Everyone Asked About You
Everyone Asked About You


3.5
great

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
July 27th, 2012 | 36 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: So that's where Football, etc. got their sound

Everyone Asked About You were a little female led 90's emo band from Little Rock, Arkansas of all places that released this EP, and a few other songs and then broke up. You probably knew this tale before I even wrote it considering it is a very common path in the 90's emo community. They had a lot going for them with a nice female singer to help them stand out and some nice twinkly guitars to whet the emo community's appetite. It's a shame the band broke up because Everyone Asked About You is a short and enjoyable teaser for a full length album that unfortunately never came.

Everyone Asked About You sound like a typical emo band, twinkly guitars, out of tune vocals, rough production, etc. What sets them apart for the most part are the female vocals and a touch of keyboard. For a genre that gets a bad rep for being girly it's surprisingly a mostly boys club, so having a female singer really does make the band distinct. Everyone Asked About You consists of four upbeat emo tracks mostly about relationships and such. There's some nice keyboard in a couple of the tracks, there's also a part where they sing their band name in one of the songs which I get a kick out of. With only four tracks and a running time of eleven minutes there is a lot to be desired, that being said it's still a great EP.

Everyone Asked About You are nothing special, they didn't release much material and fell into obscurity. Who knows what they could have accomplished if they hadn't broken up, but they did break up and this is all we get. Everyone Asked About You is a lovely little gem of an EP in an almost endless catalogue of unknown 90's emo albums.



Recent reviews by this author
Misery Signals UltravioletCovet technicolor
Soccer Mommy Color TheoryTiny Moving Parts Breathe
State Faults ClairvoyantOvero Overo
user ratings (77)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


57535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Written for Weeping's random review album game, also for Abadelle

This review is short and terrible cuz I didn't have much to say, sorry about that

Digging: Bladee x ECCO2K - Remote Utopias

YankeeDudel
July 27th 2012


9342 Comments


why do emo bands have the dumbest names



Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


57535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cuz twinkles kill brain cells, I've been listening for years and just look at me now

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


57535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I played you sucka

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


57535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Captain

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


57535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What are you saying

Acanthus
July 27th 2012


9812 Comments


Will try this out, nice to see another review from you too.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


57535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks buddy, I'm trying to get one out every three days so you should see a lot more of me

MMX
July 27th 2012


5014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this needed a review pos

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


3046 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9

So stoked to see this reviewed, even if I disagree with your assessment somewhat.



Also their long-lost LP was recently unearthed and remastered, it's pretty baller

Digging: Love, Claire - Love, Claire

Adabelle
July 27th 2012


4425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yessssss, pos'd hardddd. Also agree with Winesburg, elite emo shiz



Sweet dig MMX

bakkermaarten007
July 27th 2012


5285 Comments


Good review, but I can't yet pos because I have a problem with this sentence:
"Everyone Asked About You sound like a TYPICAL emo band, TWINKLY GUITARS, out of tune vocals, rough production, etc. "
Although they do have the 'twinkly guitar' sound going, the 90's emo bands' sound wasn't defined with twinkly guitars, there's loads of bands to be found that preferred distortion over 'twinkles'.

TheFonz123
July 27th 2012


2793 Comments


love this band

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2012


57535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is the new album out yet or what?

Aids
July 27th 2012


24462 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is tits

Jash
July 28th 2012


4249 Comments


Good review man, I'll have to check this out

treeqt.
August 10th 2014


16970 Comments


just between me and you

Adabelle
August 11th 2014


4425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also me

treeqt.
August 11th 2014


16970 Comments


no

ShitsofRain
August 11th 2014


8241 Comments


Eldritch Anisette >

: D



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy