Entities
Aether


3.5
great

Review

by themyriad USER (4 Reviews)
January 6th, 2013 | 58 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aether tends to camp where Luminosity shined while also adding some breadth.

Last year Sacramento based band Entities released their debut EP Luminosity that was chalked full of junz, junz, and junz. If there’s one thing this band is remembered for, it’s their relentless execution of progressive style breakdowns. Each song is filled to the brim with their fair share of chugs and are either utilized correctly or create songs that feel a little too familiar. It’s apparent what the band relies on to add some flavor, but it’s becoming almost a crutch as Entities have done little to progress their sound. However, it’s undeniable that the group knows how to write some sick grooves.

It seems that Entities may be the number one band to use the progressive djent tone to their advantage as they utilize it more than any band in recent history. For those who have listened and enjoyed Luminosity, Aether will feel right at home. Ian Robertson takes the helm as a Stephen Keech (Haste the Day) sound-a-like with a growl that does not falter. There’s a certain display of power that makes his vocals feel welcome during the 25 minute juggernaut. Anthony Garrison, Cody Jarvis, and Phil Water handle guitar duties on the album (though I can only hear two guitars at most) while the drummer continues to be on cue with these breakneck riffs.

One element of metal Entities are not shy of in any form is their use of breakdowns. Songs are constantly shifting between grooves and while this may sound boring on paper, their guitar tone alone makes up for any lack. Amidst the bombardment of breakdowns is the accompaniment of a harmonious guitar to add much more dimension to what would otherwise be a very stale album. It more than often comes in the form of a delayed and echoed three to five note progression, but other times include some sweeping. This proves to be a good formula for Entities during most of the album, but certain songs feel like a rehashed version of Luminosity. “Ontogenesis” and “Lines of Descent” by themselves are in fact greatly crafted songs, yet the progression is almost identical to “Relative Theory” and the band uses the exact same tone which makes one wonder how much they’ve repeated from their first offering. Of course, both albums are pretty similar in musicianship, but with the increased production and slight differentiation ,Aether dodges following in it’s brother’s exact footsteps.

With another successful EP under their belt, Entities are gaining momentum in their respective genre. While there’s problems regarding a bit of it’s songwriting quality, Aether shows some progression. There’s only so long the band can utilize the same tricks before fans lose interest. Nevertheless, this album is stuffed full of great breakdowns, groovy riffs, and a load of bestial vocals.

3.5/5

FFO: Monuments, Circle Of Contempt, Northlane


user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
sailSAway (3.5)
Both the firmness of crushing metal shreds and the drifting of shapeless “entities”....


Comments:Add a Comment 
themyriad
January 6th 2013


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This ep is fun to listen to. They definitely had way better production this time, since Luminosity had some weird sounding drums.

taylormemer
January 6th 2013


4962 Comments


Sounds a bit eh.

Omeggia
January 6th 2013


198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Enjoyable but that's about it.. I agree with you though production is much better.

Pennywise_M
January 6th 2013


7490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I listened to Luminosity yday and it didnt do much for me. Ill check this soon. Good review

pizzamachine
January 6th 2013


14137 Comments


Okay album, nothing special.

Pennywise_M
January 6th 2013


7490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey Michael, you're not thinking about making a review for Luminosity are you? Cus if you're not, i might do it myself. I think im getting into it and i can drop some lines about it.

Pennywise_M
January 6th 2013


7490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Its like Reflections, just not as rough and more atmospheric. lol

themyriad
January 6th 2013


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I hadn't planned on it, go ahead! Yeah I wasn't able to get into Reflections for some reason.

Pennywise_M
January 6th 2013


7490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Neat bro. Just pos'd too, you funded your opinion well

themyriad
January 6th 2013


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks bro. I'll be waiting for your review of Luminosity so I can check it out.

mindleviticus
January 6th 2013


9597 Comments


sounds good

mindleviticus
January 6th 2013


9597 Comments


The vocals are really bad though

sspedding
January 6th 2013


5239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this sounds kinda cool I'll check it out.

Crustbugas
January 6th 2013


14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I dont understand why there is so much focus on the breakdowns, yes they are there... but there is also alot of soloing and focus on melody which i feel like you completely ignored in this review. The similarity between Luminosity and Aether is nowhere near as similar as you make it out to be.

themyriad
January 6th 2013


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's djent which is notorious for constant breakdowns and almost all melodies occurred within breakdowns. They ripped their own melody from Luminosity so I don't get how they are less similar. Don't get me wrong, I dig this album, but it's no 5.

themyriad
January 6th 2013


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3.5 felt generous for this album imo

Pennywise_M
January 6th 2013


7490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Amidst the bombardment of breakdowns is the accompaniment of a harmonious guitar to add much more dimension to what would otherwise be a very stale album. It more than often comes in the form of a delayed and echoed three to five note progression, but other times include some sweeping. This proves to be a good formula for Entities during most of the album, but certain songs feel like a rehashed version of Luminosity."



He didnt ignore that part crustbugas.



Pennywise_M
January 6th 2013


7490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Would you say this is about the same quality of Luminosity myriad?

themyriad
January 6th 2013


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think in general Aether is a progression from Luminosity. Songwriting felt more solid, more melodies, and the biggest change was production. Aether sounds much better.

themyriad
January 6th 2013


69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dig most if not all the tracks on both albums, it's just Aether does them slightly better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy