Galneryus
Advance To The Fall


4.0
excellent

Review

by FictionalFlames USER (64 Reviews)
September 6th, 2012 | 58 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After an amazing performance on their debut, Galneryus strikes back with just as much energy solidifying their signature brand of power metal.

The neo-classical power metal outfit from Osaka, Japan somewhere along the line can be described as stereotypical. The main reason why is because most of their sound is centered on shredding… from everyone. Needless to say, it isn’t mindless wankery. However, it can come off as that, mainly because most of their songs are very, very similar to each other in structure and style - though they can change it up a bit. What I’ve been noticing over the past few weeks is that Galneryus are one of those special bands that make the listener listen intently, especially if you’re getting into them. So my main advice is to take your time with Galneryus when looking into them. In this case, Advance to the Fall may not be a great introduction album as a whole, but it holds some of Galneryus’s best songs that are worth mentioning to get started on this band.

In Advance to the Fall we see a slowdown from their debut, though it does have clear energetic songs; there’s just a significant measure of upbeat songs compared to their debut. Having that said, Advance to the Fall also shows experimentations with slower paced riffs along with other sections that weren’t shown on their debut with songs like “Fate of the Sadness” and “The Scenery”, which will start a new approach in different songs in proceeding albums. But don’t get your hopes down just yet; the album still has upbeat and in-your-face songs like “Ancient Rage” which has Galneryus at its primetime on the album, regardless of the others. Though, other songs like “Silent Revelation”, “Quiet Wish”, or “Whisper in the Red Sky” still have awesome note worthy moments that are indisputable highlights in the album and the band’s discography.

Furthermore, the most enjoyable part of the album is its consistency. Even if some songs like “Fate of Sadness” have a bland structure, it’s still safe to say that the solos and the chorus is what saved the song from falling into the abyss of other generic power metal songs. Thankfully, songs like the before-mentioned are very limited in mass, because practically every song is catchy while being filled with interesting solos that dominate the song 60% of the time.

In conclusion, Advance to the Fall is another hard hitting album by Galneryus that has a numerous amount of classic Galneryus moments. The only problem I see with this album is due to the fact that not everyone will fully appreciate it for what it’s worth – metal heads and power metal fans alike, but in all due respect, it’s worth anyone’s time.

Recommended Songs:
Silent Revelation
Ancient Rage
Quiet Wish
Deep Affection



Recent reviews by this author
Galneryus VetelgyusEdguy Space Police - Defenders of the Crown
Powerwolf Preachers of the NightDark Tranquillity Construct
Gamma Ray Master of ConfusionStratovarius Nemesis
user ratings (100)
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
FictionalFlames
September 6th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tell me if i need to fix any mistakes I made that I didn't catch.

FictionalFlames
September 6th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the way how 5 other reviews just got posted right after mine..... I think it's a conspiracy.

RunOfTheMill
September 8th 2012


4515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I enjoyed your review a lot more than your last Galneryus one, much easier and nicer to read. One thing that irks me about your review is the second half of the second paragraph. You describe "Ancient Rage" as primetime, only on the basis that it's an upbeat and in-your-face song. As well, the last sentence doesn't really explain why you think those songs are good.



This is a great album, though. I really like "Silent Revelation"/"Ancient Rage", "Deep Affection" and "Dream Place". And you're totally right about the album having a great consistency. Even though it's 64 minutes long, I can listen to the album all the way through without getting bored.

FictionalFlames
September 8th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for your advice man.

FrozenVain
November 18th 2012


3043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Galneryus is a really awesome band and I'm really glad you did reviews for their albums so I could find them.

RunOfTheMill
December 7th 2015


4515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this one again, god it rules so hard

Casavir
June 19th 2018


5645 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

2005 was such an incredible year in retrospect. Order and Punishment, The Scream That Tore the Sky, Advance to the Fall, Broken History, Words That Go Unspoken..., Avatism, Neurotripsticks, Ghost Reveries, etc. It was just firing on all cylinders.

RunOfTheMill
June 19th 2018


4515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not a year I've delved into very much, but now that you mention it, I've got a lot of favourites from 2005 as well, probs more than any other year since 2000

Meridiu5
June 19th 2018


4170 Comments


fun band. such a shame about yama b

samwise2000
April 11th 2019


1868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best Galneryus album

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2019


18960 Comments


Band rules

I'm checking backwards. All their stuff between Ultimate Sacrifice and VETELGYUS is great


samwise2000
April 11th 2019


1868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah! They have two very distinct eras, the era with Sho and the era with Yama B. Both are great, but also very distinct from one another.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2019


18960 Comments


Yeah the singer right?

I dig their over the top, somehow cosmic, vibe.
Their music is more interesting than most European bands.

New Syu is also great.

Meridiu5
April 11th 2019


4170 Comments


Nice bump

i miss yama b’s style personally. Not sure why he left, what hes doing now doesnt seem too engaging.

samwise2000
April 12th 2019


1868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, i really love the roughness in his vocals. The remade versions of the Yama B tracks on The Ironhearted Flag compilations really don't cut it for me, since Sho's voice doesnt capture the same passion that Yama B's voice did in the original tracks.



Also regarding Yama B's departure here's a quote from an interview:

"From the very beginning Syu and I had different opinions on what constituted a good melody. Syu was a fan of Japanese rock bands from the 80's and 90's, such as X-JAPAN, whereas I preferred anime songs from 70's and 80's and I also listened to a lot of American and European heavy metal.



In the beginning our different tastes were not much of a problem, however with each new release the differences intensified. At some point, instead of doing music we loved, the band started to chase after new sounds, trying to sound new and modern. Syu in particular has this quality that makes him chase new inspirations in the spur of the moment, forgetting completely about the background, style and the concept so far. With me, it's quite the opposite--I'm a guy who likes to stick to a certain set of rules, concepts. I also consider what the fans expect. Their support is really precious to me.



Considering that both Syu's spontaneous approach has its sense and point, and my own attitude has its value, I decided that instead of us pushing against each other and trying to impose our ideas on each other, it's best to split so that we can both have a chance to be free to realize our own visions and do our own things."

http://www.jame-world.com/us/articles-95206-interview-with-yama-b.html

Ryus
April 12th 2019


37245 Comments


thanks for listening to my band guys

Meridiu5
April 12th 2019


4170 Comments


cheers, mate m///

Saros
April 18th 2019


409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A friend of mine really likes Whisper in the Red Sky, so I decided to check this out. Some pretty good stuff.

samwise2000
April 18th 2019


1868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whisper is definitely one of my favorite Galneryus tracks, your friend has good taste!

decisions
November 5th 2019


1099 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Absolute classic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy