David Bowie
Tonight


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheMystical USER (9 Reviews)
September 18th, 2013 | 17 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An eery Bowie classic.


This is a strange album. I don't have to delve deep into the music to find a sense of eeriness, hiding shyly beneath the glossy coat of 80s production and radio-friendly songwriting.

There is a dreamy quality about this album which is rather hard to pinpoint. Each of the songs are fairly conventional in their form, but the production and musical arrangement of each of the tracks give them a surreal texture that gives the album a dreamy aesthetic quality, which is the album's greatest merit. This is the kind of album that you need to own to truly appreciate. Hearing the first guitar arpeggios as the crackles of the vinyl slowly subside is truly a pleasure to any devout record collector.

This record has been maligned by many Bowie fans throughout the years, with criticisms that the album is an unimaginative money grabbing scheme. I personally feel that "Tonight" is unique among David Bowie albums, even with it's glossy 80s production and conventional songwriting. Bowie has always been praised for his genre-hopping, and this album is in fact no exception. "Tonight" explores a dimension of pop music that was previously undiscovered by Bowie.

The stand out track is "Loving the Alien". This is a Bowie track that easily ranks among his greatest. Not only does it serve it's purpose as a stand alone pop song, it also acts as a terrific album opener. Other stand out tracks are the upbeat and danceable "Blue Jean", which acts as somewhat of an interlude in the album, and the maligned "Don't Look Down", a reggae track that continues the eery vibes of "Loving the Alien".

Sure, this album may not be that "definitive plastic soul record", or that "innovative techno album", but the aesthetic qualities of this album deem it a worthy addition to your music collection.



Recent reviews by this author
Hawkwind In Search of SpaceHawkwind 25 Years On
The The Soul MiningSteve Hillage L
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsHawkwind Hawkwind
user ratings (426)
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
Tom93M (2)
Tonight we sigh with disappointment....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Emeritus
September 18th 2013


59912 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Bowie review sweet

tommygun
September 18th 2013


27112 Comments


bowie lives

Anthracks
September 18th 2013


8110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fairly underrated album

TwigTW
September 18th 2013


3939 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like it. It's fun, but you are a brave man to give it a four.

XingKing
September 18th 2013


16181 Comments


The mid 80's to mid 90's were not kind to Bowie

ArsMoriendi
April 22nd 2016


41314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album still holds up a lot better Let's Dance honestly

DoctorDoom
October 2nd 2016


2987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Blue Jean is so dang good.

StonesDoorsSabbath
October 24th 2018


20 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It has its moments, but I don't know how anyone could rate it above a three. For crying out loud, half of the songs are rehashed Iggy Pop songs (the rumor is that David was trying to help Iggy out financially), or other covers.

Daisy99
November 29th 2021


141 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Opener, Dont Look Down and Tonight are bangers but the rest is pretty miserable imo

Gyromania
March 28th 2022


37226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This did nothing for me after one spin. Gonna give it another try tho



ArsMoriendi
March 28th 2022


41314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I mean it's nothing special Bowie wise yeah

Gyromania
March 31st 2022


37226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you still think this holds up better than let's dance? because no lol. tumble and twirl and the opener are pretty good tho

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2024


61289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the gap between this and Let's Dance is about as gigantic as the gap between Let's Dance and Scary Monsters. God Only Knows cover might be the worst violation I've heard of a classic song this year jfc

AlexKzillion
March 5th 2024


17562 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

loving the alien saves this from being his worst album. by far the best song he released during that dreadful 84-93 period

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2024


61289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Loving the Alien is fine (as is Blue Jean thru I Keep Forgettin') - which bodes ominously if it really is a high watermark for that era - but everything else is impossibly awful jfc. That level of oversinging over that level of schmaltz ew ew ewwww. Don't even dislike his delivery per se, but those lifeless lifeless instrumentals curdle it like no one's business

+ reggae Bowie deserves its own circle of hell

AlexKzillion
March 5th 2024


17562 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

hahaha have you heard never let me down / black tie white noise??? its only downhill from here (tho black tie does have its defenders)



not to mention fucking tin machine oh man

ArsMoriendi
March 5th 2024


41314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I Keep Forgetting actually kinda rules but it’s on an album that doesn’t exactly allow it to shine



Tonight is prob the worst on here but honestly tracks 2-5 in general are a bummer



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy