Dead by April
Incomparable


2.0
poor

Review

by pizzamachine USER (220 Reviews)
November 3rd, 2011 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dead By April are once again doing what they do best: nothing.

Dead By April are not as unique or good as they probably think they are, but it matters not. Their radio-humping material is perfect for newcomers to music who will one day regret listening to the band, and that’s the extent of their power (unless you are like me and sometimes cannot resist listening to guilty pleasures, but I wouldn’t recommend it). If you’ve heard their debut album before, you probably know exactly what this is going to sound like: alt metal with a tendency for mundane, metalcore styled riffs, splattered screams, slopped synthesizers, and a bucket full of goopy inspiration from teeny bopper boy bands like ‘N Sync and Backstreet Boys. As expected, the band haven’t budged one iota from their formula, and why would they" It sells albums and probably gets them laid, so they might as well continue making their boring music. Heaven help us.

Imagine psytrance. Now imagine those synth lines being laced with metalcore breakdowns. The result is a never-ending onslaught of synths that completely drown out the band (especially the lead guitar). This is literally the only musical evolution found in the album besides having a new singer. Having a new singer doesn’t change anything either, because Zandro sounds eerily similar to their previous vocalist. Also, his vocals are geared for young girls, as he sings the heart-throbbing “yeeeah” and “heeey” whenever possible. Additionally, autotune dominates the singer’s voice to the point of simultaneous frustration and hilarity (for example, the chorus of ‘Incomparable’). Dead By April aren’t winning any points from their soulless approach to music.

Even though the melodies in the album can be nice, that’s the only appeal of the album. Overproduction is their nemesis and murders the crap out of any potential their soundscape once had. The main guitar is horribly compressed and has a generally poor tone, the drums are badly mixed, the synths are too loud, the bass might as well not exist, etc. For a band that is so focused on smooth, accessible, throw-away melodies, the overproduction disintegrates their already destroyed creation. Perhaps the horrible, murky noise was their attempt at sounding more metal, which would be an excuse at the very least, but they can’t even claim that. Incomparable fails on all levels.



Recent reviews by this author
Within Temptation The Silent ForceBreaking Benjamin Ember
Animals As Leaders The Madness of ManySevendust All I See Is War
Draconian A Rose For The ApocalypseDraconian Turning Season Within
user ratings (124)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
simonpettersen (1.5)
Incomparable tells the story of a band who once had some kind of promise, but ending up wanting to i...


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
November 4th 2011


14036 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

My first review as a contributor! :P

Ovrot
November 4th 2011


13304 Comments


YES A PIZZAMACHINE CONTRIBUTOR LOCK ME AWAY AND PUT AWAY THE KEY I'M GOING IN DRY LIKE A MAN OUTSIDE FOR THE FIRST TIME IN 43 YEARS REVIEW

pizzamachine
November 4th 2011


14036 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I changed the band's description to



"..."

Blindsided
November 4th 2011


1871 Comments


First contrib review and he gets negged?

pizzamachine
November 4th 2011


14036 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

someone saw their mistake :P

Hawks
November 4th 2011


67739 Comments


Awesome review Pizza. This album/band sounds fucking awful.

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

Gyromania
November 4th 2011


26503 Comments


It's no big deal, pizza - people are just going to troll neg, but it's no reflection on your writing, unless of course they have the balls to explain why they neg'd. Anyways, I enjoyed this review and will be steering very clear of this, lol. Pos.

Hawks
November 4th 2011


67739 Comments


Suck me off.

pizzamachine
November 4th 2011


14036 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks a lot guys! :]



Suck me off.



Talk about hard love amirite?





unless of course they have the balls to explain why they neg'd.



This has only happened to me once.





Ovrot
November 4th 2011


13304 Comments


I neg'd because i love you

anarchistfish
November 4th 2011


26816 Comments


My approval fell below 90% the other day
although reading back on my earlier reviews they're not very good.

how come you explain how bad this album is and then you 2.5 it?


Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 4th 2011


9295 Comments


how come you explain how bad this album is and then you 2.5 it?

Cause for some weird reason sputnik sees anything that's 3/5 or lower as bad lol.

although reading back on my earlier reviews they're not very good.

Neither were mine, I'm surprised that they haven't been neg'd to hell.

My first review as a contributor!

Not sure if I congratulated you yet Pizza, so here it is; Congratulations! As for the review, you win a POS. : ]




Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2011


7502 Comments


Just stopped by to tell you that it makes me so happy to see the word "CONTRIBUTOR" next to your name, Pizz =)

Tyrael
November 4th 2011


21113 Comments


gay

good review pizza

Wunderbar007
November 4th 2011


81 Comments


Congrats Pizza :D And yea, these guys are pretty bad.

Acanthus
November 4th 2011


9812 Comments


Summary is perfect!

pizzamachine
November 4th 2011


14036 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks a lot guys!!!





theacademy
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2011


31487 Comments


lol the summary is perfect

still within my heart is pretty good

pizzamachine
November 4th 2011


14036 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

IT WAS MAGICAL WHEN I FELT YOUR...



TOUUUUUCH



theacademy
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2011


31487 Comments


lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy