Shlohmo
Bad Vibes


3.5
great

Review

by StrangerofSorts STAFF
December 11th, 2011 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Woah there, shloh down.

Happy, sad. Desperate, reserved. Excited, sluggish. It appears that Shlohmo lives in a world of contrasts. To him, just having one, coherent tone is dull and uninteresting, which is why we have these slow, haunting rhythms flowing neatly over hip-hop beats. The listener ends up in a kind of stasis, suspended in between feelings; ending up being washed away in the sea of ambient fuzz.

Bad Vibes is rather odd as a whole, really. Its to-and-fro mix-pot style lend to inconsistency, and I'd be lying if I were to say that it avoids this completely. You could say that it brushes past it: some themes and styles tend to work better than others, though none are particularly bad. The delicate, echoing sound found in tracks such as Get Out and Just Us, as an example, is incredibly consistent in the way it charms the listener only to pounce in with haunting overtones. This back-and-forth does lead Bad Vibes to lack much in the way of cohesiveness: some songs run into each other, sure, but they often seem to do so simply for the novelty. I can't help but thinking that with a general movement, this album could have ended up being a lot more powerful.

However, building up a theme, story or communal direction does not seem to be the point of Bad Vibes. It's very much an album of self expression. Tracks like Same Time and Trapped in a Burning House could only have ever come into existence through a mixture of solitude and grasping ideas from the darker parts of your mind. Trapped in a Burning House, especially, feels quite out of place in just how incredibly dark it is: with distortion and rhasping bass steadily building up to a crescendo. In isolation, however, it's captivating. By it's nature it does eclipse the song running after it, so still a more considered track order would help things.

It strikes me that if Bad Vibes was reigned in a bit, it would be an incredible LP. The tracks sound great, they're all creative, intelligent and memorable... it's just that fitted as they are they work against each other. You find yourself dipping in for individual tracks instead of diving into the album as a whole.



Recent reviews by this author
Burial UntrueRaime Tooth
kj wakeTape Loop Orchestra Go Straight Towards the Light of All That You Love
Phaeleh All That RemainsBrian Eno The Ship
user ratings (147)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2011


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So yeh, I like it.

Romulus
December 11th 2011


8507 Comments


mm yeah i agree with a lot of this. album's nice

Axel
December 11th 2011


189 Comments


taste like four tet

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2011


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a bit, yeah.

twlichty
December 11th 2011


3822 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome to finally see a review for this. Really cool album, good review

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2011


32190 Comments


No offense, but this review is about as cohesive as you claim the album to be

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2011


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

None taken, Dubstep Santa.

Manic_
December 12th 2011


447 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i somewhat agree with your rating but don't really agree with cohesion argument. For some reason I find this record a little too cohesive to the point there isn't much variation. IMO that's the fault of this record.

MalleusMaleficarum
December 12th 2011


16373 Comments


yeah i tried to check this out but i couldnt find it

Jash
February 15th 2012


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm gonna write a proper review for this record. Some of the most beautiful lo-fi sounds these ears have ever been blessed with

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


2905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Have to agree, I'm digging Vacation at the moment.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


32190 Comments


I can kinda see the appeal of Shlohmo in a smaller environment. but I'd have to say that the tracks here far outweigh anything on Vacation

Jash
February 16th 2012


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They have different feels, this one is a more organic, human feeling collection of songs largely due to his use of recorded guitars and other live instruments where as the EP is much more electronic feeling, both of them kick major ass though.

Ponton
Emeritus
March 12th 2012


6368 Comments


trapped in a burning house just nails it

Imperial
March 18th 2012


1775 Comments


makes me want to drop 'cid

lancebramsay
March 27th 2012


1585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is a sweet album. I've been digging on it hard lately.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2012


32190 Comments


Digging the Vacation Remixes release, Teebs in particular kills it

Jash
April 9th 2012


4249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah the Teebs remix is amazing, I really love the Nicolas Jaar one too

Rev
April 9th 2012


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

must acquire [2]

Phlegm
December 9th 2013


7243 Comments


i am trapped in a burning house



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy