music.

BlacKapes
January 26th 2014


1964 Comments


well to each their own, but imo foo at their worst > nickelback at their best

there are only a handful of truly bad foo songs, and a ton of bad nickelback ones lol

gnrcdstrtdpwrchrd
January 26th 2014


108 Comments


Wow. Breathe and Cowboy Hat are really pretty good. But apart from that, the songs are better than usual Nickelback fare but not really good enough for a 3. Good review, pos

Metalstyles
Emeritus
January 26th 2014


8573 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty good review. The final paragraph kind of rushes to the end, though, and I'd expand on it a little (like how you say that:1. there is no one thing that drives this album forward 2. the album feels more complex than stuff that comes out of the grunge genre nowadays - maybe bring out/expand on what makes the compositions here good most of the time and so on). Definitely lose the last sentence as well. You can mention the rounding up thing somewhere in the conclusion, but as it stands the final sentence looks awkward.



Agreed about the album, it's really not bad.

Brabiz
January 26th 2014


935 Comments


Actually not the worst thing ever. Pretty okay album.

zaruyache
January 26th 2014


19987 Comments


Nickelbad

Digging: Black Funeral - Empire of Blood

mindleviticus
January 26th 2014


9572 Comments


llllllllooooooooolllllllllllllll

zaruyache
January 26th 2014


19987 Comments


I should do stand-up.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2014


14091 Comments


"I'd also prefer to give this album a 3.7, but as a lowly user, I'm rounding up."


if its a 3.7 you should round down to 3.5

sorry for pointing that out


good review though

Digging: XTC - Black Sea

TheSupernatural
January 26th 2014


1747 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

^yeah but that wouldn't justify giving it a 4 would it. Being honest and giving it the rating I want to give it ftw

KjSwantko
January 26th 2014


10774 Comments


While it is true this album is better than their current stuff, this is still shit, to be honest.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2014


14091 Comments


"^yeah but that wouldn't justify giving it a 4 would it. Being honest and giving it the rating I want to give it ftw"


yes but that makes no sense. if think the album is a 3.7, then the closest thing it is that you can round it to is a 3.5. if you think the album is a 3.7 but its still closer to being a 4 then you would have to think its like a 3.75. seriously though maths please

VermTheInquisitor
January 27th 2014


489 Comments


Lol, nickelback

WesleyJones
January 8th 2015


199 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album in my opinion. IN MY OPINION. ITS NOT A FACT. it's what I think. Got that? Good.

Flugmorph
July 16th 2016


20039 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

well after listening to silver side up and all the right reasons this isnt thaaaat bad...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy