Exciter
Heavy Metal Maniac


5.0
classic

Review

by satanwitchfinder USER (5 Reviews)
April 6th, 2013 | 28 replies


Release Date: 1983 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Listening to this album will make you a Heavy Metal Maniac

In 1983, a great new Canadian band named Exciter released their debut album called “Heavy Metal Maniac”. This must be one of the most metal sounding albums of all time. This is so metal it puts Manowar to shame. It is a fun and raw blend of speed metal and traditional metal. This album was influential to the development of thrash metal and Canadian metal in general.

The lineup was:
John Ricci on guitars
Alan Johnson on bass
Dan Beehler on drums and as vocalist

When you start the album, there will be an intro that sounds like wind blowing. Don't let this fool you, this album is pure speed metal, and if you wait long enough, the band starts playing. The band sounds wild and out of control on this album. Especially Dan, he's unstoppable on the drum kit and the mic. Unfortunately, Alan's bass is for the most part inaudible throughout the album, but John's guitar work alone is enough to satisfy. His guitar playing is very loud and very aggressive, and like Dan, he's crazy with his instrument the whole album.

The album mostly sounds like Ace Of Spades era Motorhead and Jaguar but with very gritty production. The production gives the album a raw and underground as well as a “metal” feel. Track 2 and 3 are nonstop speed metal anthems that don't let up throughout, it's as if though somebody gave Exciter steroids in the studio, crazy stuff. When track 4 starts playing, the album shifts more toward traditional Judas Priest-ish metal, but even then, the band doesn't let up. And at the end of the song, John kills your ears with one of the loudest guitar solos on a metal album.

After that, it's pretty much just speed metal and traditional metal throughout. It's not experimental or progressive in any way, it's just crazy, manic, raw, fun as hell heavy metal. Even though track 8 has acoustic guitars on it, it still cannot be considered a ballad. Exciter would continue to make great straightforward heavy metal albums throughout the 80's, but Heavy Metal Manic stands as the best example of their discography. If you are a fan of speed metal or even thrash with a raw edge and a street feel, then check this out soon.

Recommended tracks:
Stand Up And Fight
Heavy Metal Maniac
Blackwitch


user ratings (87)
3.9
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
evilford
April 6th 2013


45799 Comments


inb4 1 REVIEW PER DAY ASSHOLE

satanwitchfinder
April 6th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

How am I an asshole for contributing a review to the website? Isn't that the whole point? If I can't post more than one a day, that's ridiculous.

evilford
April 6th 2013


45799 Comments


nah honestly I don't have a problem w/ it but people get anal about it

Vakarian12
April 6th 2013


4091 Comments


people don't like it when you post lots of reviews per day as it knocks other people reviews off the front page is all. You've only got 2 though so not much of a problem

CaptainHadouken
April 6th 2013


1963 Comments


Sounds decent. Dude i've posted more than one review a day before. I don't do it often now due to time constraints with work and wanting to space out reviews, so i can see it from that point. Might check this later though.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2013


26098 Comments


Dude I see contributors submit 2 review a day ipodmastery has done it multiple times so I wouldn't worry about it.

Props for reviewing this not a 5 IMO but nice review pos

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2013


15154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Iconic release.

Auto-metal-pos.



Digging: Undeath - Lesions of a Different Kind

Wizard
April 7th 2013


20313 Comments


Sounds like I need to hear this. And who gives a fuck if you knock off a bunch of reviews from the front page.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2013


26098 Comments


this is pretty cool

evilford
April 9th 2013


45799 Comments


people taking me seriously itt

BigHans
April 9th 2013


30952 Comments


whoa bet this rules

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 9th 2013


26098 Comments


you'd love it Hans. I guess this was one of the first speed metal bands.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2013


12017 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"This is so metal it puts Manowar to shame."

No.



Otherwise, pretty good review of an influential album.

Digging: Winter?s Verge - The Ballad of James Tig

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 28th 2013


26098 Comments


sweet album

hikingmetalpunk
March 18th 2014


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

iron dogs m/

KILL
August 31st 2014


81241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

stand up and fight for the metal in your blood!

InFlamesWeThrash666
February 15th 2016


9859 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool album

Digging: Crippled Black Phoenix - Ellengaest

StrikeOfTheBeast
August 6th 2017


8382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You can't be a fan of thrash/speed metal without liking this record or at least recognizing its influence. Great album and loads of fun.

bloc
January 2nd 2018


63753 Comments


This is really good

Digging: NECRY TALKIE - ZOO!!

Donchivo
January 2nd 2018


1072 Comments


How does this fare compared to violence & Force? I love that one but never made it to jam this one...

Digging: Tamikrest - Taksera



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy