Dilute
The Gypsy Valentine Curve


2.0
poor

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
March 9th, 2013 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sorry Potsy

So I was assigned this album for Silentpotato's album reviewing game, and I've been dreading reviewing it because I kind of hate it. I know I should like it, I mean it's chock full of intense and all over the place guitar playing, a pounding rhythm section, and charismatic vocals that I seem to usually like, but for some reason Dilute's debut album turns out being much less than the sum of its parts.

Dilute are weird and abrasive, and it feels like they're trying too hard to make their music an unlistenable cacophony. Dilute play a similar brand of indie rock as bands like Built To Spill and Modest Mouse; the kind of indie that tend to have long songs with many parts and always ends up on the weird side of things. Dilute have everything those bands have, but manage to overdo all the elements that make these kinds of bands great.

Every song on Gypsy Valentine Curve is over five minutes long, with the final three tracks all crossing the ten minute mark. The first few tracks are enjoyable enough, but the last three tracks make for a truly exhausting album. A lot of the latter tracks just feel like jamming that goes on forever with no point. The musicianship is adept enough, but there's no emotional connection and it all feels like the band just doesn't know when to end songs.

Gypsy Valentine Curve is technically a good album, but by the end of it loses any appeal it once had by dragging on for way too long and I end up never wanting to listen to it again. Dilute have made quite the chore of an album with interesting parts popping up every now and again, but not nearly enough to make for an enjoyable listen.



Recent reviews by this author
Counterparts You're Not You AnymoreLil Uzi Vert Luv Is Rage 2
The Brave Little Abacus OkumayThe Brave Little Abacus Just Got Back from the Discomfort - It's Alright
The Brave Little Abacus Masked DancersMatt Aspinwall/The Brave Little Abacus Split
user ratings (21)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
LilLioness (3.5)
Marty Anderson is bonkers....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


55448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Short review for a very longwinded album

Digging: Lil Peep - Come Over When You're Sober

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2013


15884 Comments


treb, you're pretty alright so I won't neg this...

toxin.
March 8th 2013


12898 Comments


I'm gonna get in trouble from Aids et. all for pointing this out but:
"The kind of indie that tend to have long songs with many parts and always ends up on the weird side of things Dilute have everything those bands have, but manage to overdo all the elements that make these kinds of bands great."
There's a missing something in here. Comma before Dilute maybe? I don't know.

Anyways my album's indie-folk but I almost feel exactly the same about my album as yours, except there are enough moments to warrant probably a 3

Atari
Emeritus
March 8th 2013


22886 Comments


lol this needs some edits treb

Atari
Emeritus
March 8th 2013


22886 Comments


"they're trying to hard "

too hard

"and I end up never wanted to listen"

wanting

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


55448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

There was supposed to be a period there fuck typos and shit damn

toxin.
March 8th 2013


12898 Comments


Then that sentence is a fragment. ("The kind of indie...")
It seems it should have a comma or em dash before it. But it also conveys a full thought so I guess it's okay

Atari
Emeritus
March 8th 2013


22886 Comments


lol it happens to the best of us

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 8th 2013


55448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

semi coloned that shit

toxin.
March 8th 2013


12898 Comments


sweet pos'd

wait

YetAnotherBrick
March 8th 2013


6691 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aww this album rules



purty gewd review tho

mindleviticus
March 8th 2013


9228 Comments


Everything that claimed was bad about this is actually good

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2013


55448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I know man, on paper I should like this album

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 9th 2013


14927 Comments


ok review

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 9th 2013


55448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dude I jammed Boris and metal today

Yeah this review sucks

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 9th 2013


14927 Comments


im still gonna do mine ive been swamped at work which is the only time i sput hard

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 9th 2013


14927 Comments


having a life kills sput careers u wouldn't kno

toxin.
March 10th 2013


12898 Comments


"pretty much everyone followed through"
damn i'll definitely have mine up within the next 20 days or so lol, spring break will give me enough time to write

bakkermaarten007
March 10th 2013


5285 Comments


There's that one song of them that makes me tear up in joy.
"heaven, my heart gets in my way....so I rip it out every day" aaaah

EaglesBecomeVultures
March 10th 2013


5510 Comments


rec section is awful are those like the only bands you listen to dude?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy