Memphis May Fire
Challenger


4.5
superb

Review

by TheLycan USER (4 Reviews)
August 10th, 2012 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Not holding anything back this time with the lyrics, you guys." - Matty Mullins.

Well wow. An album has never flown by as quickly as this superb masterpiece has. Clearly Memphis May Fire has come a long way, blending different forms of metal to a southern sound, a heavier sound and pretty much any form of sound they want. Matty has always wrote his lyrics passionately, backed by very elite singing and screaming to bring out his emotion. Not to mention the instruments aren't there to fill in the gaps. They have always backed his emotion with extreme brutality or the perfect amount of synth and passion. There aren't any filler songs here, guys.

You can recognize Matty's sincerity in Without Walls, fully accepting the mistakes he's made and pressing on. You could say this album is his autobiography. Every song is mixed perfectly, and they all lead right into the next seamlessly. Rise Records actually has a fantastic band signed to them, if you compare Memphis to the rest of their bands that is. You can hear some of their southern roots in the solo on Alive in the Lights, along with Matty's passion to voice his story. Prove Me Right opens with the wonderful guitar work you will hear throughout the whole album. Prove Me Right voices how Memphis May Fire, as a band, were screwed over when previously signed to Trustkill records, not receiving any payment from them whatsoever. Red In Tooth And Claw is one of the highlights in the album. It's almost got it all actually: a southern sound, head-banging breakdowns, layered guitar that is absolutely pulled off wonderfully, and it opens with a nice drum fill from their own Jake Garland. Let's not forget that chorus! Vices, the 5th song on the album, has a more The Hollow/Between the Lies sound, for fans of their previous, less southern work. And that's a great thing. Matty expresses how guilty one would feel by living a life under the influence, not letting anyone in to love.

Speaking of Matty, let me note that his vocals have never been better. They've actually never been bad either. But it seems with each album they drop, he only improves. The same could be said for the rest of the band as a whole. Musically, they understand each other perfectly, backing each and every instrument and lyric to make sure that the listener feels how they want you to feel. Legacy is such an encouraging song, with Matty's expressive lyric: "Lift up your eyes discouraged one." This album features two guest vocalists: Sleeping with Sirens' Kellin Quinn and Asking Alexandria's Danny Worsnop. Miles Away features Kellin Quinn, and he backs up the emotion that Matty has expressed in his lyrics wonderfully. If you haven't already, you really start to respect Matty after hearing Miles Away. Jezebel is a highlight for Matty's vocals. In the chorus, his voice hits the mark too perfectly. It's a nice little surprise too for those who like his cleans over his screams, and for those who noticed the Easter egg to The Hollow. Losing Sight features Danny Worsnop, who hits the aggressive mark. His screams are top notch, although I wasn't the biggest on his cleans. But then again, it is a challenge to top Matty's vocals.

Going out on Generation: Hate and Vessels, I believe Memphis May Fire have hit whatever mark they were aiming for. And that mark was very high. Challenger has sold more than any other Rise Records album, if this review didn't tell you anything. For every song that is on this album, every emotion is met masterfully, showing the maturity in the band, and it is worth noting that every song is memorable. You can't pass this one up.

Recommended song:
Every single one of them.


user ratings (668)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
August 10th 2012


56679 Comments


Just as the space shuttle of the same name did back in the day, Challenger crashes and burns hard

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
August 10th 2012


16140 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

ha death is funny...anyway since Tides of Man left the label Rise now has only two good bands, The Color Morale and DGD. These guys' high dive into genericore has made them not good, regardless of how talented they actually are. Tis a cryin shame it is...

simonpettersen
August 10th 2012


273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review seems a bit fanboy-ish

JackSparrow
August 10th 2012


1686 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh man I disagree so much. Rise has way more than 2 good bands are you joking? The Early November, Transit, Make Do and Mend, Misser, DGD, Hot Water Music, and I like some Of Mice & Men. This album is embarrassing for Memphis May Fire, they can do better

ILJ
August 10th 2012


6941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Oh man I disagree so much. Rise has way more than 2 good bands are you joking? The Early November, Transit, Make Do and Mend, Misser, DGD, Hot Water Music, and I like some Of Mice & Men. This album is embarrassing for Memphis May Fire, they can do better

"



This. Although I haven't heard Misser yet, I'll have to check them out.



Although I didn't find this album embarrassing, they can definitely do better. Needs more southern riffing and less generic as fuck breakdowns.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
August 10th 2012


16140 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I should've added that I haven't really listened to Hot Water Music...the rest of those are boo boo imo

JackSparrow
August 10th 2012


1686 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Not to promote my review or anything, but a lot went wrong here.

Check out their new album "Exister" Calc

ILJ
August 10th 2012


6941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Man how could you not like Make Do and Mend? Even my girlfriend likes them a ton.



Hot Water Music is pretty great. I would add Caution in addition to Exister.

Azn.
August 10th 2012


5632 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

God-fucking-damnit, the amount of cock-suck people give this album pisses me off.



Does anyone who like this album listen to their old stuff at all?

mindleviticus
August 10th 2012


9763 Comments


Teh Hollow was better

JackSparrow
August 10th 2012


1686 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album deserves very little cock-suck

TheLycan
August 10th 2012


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's not so much fan boy as it is respect. The amount of work and passion that was put into this album destroys its flaws, which are few. Respect...something a lot of critics have forgotten about while on their campaign of judgement. The Hollow is better, and in retrospect this album deserves a 4, not a 4.5. His lyrics are a little weaker than they were on The Hollow and Between the Lies. But it is basically an autobiography, which SHOULD be respected by others because it takes a lot to overcome ones problems, and then tell the whole world about it. Let alone 10 songs about that one persons problems. Thank you however for your all's honesty and for looking over my review.

ConcubinaryCode
August 10th 2012


4647 Comments


surprised the rating for this album is so high.

JackSparrow
August 10th 2012


1686 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I didn't neg, just don't agree with you. I dig Matt and respect him but I can't help but feel he purposefully made the lyrics subpar just to please their growing "sceney" audience. I only liked the lyrics to Without Walls

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
August 10th 2012


16140 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"Respect...something a lot of critics have forgotten about while on their campaign of judgement."



Bands can't coast by on respect when they're not putting out good music, otherwise Metallica would still be huge...

Azn.
August 12th 2012


5632 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I can respect Matty for his problems, I can respect him for his talent, but I can't respect this band for going in the same direction all the genericore bands and dropping everything that made them unique along the way.

Azn.
August 12th 2012


5632 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

*as all the genericore bands



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy