Believer/Law
Contrition


4.0
excellent

Review

by kitsch USER (5 Reviews)
March 3rd, 2013 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: New EBM revival from Brooklyn, New York.

The years since 2009 have seen a new brilliant underground revival of post-punk. Most styles have gotten nice treatment; Lust for Youth play darkwave-esque synthpop, Blank Dogs are going lo-fi garage post-punk, Zola Jesus has made goth cool again. However, there is one related style that hasn’t really seen much of a revival, EBM. Basically the child of rhythmic synthpop and hard hitting industrial, EBM wasn’t that popular when it emerged and it hasn’t had much lasting influence outside of a dedicated fanbase. That’s why it’s so refreshing to hear Brooklyn act Believer/Law.

Some of the genre clichés that turn people off of EBM have been tastefully avoided here. This music does not sound overly “macho” and the vocals have been treated with electronic effects (as opposed to the sometimes overly dry vocals in 80s bands). While the music is minimal, the mix is not Spartan. There are plenty of layers here that mesh quite nicely. The warbling vocals seem to mimic the synth permutations. Each of the tracks has some distinct quality, despite sticking to the same formula. The title track, “Contrition” makes use of more “old school” sounding synthesizers and well placed blasts of fuzzy synth noise. The other song here, “The Task at Hand” is probably my preferred track. The vocals are sung in a more traditional verse rhythm, although they remain equally as unintelligible. The various synth parts exhibit a slowly evolving chord progression, which stands in stark contrast to the ferociously fast beat.

Released on the excellent Brooklyn label Robert & Leopold, Believer/Law’s debut “single” sold out upon release. A second pressing was made, and it sold out even faster. This is a band to watch, as they’re expanding the scope of the current underground revival that is way better than the one we had 10 years ago. If you’re interested, I would also check out the two member’s other projects, York Factory Complaint and EMP. They’re not EBM, but you’ll find plenty to like.

Both tracks can be streamed on their soundcloud.

https://soundcloud.com/believerlaw


user ratings (1)
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
kitsch
March 3rd 2013


5117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i took 15 minutes to review this shit so you guys better appreciate it

oubli
March 3rd 2013


67 Comments


Listening and this is fun, nice review

kitsch
March 3rd 2013


5117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the label, Robert & Leopold, has so much good shit on it.

TheSpirit
March 3rd 2013


27365 Comments


Not my type of music but i enjoyed the review

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2013


26239 Comments


Good review

Digging: The Hold Steady - Open Door Policy

kitsch
March 3rd 2013


5117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good i dont want any gay pos

Havey
March 3rd 2013


10299 Comments


good review, had me intrigued

the tracklisting over at discogs is different but i'm gonna assume that this is the correct one and that discogs got it wrong because they often do

Havey
March 3rd 2013


10299 Comments


also sensing some pride in that last paragraph when you're talking about how quickly this sold out lol i'm guessing you got a hold of a copy??

kitsch
March 3rd 2013


5117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

actually i didnt



slept on it too much



robert and leopold added me to their mailing list without me asking (guess im on so many my email got passed around). so i didnt jump on any of their releases, i was unsure of the quality. pissed i didnt get one though.

Graveyard
March 3rd 2013


6371 Comments


pretty good ebm

Aids
March 3rd 2013


24462 Comments


cool review, not sure this is my thing

I'd never heard of EBM before reading this review.

Insurrection
March 3rd 2013


24773 Comments


Omg i know about an electronic subgenre aids doesnt i never thought this day would come

Aids
March 3rd 2013


24462 Comments


congratulations

Cygnatti
March 4th 2013


34594 Comments


was hoping this was skramz :/

Digging: DJ Assault - Jungle Love

kitsch
March 4th 2013


5117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is more badass than skramz

kitsch
March 4th 2013


5117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sigh.. my reviews never get any attention

parksungjoon
January 19th 2021


28071 Comments


i know that feel bro

Digging: The Sisters of Mercy - Temple of Love / Heartland



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy