Dizzy Wright
Smokeout Conversations


3.5
great

Review

by itshenry130 USER (2 Reviews)
April 21st, 2012 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Once again, Dizzy Wright has proven he is more than your average weed rapper.

If you haven't listened to Dizzy Wright before, perhaps now is the time to. The Vegas born MC has dropped five mixtapes in the past but only now, after a move to Funk Volume, home of Hopsin, is he starting to gain mainstream attention. This album, 'SmokeOut Conversations' is more of the same from Dizzy but a breath of fresh air in the rap industry.
What is remarkable about Dizzy is he is able to continuously talk about weed and yet still supply some great lyrics - sometimes even both on the same track. You may notice this a lot and combined with some great beats on 'Get Back', 'Solo Dolo', '*** Your Opinion' and others, you soon have yourself an album packed with some real bangers. Of course, Dizzy sometimes trades lyrics for flow in songs such as 'Can't Trust'em' but the quality of these tracks is still very high.
Another highlight is 'Accept My Flaws pt. II', a sequel to a great track off Dizzy's most recent mixtape. The rapper proves his storytelling ability with a verse each for the male and female counterparts of a dysfunctional relationship. This version has a much more emotional feel to it rather than just the two people listing their own faults and the beat is far superior to match.
The features on this album are sparing but impressive - two spots for the soulful voice of Chelle and one for Funk Volume labelmate SwizZz, who packs a whole verse of punchlines on 'Who Want It'
The only downside to the album is you may get a little tired of all the weed talk. Having two tracks dedicated to pot on one album ('Local Weed Man' and 'Who Got The Chronic') is a little much to be dealing with, especially if you don't smoke yourself.
Overall I thought this was a superb debut album for a 21 year old with a long way to go in his music career. If you want to support Dizzy and Funk Volume, an independant label with no corporate backing, then buy this album today.


user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Counterfeit
April 21st 2012


17837 Comments


"The only downside to the album is you may get a little tired of all the weed talk. Having two tracks dedicated to pot on one album ('Local Weed Man' and 'Who Got The Chronic') is a little much to be dealing with, especially if you don't smoke yourself."

Ahahahaha

Tupik
April 22nd 2012


680 Comments


that was funny

metalent
April 22nd 2012


33 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i found this to be a pretty good album. only song i found to want to skip was "Who Got The Chronic" just because there wasn't much going on in the song to be 5 minutes long.

makaveli5196
May 5th 2012


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't love the whole first five songs the first time I listened to it but what you guys don't understand is if you don't like the songs like who got the chronic just skip them. It may seem long and boring to you but when I get high that song is a must hear now and the first five songs are a nice trip too. Its got so many songs its got a full cd for non smokers and then the whole twenty or what ever songs is a great trip for a weed smoker. It caters to both if you don't smoke just skip.

Counterfeit
May 5th 2012


17837 Comments


haahahaahahaha kids these days

DotEight
May 30th 2012


5704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't Trust Em is fucking awesome. Other than that, it's like a slow R&B album.



"Hold up, did a nigga just swag like that? Hat to the back, Gucci backpack, spitting crack on these

lil' niggas spittin' facts like that? Comin' out the gate with a rap like that? He cold nigga that's a

fact".

DotEight
May 30th 2012


5704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Someone conversate on this album with me.

DotEight
May 30th 2012


5704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQZX3Av64-c

DotEight
June 7th 2012


5704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't Trust 'Em is so raw. I wish someone would recognize.

makaveli5196
November 11th 2012


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wanna change my review. I only listened to this a few times when I wrote it I hadn't really heard the album. With every lyric heard and comprehended this is way better than I though originally. Slow R&B? You must be skipping a lot of songs. Who got the chronic is for the smokers so smoke and listen then judge but Local Weed Man is a great song lyrically I enjoy it sober very much. This album is so technical and so intelligent and well produced, it's honestly one of if not my favorite album so far in this decade. From song one to the killer song 16 this album is great. Get it together is the most intelligent song with the most lessons and intelligent statements. This is a classic in my opinion.

DotEight
December 3rd 2012


5704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Hold up did a nigga just swag like that? Hat to the back, Gucci backpack spittin' crack on them lil niggas spittin facts like that? Comin' out the gate with a rap like that? He cold nigga that's a fact"

noworldforeric
January 3rd 2013


43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Local Weed Man and Solo Dolo are crack.

thacoconut94
September 30th 2014


1497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

very very enjoyable album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy