Horn
Jahreszeiten


5.0
classic

Review

by CaptainDooRight USER (93 Reviews)
January 27th, 2012 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Black Metal----Don't Pass It Up

One man band's can be an intimate and great way to hear musical control by one artist. Nerrath, being the sole member of Horn, writes Pagan Black Metal. He's got two demos and four full length LP's. After its inception in 2002, Horn eventually releases its first LP entitled Jahreszeiten.

This album is an overall mellow and enjoyable ride that focuses on melancholic emotion, with passive aggression. Musicianship is solid and holds all the necessary ingrediants with regard to tremolo's, drum blast beats, and varying tempos. There is a good deal of fuzz on the guitars but is done with better than kvlt production.

On track 3 you will notice melodic war induced harmonies that are not overdone. The fuzz fits well as the drums drive in you. Blast beats flair. Track 4 starts with a bass like horn sound then riffs enter with a beautiful swaying melody, which is very pagan like. The swaying continues as the song picks up tempo supported by blast beats, then drops again. The emotion is never lost.

Good songwriting and production fits music well. Good album length and a great effort for a first release. Downsides being no popping moments and can be a little cruise control like.

Track 6 and self titled track Horn, features clean vocals for the first time. This is decent BM to be enjoyed by atmosphere lovers. Short and Sweet as usual.



Recent reviews by this author
Dropped Flyer Electronic CigaretteAbacus Abacus
Van der Graaf Generator Pawn HeartsFinch (NL) Beyond Expression
Orwell AVOHFASIHOdyssey (USA) An Abstract Existence
user ratings (18)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
related reviews

Naturkraft

Turm am Hang
recommended by reviewer
Kvlt Gardens

Comments:Add a Comment 
Beachcoma
January 26th 2012


526 Comments


Breathtaking review, this line right here is my ultra favorite:

The fuzz fits well as the drums drive in you.

Acanthus
January 26th 2012


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love this album, nice to see it reviewed.



You've got this penchant for writing sentence fragments :/

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
January 26th 2012


19975 Comments


bro, im sure everyone has been telling you this but jesus, expand your ideas a little bit. youre reviews have less to say than most soundoffs.

fulgrim
January 26th 2012


1542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really nice album, great to see it getting some attention.

Acanthus
January 26th 2012


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm planning on getting the other three albums eventually, luckily this one is superb enough until

then.

seedofnothing
January 26th 2012


3425 Comments


Looks like this could be interesting.

Acanthus
January 26th 2012


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you like atmospheric black metal than yeah, this is good.

itchy
January 27th 2012


247 Comments


Short and sweet, but here's a few grammatical and spelling things to take care of.

"One man band's..." is possessive, you mean "One man bands..."
"melancholic emotion, with passive aggression" - no comma needed here
"ingrediants with regard to tremolo's" - ingredients. And again with the possessive, "tremolos".
"Good songwriting and production fits [the] music well" - missing article
"Track 6 and self titled track[,] Horn, features" - comma

Other than that, you use a lot of language that ought to be hyphenated to make it read better, such as
"better-than-kvlt production."
"melodic war-induced harmonies" - also I don't think induced is the word you were looking for.
"a bass-like horn sound"
"cruise-control-like."

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 27th 2012


4395 Comments


Cool writing. Dude.

Digging: Causa Sui - Vibraciones Doradas

Pankar95
December 20th 2012


168 Comments


Sh!t I'm normally not into BM at all but some dude i have subbed at Youtube uploadaed this and i have to say the tracks I've heard so far are amazing.

50iL
August 27th 2017


4419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

H O L Y. S H I T.

Digging: Supercell - Today is a Beautiful Day

Hawks
October 18th 2017


52279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This rulez.

Digging: The Body and Full Of Hell - Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light

Dinosaur
October 18th 2017


1122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Niiice

FullOfSounds
October 18th 2017


15611 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

not my kind of BM at all, rip. i feel kinda bad about being the only negative score lol

Digging: Hannah Diamond - Pink and Blue

Dinosaur
October 18th 2017


1122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can def see why people wouldn't like this. FWIW, The songwriting is top notch.

Hawks
October 18th 2017


52279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I could also see why, it's not for everyone.

50iL
October 19th 2017


4419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It’s so good tho



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy