Green Day
iDOS!


4.0
excellent

Review

by tightwadhill13 USER (3 Reviews)
January 14th, 2014 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not as good as Green Day's Garage/Indie side project the Foxboro Hot Tubs, but still an excellent effort. Best of the trilogy. 8.2/10

With mixed reviews by critics and fans alike, I went into the second entry of Green Day's three album trilogy with expectations. I was however, very impressed. Eyes may have been rolled a bit at the sappy opening "See You Tonight", until Tre Cool's crushing drums begin "*** Time". At this point we know this is a sex, drugs, and rock and roll party album, that's one hell of a ride. Our favorite immature 90s Green Day is (briefly) back. "Stop When The Red Lights Flash" is a fast paced Melodic-Punk joy ride."Lazy Bones" gives us a throwback to Pop-Punk songs of 90s Green Day like "She" and "Scattered", and is very welcome. "Wild One" is a bit predictable, but still manages to somehow work. "Makout Party" is where the Garage Rock shines the brightest, with an awesome, dirty bass line from Mike Dirnt. "Stray Heart" sounds like it could of come straight from the 60s, with a great bubble gum Pop chorus. "Ashley" begins startling, but puts you right in the middle of the 1980s California Punk scene. "Baby Eyes" swims between dark verses, and a hooky chorus."Lady Cobra, like "Makeout Party" is a heavier kick ass Rock and Roll song. "Nightlife" is a Rap-Rock song with vocals from rapper Lady Cobra. It's a hit or miss for listeners, but I found myself enjoying it. "Wow! That's Loud" is the rawest song Green Day's released in years, all for the better. The closer, "Amy" is a gorgeous tribute to the late Amy Winehouse. It's too bad these albums weren't more of a hit, because "Amy" is going to go down as one of the most overlooked songs ever. It seems like I'm one of the only people who has enjoyed these albums. They are indeed vastly over-hated. Stay tuned for reviews on "¡Uno!" and "¡Tre!".


user ratings (1008)
2.1
poor
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
January 14th 2014


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

shit album don't bother listening to uno and tres



shit review don't bother writing ones for uno and tres



this is ridiculous it's a tbt masquerading as a sound-off where you tell us literally nothing about the music just make five word vapid observations the only thing i've gotten from this review is



1. the tracklist

2. you really like the song amy, which is a tribute to amy winehouse (in what way? style? lyrics? you see what i mean about you're not giving us much?)



also you should learn the word 'have'

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
January 14th 2014


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

no offense btw i'm sure you're a nice person this is just really bad

KjSwantko
January 14th 2014


11662 Comments


"It's too bad these albums weren't more of a hit, because "Amy" is going to go down as one of the most overlooked songs ever"

ever

ever

ever

Son of Mr. Pain
January 14th 2014


25021 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is the worst of the trilogy. Uno is the only one I kind of like, but it's only because it's a pop record, and unfortunately, Green Day has become a pop band. If they embrace who they are now fully, they might can make some decent music again. Who knows?



On here, they are trying so hard to recapture their glory days, it hurts me to listen to. It stinks of desperation all throughout. This is easily my least favorite Green Day album.

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
January 14th 2014


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

yeah this was beyond shitty

FearThyEvil
January 14th 2014


17091 Comments


First sentence alone makes me laugh. You went listening to an with expectations? No shit

emprorzurg
January 14th 2014


566 Comments


Awesome review, I know now.....nothing about this album.
Review's worse than the album

Snake.
January 14th 2014


21823 Comments


You should do a sound-off trilogy rather than a review trilogy.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2014


4485 Comments


aziz laying down the LAW

in all seriousness, if you'd like some constructive feedback on how to make your next review better (if you appear at all), def shoutbox me

Green Baron
January 14th 2014


24899 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Tbt sound off. Neg'd

tightwadhill13
January 14th 2014


17 Comments


Jesus Christ people it was only my first review. If you're expecting ellaborately written literature go read a review from Pitchfork or something.

gnrcdstrtdpwrchrd
January 14th 2014


108 Comments


that comment is probably not a good idea...

jayz0ned
January 14th 2014


173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Accept constructive/destructive criticism, dude. You won't become a better writer if you don't listen to critics. The review is a little brief. If you stretched this to two or three paragraphs it would be alright.



As it is, it's a bit of a hard read because of the lack of structure.

Kalopsia
January 14th 2014


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"Jesus Christ people it was only my first review. If you're expecting ellaborately written literature go read a review from Pitchfork or something."





Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Pitchfork





just take the criticism and write a better review next time man. no one is saying to stop writing, just stop writing poorly.

Fredosaurus
January 14th 2014


8 Comments


I don't want to look forward to the review.

YoYoMancuso
January 15th 2014


12757 Comments


"Stay tuned for reviews on "¡Uno!" and "¡Tre!".


as you wish sir

EpicMangoMan
February 2nd 2014


52 Comments


For real?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy