Solar Fields
Leaving Home


4.5
superb

Review

by StrangerofSorts STAFF
January 6th, 2012 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An immense, astrological voyage.

Since his debut LP in 2001, Solar Fields (the pseudonym of Swedish ambient producer and multi-instrumentalist, Magnus Birgersson) has been nothing if not active. With 9 full-length solo releases, numerous collaborations with contemporaries such as Aes Dana and a plethora of video-game and film scores to his name Solar Fields, by all rights, should be a well-recognised name by now. That he is not remains a mystery, as it's certainly not due to any lack of quality in his work. As it was as far back as his 3rd solo release that Solar Fields, up to the point still finding his feet, really established himself as such a sought after composer.

What makes Leaving Home so special is that it's the full realisation of Magnus' borderline obsession with creating "an evolving dream". Something with a clear sense of progression, which slowly unfurls as the listener travels its length. As the title suggests, in part it is about abandoning the focus on your own surroundings and surrendering yourself to what promises to be an immense, astrological voyage into the unknown.

And “immense” certainly is the word for it. Solar Fields places his multitude of layers in such a way that they seem set vast distances away from each other. The thick, insistent beeping of the melodies veils the trance-like bass beneath, forever pulsating; driving the album onwards. On top of this, broad washes of ambience establish the galactic scale; allowing an assortment of percussion and synths to arrive and depart discretely. The melody in Air Song, for instance, repeats itself subtlety behind this haze, becoming all the more powerful in its consistently understated existence. To this extent: the album is composed and mixed masterfully. Certain elements will only become known in time, despite – in some cases – having played for the duration of a piece.

As the album comes to the end, wavering on the melancholy of the title track, you are left with a profound sadness when faced with transferring yourself back into the world as we know it. One that suddenly appears so claustrophobic and flat as you contrast it with Leaving Home. But while you can only dream of experiencing such a journey first hand, there’s always the repeat button.



Recent reviews by this author
Burial UntrueRaime Tooth
kj wakeTape Loop Orchestra Go Straight Towards the Light of All That You Love
Phaeleh All That RemainsBrian Eno The Ship
user ratings (51)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2012


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Any feedback to give, writing wise?

seedofnothing
January 6th 2012


3425 Comments


I'm gonna check this out because of the album artwork.

STOP SHOUTING!
January 6th 2012


777 Comments


too many commas in the first sentence. in second sentence the number should be spelt, not written; there should not be a colon; and 'name' is used twice. should be 'work' singular in third sentence. fourth sentence doesn't have a verb; should be 'that' not 'the' point...
so what i'm saying is it reads a bit awkward. can often be good sometimes to simplify things by going back to noun followed by verb, rather than endless connectives. maybe.

ThePac
January 6th 2012


219 Comments


these albums are tough to find cheap

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2012


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^ okay, thanks a lot.

bloc
January 6th 2012


55027 Comments


Album's pretty decent

Digging: The Chemical Brothers - No Geography

TheArkitecht
January 6th 2012


1673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is incredible!

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2012


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you think so.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2012


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I downloaded it after reading your review and this is amazing :D. I found it as one 79-minute mp3 and it's a complete voyage. Good review. You could write more about the music since you only mention about two songs.

Digging: Fennesz - Agora

Ending
January 8th 2012


2178 Comments


This actually sounds pretty cool. If I remember to I'll check this out for sure.

scissorlocked
January 19th 2012


3528 Comments


digging this now

it's pretty good

scissorlocked
March 26th 2012


3528 Comments


saw this guy live a some weeks ago- his older albums till earthsine are great

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


4753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Baseline - If you haven't checked it already, check out Carbon Based Lifeforms - Interloper or World Of Sleepers. I got blown away so hard by Interloper especially. It's one of the best albums I have heard.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

CBL can be a little patchy, though.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Closest I can think of is parts of that Beefcake album I know you already have.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Swarms? Maybe I was getting the wrong idea.



In that case, I'd say the new Throwing Snow EP, the bonus tracks off the Swarms album if you haven't got round to them yet, parts of the Lapalux LP (I'm thinking "Gone" specifically), Holy Other and "Endless White" by Flying Lotus. Off the top of my head.

scissorlocked
March 26th 2012


3528 Comments


I'm talking about cold and heartless electronic music with ambience that makes you imagine the most advance modern architecture humanity will create in the next couple of centuries?

i'm gettin what you say, but I find it hard to name such bands

at times Trentemoller makes me feel like that or some of Vibrasphere's older works,though they aren't that heartless

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sure, pick a screen from a game Solar Fields did the OST for, why don't you...



I'll keep my eye out though.

Funeralopolis
March 26th 2012


14272 Comments


album cover looks like it could be for a business

Digging: Ghostmane - N / O / I / S / E

mindleviticus
May 24th 2012


9667 Comments


Cocoon moon is fucking sweet

Digging: Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy