Don Broco
Priorities


3.5
great

Review

by Sevendave USER (4 Reviews)
August 14th, 2012 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don Broco certainly got their Priorities spot on with this release.

Don Broco are a band that already has a reputation as a great live band, with cult classics such as 'Dreamboy' & 'Thug Workout' helping them too gain this fantastic live reputation.

They have already released an EP, called 'Big Fat Smile', which was well received on the underground circuit, but recently they have begun to break out onto the mainstream scene, gaining momentum and quite the following - before their debut CD is even released!.

So onto the album itself and three things are evident, the first the songs are mainly punchy and straight to the point, secondly these songs are very catchy and made to be sung in a live environment. Thirdly this is an album simply jam packed with anthems. If you like your music with memorable hooks and huge choruses then this will fit the bill perfectly as the songs become embedded in your head, and stay there for the long run.

Take lead single and opening song 'Priorities' as an example. A typical bro's before hoe's tune here as Don Broco recall a pastime about a friend who changed when he met a girl. Confronting the issues straight up by singing, 'Mate, do you know how much you've changed, where's my buddy I was hanging out with yesterday"'.

The album continues in the same catchy and punchy fashion after 'Priorities'. With tongue in cheek lyrical content and infectious choruses (such as 'Hold on, hold on, something fishy's going on', found on the track 'Hold On'). A future single for sure.

'Whole Truth' is another album highlight, the topic of this song is about a friend who cheated on his partner, but she is yet to find out. So as the song states 'The whole truth, would break your heart'. They hit the nail on the head with this song. With it's memorable tune and lyrics playing off against one another.

As the album goes on, each song has a distinct but fresh sounding vibe to it. For example, 'Fancy Dress' is probably the albums heaviest track with a thunderous riff and vocal patterns to fit. Very different from say, the acoustically driven vibe of 'Yeah Man'.

Speaking of showcasing different styles and vibes, the albums longest and slowest track track 'You Got It Girl', solidifies itself by doing just that. If this isn't meant to be an encore song at one of Don Broco's shows then I don't know what is. The song has a mellow build up then bursts into life towards the end. Another emphasis on the variation of musical genres covered here. With all these songs passing by it is easy for some songs to get lost in the mix. One of these songs is 'Back In The Day'. A song inspired while reminiscing about the past no doubt.

Album closer and second single 'Actors' could have easily opened up this record, as it kicks straight into business with Rob Damiani stating 'I've seen quite a bit, but this really takes the biscuit'. The album starts as it ends, on a high with a bang and leaves you wanting more, which is what the repeat button is for!.


user ratings (76)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
schoonda
August 14th 2012


1425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really have been keen to check this out

Digging: colourblind - Move Like You

ZedO
August 14th 2012


1096 Comments


gotta check this out

NorwichScene
August 14th 2012


2698 Comments


Interesting review. Still got to listen to this, heard a lot of good things about them. They don't look like a band if you know what I mean (posh kids/no tattoos etc)

Do you know how they met? At an X-Factor audition!! Good luck to them

Shiduba
August 14th 2012


424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Heard the first single and thought it was really good, going to give this one a listen straight away.

Shiduba
August 14th 2012


424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Or I WOULD give it a listen, if I could find a full album stream somewhere. Ugh.

mitch91
August 14th 2012


420 Comments


Never really listened to the band, but I read this could get into the Top 10 in the UK, absolute madness!

Sevendave
August 14th 2012


33 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@NorwichScene, I think you are getting them mixed up with someone else maybe?, they all met at school and have known each other for years.



Thank you for your kind words about my review. & Yeah they just look like a bunch of normal lads.

Sevendave
August 14th 2012


33 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@mitch91 - Yeah I heard this could break the UK top 10 as well. That would surely excel them and make them become very popular. I was actually surprised that I was the first one to review this.

thumbcrusher
August 14th 2012


3761 Comments


i heard a lot about these guys and heard several of their songs but i didn't really dig it.

they sound like they should do very well though.



schoonda
August 18th 2012


1425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

had a first listen and gotta say its pretty impressive, liking it a lot!

IfYouRun
October 21st 2012


311 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good album. Hadn't checked them out before I saw them support Lower Than Atlantis recently, and they had me converted in seconds. SUCH a good band live.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2012


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

English alt-rockers Don Broco look to add a unique element to what is otherwise a well-worn sound on their debut LP 'Priorities'. And they don't do a bad job, with infectious melodies that are bouncy, spiky & quirky throughout these 36 minutes. While the quartet's tongue-in-cheek lyrics straddle the line between immaturity & downright fun, it is simply another ingeredient which adds to the band's idiosyncratic personality. There is real mainstream potential here, but at the very least, the tunes contained on this promising - if a little front-loaded - debut will definitely go down a treat live. Recommended Tracks: Yeah Man, Hold On, Fancy Dress & Priorities.

Tyrael
November 15th 2012


21112 Comments


keep reading this as don broccoli...

nononsense
October 23rd 2013


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The new song, You Wanna Know, is their best song yet.

codhead
May 6th 2015


10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The lyrics and vocal delivering kill this record for me. I think it's an absolute joy to listen to- it's mega catchy, and instrumentally it's brilliant. But hot damn, some of the lyrics are so silly; it's just like it's purposefully forcing itself to appeal 100% to the British young-adult stereotype of guys who like going out and telling stories of parties and getting pissed and making out with random chics. It's a shame because the music is so intelligent yet the lyrics are so stupid dumb.

xiLeadFeather
February 13th 2017


340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still absolutely in love with this album.

schoonda
November 12th 2018


1425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

every time I return to this I'm always surprised at how solid it is



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy