Gui Boratto
III


4.0
excellent

Review

by aok USER (32 Reviews)
September 14th, 2011 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 1 part dark, 2 parts mellow, and awesome all the way through

Gui Boratto is a Brazilian electronic music producer, best known for his 2007 debut LP Chromophobia, as well as a variety of remixes including a famous rendition of Massive Attack’s “Paradise Circus”. He has developed notoriety both in Brazil and throughout the world for a distinctive brand of minimalistic techno, which doubles as music that might be heard at a club and music that might be heard in a lounge. His usual style, consisting of quick paced, simple and non-threatening high pitched electronic sounds gives him an easy to listen to and lighter vibe.

Which is why III is such a unique release for him. Uncharacteristically, Boratto has turned to more bass driven tracks and darker tones. During “Striker”, the dark tones are backed by almost menacing-sounding vocals, adding depth and a different kind of complexity than we’ve come to expect from the Brazilian DJ. Feelings of helplessness and despair are evoked throughout the front half of the album, and he effectively captivates listeners as if he had always created this kind of music.

We see a return of sorts to the high pitched cheery beats at times, notably during “Flying Practice,” but he manages to be most effective when he forms a marriage between his old style and new. The pulsing low beat of “The Drill”, when coupled with a fast paced percussion showcases this best, rising yet lulling in a kind of eerie harmony. But in “Soledad,”Boratto shows off an even greater amount of complexity by taking a soft-smooth beat and boiling it feverishly high, evoking an almost manic peacefulness.

By the time he leaves us with the closing message, “Only Heaven knows that this is not the end”, we have been taken every which way, succumbing to the whims of one of the most talented DJs today. Though his change of pace is a little unsettling and harder to grasp, this is a fascinating record that only improves the more you let it sink its teeth in you.

4.1 / 5



Recent reviews by this author
Mylo Destroy Rock And RollThe xx Coexist
The Future Sound of London LifeformsTricky Maxinquaye
Anais Mitchell Young Man in AmericaExoplanet Nothing Divides Us Here
user ratings (27)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
aok
September 14th 2011


4500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

really impressive release. i actually like this even better than the ones i recommended (though not by much)

Gyromania
September 14th 2011


25915 Comments


Excellent work here, Andy. Pos.

I'll have to look into this.

aok
September 14th 2011


4500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is def up your alley matt.



cheers =)

Gyromania
September 14th 2011


25915 Comments


I really enjoyed There is Love in You and This Bliss, so if this is better than those albums, I'll be in for a real treat =D

Gyromania
September 14th 2011


25915 Comments


Edit: put in a request to have this featured.

aok
September 14th 2011


4500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i don't know if this is better than those but i enjoy it slightly more cause i see pretty eye to eye with what gui's doing here.



how do you request to have sth featured?

FelixCulpa
September 14th 2011


1242 Comments


Digging the sound of this so far. Pos.

aok
September 14th 2011


4500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool cool. if this made best new music, it would pretty much make my month. it's way more than good enough to be js

Yotimi
September 14th 2011


7463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Love this, but not quite as much as Chromophobia

aok
September 14th 2011


4500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i find this to be a little more engaging than chromophobia so i like it slightly more. both are exceptional spins though

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2011


32190 Comments


Probably will wind up being a 4 as well, but like Yotimi said, it's not as good as Chromophobia

Zettel
September 14th 2011


661 Comments


Thanks for doing this review.

aok
September 14th 2011


4500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

deviant and yotimi 4s should be enough for bnm. srsly ..



cheers zet =)

Kaleid
September 14th 2011


740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Beat me to it. Album is great, I pretty much agree with everything



Gui Boratto needs more love round here

aok
September 14th 2011


4500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet stuff man. def dug your chromophobia review and if you already started this one, i mean, it wouldn't hurt to have 2 reviews. dude def needs more love round these parts

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2011


32190 Comments


deviant and yotimi 4s should be enough for bnm. srsly ..


If you wanna know: bnm is based on a certain amount of favorable ratings from the staff. Don't know if contribs count tbh


Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2011


32190 Comments


Double post

clercqie
September 15th 2011


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great review, Andy!



Eager to check this out

clercqie
September 15th 2011


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is going to be one boring rating chart



Album reminds me very much of Trentemoller (always a good thing)

aok
September 15th 2011


4500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bnm is based on a certain amount of favorable ratings from the staff




urgh. use your influence to get them on this?



Album reminds me very much of Trentemoller




yea, i kinda realized that after I finished the review -- ima add the last resort to recommended albums.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy