Green Day
39/Smooth


2.0
poor

Review

by thelostcity USER (5 Reviews)
January 24th, 2014 | 77 replies


Release Date: 1990 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Green Day debut. it's mediocre. it's lazily and sloppy written. Their worst record.

Chapter I: Mediocre beginnings

Green Day are a very very guilty plasure of mine. some People want to call them "gay", "emo" like my best friends do, but they are wrong. However, they did start out with lots and lots of ***ty music. Their debut was 39-Smooth. The album was released back in the early 90s - back when we realt from the smokas of the crap-ass hair metal. Hardcore punk was an ok movement - I liked Black Flag and that ian Mackaye band... I think it was called Minor Threat. Wait, I check Google. Yep. Minor Threat. And Fuagzi. Who could forget Fuagzi?

Not if Billy Joe, Mike and Al Sobriante (washed up nobody) wore their influences on their sleve then maybe the crap punk they made now would be forgiven. This is not heavy though. Minor Threat attacked drugs with Straight Edge. Descendents spoke about the social inequalitys with "I'm Not a Loser". But Green Day apparently smoked pot, got horny and jacked off. Just like any other teenage r in So Cal.

I think I've rambled on too much already, so I will go on and now discuss Green Day's debut album, 39-Smooth. It was released in 1990 on indie label Lookout! records.

1. At the Library: If Green Day could start out their career on a song like this, I never would have expected ***ty albums like Uno, 21st Century Breakdown. Good slab of old punk rock that isn't as pop-rock as Uno!. Uno! is a bad album, this was bad, but in a sloppier manner. So Green Day had began 39/Smooth with a decent song. Mike Dirnt's bass was ok. Slap bass? I don't know I am not a guitarist. Do not ask me. 4/5

2. Don't Leave Me: I don't hate this track. It is just average. So painfully dull. 2.5/5

3. I Was There: So was I! I'm getting tired with crap ass track summarys now - enough's enough, I want to call it off. But I can't, because that is how reviews are made. So this is another punk rock song with decent lyrics but I have a mouse in my hand. This song is the epitome of average Green Day. They wear their punk influences on their sleeve - Bad Brains and Meat Puppets galore! But it's mediocre? 2/5

4. Disappearing Boy - This is another early highlight. I feel as if Green Day should have made more of these songs but i know they didn't because the cries of SELL OUT (LESS THAN JAKE) and REEL BIG FISH or LABLE MANAGAment gave them in. Al Sobriante's drum fills are punk-y cool. So that's why Green Day get a pass for this. 3.5/5

5. Green Day - self-titled songs, so freaking cool my man. Y'all want a single say, *** that, because this is alraight. Smoking weed and getting laid seem like the stereotypical Green Day ***, but it's not. This is a joke song in the vein of The Offspring's "Pretty White (For a White Guy)". I mean, come on now. 2/5

6. Going to Pasalacqua - Now we get things into gear. This is one of Green Day's best early pre-Dookie tracks, so it is good. Fly over states and go to this nowhere town. Lyrics are good. Riffs nice. Good song. 4.5/5

7. 16 - I can't describe this song. So bad. 1.5/5

8. Road to Acceptance - Sounds just like Pasalacqua. Same description, just copy and paste it. 4.5/5

9. Rest - put me to sleep because this song bores me. So hard. Please. zzzzzz 1.5/5

10. The Judge's Daughter - I always thought this song would be a cock rock song about getting it on with the sexy boss's daughter. It doesn't talk about sexual escapades, but I thought it would. So it gets a pass for lyrics content. BJ has a good vocal. performance here. It's ok of a song. 3/5

39-Smooth shows how mediocre Green Day were on their debut. It was just bad because they wanted to emulate hardcore punk but so sloppily. How would they follow it up? Stay tuned for Part II: The Companies of A New Tomorrow.


user ratings (654)
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Green Baron (3.5)
The start of something brilliant....


Comments:Add a Comment 
thelostcity
January 24th 2014


28 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Part I of XI: Let's see how one of my favorite bands grows up.

thelostcity
January 24th 2014


28 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Please comment! I like these guys!



I want feedback please. I want to become a good writer. I am currently in Honors English 11th grade in NYC. This should be a great review.

Lies
January 24th 2014


32 Comments


I'm sorry, but I completely disagree with this review and you saying this is "it's lazily and sloppy
written. Their worst record." is a bit ignorant. The rawness adds onto the emotion and this in my
opinion, their most sincere record yet.

Second of all, i'm sorry, but how in the HELL are you in "English Honors" with this type of grammar?
This review is very poorly written

Tell me how this "So Green Day had began 39/Smooth with a decent song. Mike Dirnt's bass was ok.
Slap bass? I don't know I am not a guitarist. Do not ask me." is coherent?



Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2014


4484 Comments


Welcome to Sputnik! Some brief feedback:

First and foremost, explicitly track-by-track reviews are bad. There's no getting around it - if you want to write good reviews (and I assume you do based on your comment) you have to write a full-album review that flows. Read some staff reviews to get a sense of how full reviews can move (http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/60453/Alcest-Shelter/ and http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/60048/Blood-Orange-Cupid-Deluxe/ are two recent reviews which should give you an idea of how good reviews can be written), and you'll see the differences between their flow and your track-by-track.

Secondly:

Hardcore punk was an ok movement - I liked Black Flag and that ian Mackaye band... I think it was called Minor Threat. Wait, I check Google. Yep. Minor Threat. And Fuagzi. Who could forget Fuagzi?

I'll try to say this in the least harsh way possible: given you're in Honors English in HS, I hope you can write better sentences than this. I started writing reviews junior year too (in 12th grade now) and it took me about 35 reviews to realize what I hope you can understand now: writing reviews is hard. If you're crapping out a review in 10-15 minutes something's probably wrong, and this has the presentation of a review that was written hastily and sloppily. (Also, as an aside, Fugazi is misspelled multiple times in your review.)


Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2014


4484 Comments


Third: Though you don't really have to approach this in the super-dry-and-lifeless way you and I and most other high school English students across the country approach "essays," there's at least a standard of writing that should be high-quality enough that you don't insult the intelligence of the reader. And in general, I feel like you're capable of that but your inexperience really shows here. It feels like your influences, instead of proven music publications like Pitchfork or Resident Advisor, are more along the lines of mediocre iTunes reviews - which will not fly here. Writing style is one thing, but typos are another. For example:

Just like any other teenage r in So Cal.

crap ass track summarys

put me to sleep because this song bores me. So hard. Please. zzzzzz


See what I mean? You've been taking English long enough that you should have some idea of solid sentence structure, and if you don't then read some other music reviews (staff reviews on Sputnik, Pitchfork, and a few other publications are nice - can't really point you to quality general publications though since I typically only read electronic ones like XLR8R and FactMag).

I hope this doesn't seem like I'm coming down too hard on you. I really want to see you become a really good writer, and the potential's definitely there. Just take some more time to write your next review, edit the shit out of it (I'm available if you'd like some editing help - hit me up in my shoutbox!), and make sure it flows coherently and talks about the whole album instead of just individual tracks (a hard art to master, one that took me about 40 reviews to understand on a very basic level). Keep at it, and I look forward to seeing some more reviews in the future!

Green Baron
January 24th 2014


24755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Even for a first review, this is pretty weak. Never do track by tracks, they are generally frowned upon. You don't even talk much about the songs themselves - descriptions are weak, and some of these facts are inaccurate.



"It was just bad because they wanted to emulate hardcore punk but so sloppily"



This album didn't try to emulate hardcore punk - like some of the early stuff by NOFX and The Offspring, it wasn't as polished as their later work. That doesn't have to detract from their work.



Lies
January 24th 2014


32 Comments


Yeah lostcity, not to be an ass or anything, but this review seriously needs work.

As Brostep said, stay away from track-by-track reviews; they barely tell us anything worthwhile about the album.

I'd like to think you're not a troll, but I'm still finding this whole "AP English Honors" thing to be sketchy. I mean seriously, this review has numerous grammar issues that I'm almost certain you could have caught onto before submitting it.

Lies
January 24th 2014


32 Comments


Yeah lostcity, not to be an ass or anything, but this review seriously needs work.

As Brostep said, stay away from track-by-track reviews; they barely tell us anything worthwhile about the album.

I'd like to think you're not a troll, but I'm still finding this whole "AP English Honors" thing to be sketchy. I mean seriously, this review has numerous grammar issues that I'm almost certain you could have caught onto before submitting it.

thelostcity
January 24th 2014


28 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ok. I'll patch that up with Part 2.

Cormano
January 24th 2014


1686 Comments


review gave me cancer

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
January 24th 2014


6385 Comments


god damn will is so nice

also god damn a lot of new users reviewing bad green day albums

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2014


57024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wtf

Digging: Counterparts - Nothing Left to Love

Green Baron
January 24th 2014


24755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Chapter I: Mediocre beginnings



Metaphor for your career I'd say

Snake.
January 24th 2014


21814 Comments


'I can't describe this song. So bad.'


very perceptive and insightful, bravissimo. neg

StallionMang
January 24th 2014


9000 Comments


"Sounds just like Pasalacqua. Same description, just copy and paste it.

4.5/5"

Green Baron
January 24th 2014


24755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't believe this is the album's 1st review. Does it justice i'd say

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2014


4484 Comments


d'aww thanks aziz

n60storm
January 24th 2014


50 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't hate on the old GD train

Green Baron
January 24th 2014


24755 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Reviewer gave Dos and Tre 4.5s.



I must be deaf not to hear their brilliance

StallionMang
January 24th 2014


9000 Comments


Oh boy can't wait for the rest of the series



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy