Six Feet Under
Haunted


3.5
great

Review

by uglyzip USER (3 Reviews)
September 4th, 2012 | 21 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: F**k n' Brutal

Six Feet Under is a band that doesn't get too much attention, despite the fact that the band's founding (and only constant) member is ex Cannibal Corpse lead singer, Chris Barnes.

Formed in 1993 as a side project while Barnes was still in Cannibal Corpse, Six Feet Under are a lyrically less brutal, groovier alternative to your average death metal band…and it's pretty sweet. Don't be fooled when I say that their lyrics are a less brutal though, we still got stuff about murder, blood n' guts and all that, but it's just not….you know…"I cum blood" or "Entrails Ripped from a Virgins Cunt". Also Barnes' Vocals are a lot easier to understand here compared to his Corpse days, adding a bit of grittiness to the rumbling low frequencies of his voice. The rest of the band deliver an adequate performance, but never really excel beyond that, musically this is pretty standard metal.

Basically what this album consists of is standard brutality with nice little, dare i say "catchy" hooks. Keeping it simple but adding in sweet tempo changes/drum fills/guitar rhythms etc to keep you interested. The intro song "The Enemy Inside" kicks a fair amount of undead ass, with a singular bass note fading out and shifting up a gear when the drums jump in. "Silent Violence" is one of my favourites with it's overall grittiness and awesome chorus."Suffering in Ecstasy" sort of has a rock n' roll feel to it and is, along with the intro one of the faster songs on the album. In fact apart from "The Enemy Inside" and "Suffering in Ecstasy" the album keeps the tempo of its songs pretty tame. So tame that there isn't a blast beat to be found, but hey, it totally works.

Overall this album doesn't bring anything new to the massive table that is the death metal genre (apart from slowing things down a fair bit), but it is a very solid record. I can't even say that it has any truly bad songs on it, just songs that are average but enjoyable. I recommend this to anyone into death metal that wants something new to add to their collection.


user ratings (192)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
uglyzip
September 3rd 2012


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My first review, criticism is welcome cause you know....I do wanna improve n shit

uglyzip
September 3rd 2012


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah they're pretty good, I like em more than Cannibal Corpse

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 4th 2012


8013 Comments


Good review, pos.



I say that they're lyrics are a less brutal though

I say that their lyrics are less brutal though

Digging: Suffering Quota - Life In Disgust

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2012


16041 Comments


don't put your rating at the end, it looks dumb with your rating being in bold red at the top, good review though

Digging: Chester Watson - Project 0

uglyzip
September 4th 2012


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers Voivod for the pos, I corrected that grammar error too. got rid of the rating at the end as well.



Yeah I never liked Chris' vocals back in the day, but this has grown on me

KILL
September 4th 2012


81232 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

their only good album

TheLast7thVermicide
September 4th 2012


186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Until 1999 they were tolerable, but their 00's albums and of course the graveyad classics are a crime against humanity itself.

Shuyin
September 4th 2012


13346 Comments


'yeah they're pretty good, I like em more than Cannibal Corpse'

ima get my chainsaw, brb

Digging: The Ocean - Phanerozoic I: Palaeozoic

YUJOS
September 4th 2012


1010 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lycanthropy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Digging: Esoctrilihum - Inhu?ma

Madbutcher3
September 4th 2012


2252 Comments


Haven't listened to this band properly due to the reputation of their 00s albums :P
Decent review anyway.

YUJOS
September 4th 2012


1010 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^ Check their first 3 albums Madbutcher. I think you 'll like them.

BlackLlama
September 4th 2012


2177 Comments


their only good album

Truth. And Silent Violence is one of the few tracks I still spin....

LudsWig
September 4th 2012


254 Comments


stopped reading after the summary

Madbutcher3
September 4th 2012


2252 Comments


New album is so bland I cried man.


LudsWig
September 4th 2012


254 Comments


so is this

Fozzie
March 31st 2013


504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This album is pretty much Obituary groove metal with Barnes on vocals. That is in part to Allen West playing on this album, who is the former guitarist of Obituary.



It's not bad, but it's not great either.



Barnes' is still at the top of his game here. In 1997 his voice started to go... He should have stuck with a Death metal band for his last few years.



The drummer and the groove style riffs are what makes this band so bland.



They actually have a good lineup now, but Barnes' voice is shot.

JigglyPDiddy
March 15th 2016


3335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This was one of the first metal records I ever listened to as a kid no joke. A lot of nostalgia for this.

oltnabrick
September 12th 2018


36184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sounds like later Obituary with Chris Barnes on vocals

Digging: Evoken - Hypnagogia

Hawks
September 12th 2018


62226 Comments


Have not jammed a single thing this band has done.

Digging: Douglas Pipes - Monster House

oltnabrick
September 12th 2018


36184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is the only one worth listening to but you arent missing much here either lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy