Dio
Dream Evil


5.0
classic

Review

by TheNotrap USER (10 Reviews)
September 11th, 2011 | 119 replies


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The last classic record from Mr. Ronnie James Dio

Mr. Ronnie James Dio left us a memorable legacy of great music, from ELF to Rainbow, from Sabbath to Heaven and Hell, his amazing voice helped to shape my favourite music genre.
His solo career had many classic albums like the memorable debut Holy Diver or the metal anthem The Last in Line however my attempt at a short review goes to Dream Evil, probably his most underrated record.

Vivian Campbell had just left the band to joined Whitesnake, so Dream Evil is Dio's first record without Campbell on the guitars, fact which worried many people back in 87, however Craig Goldy (ex Rough Cutt) did a great job replacing Campbell, so great that sometimes we think Vivian still playing.
Dream Evil still has the commercial tendencies of the previous Sacred Heart, like the use of keyboards on some tracks (All the Fools Sailed Away) and the catchy melody lines (I Could Have Been a Dreamer), however Dio's fourth album is definitely more dark and heavy than its predecessor.
The lyrics, as usual, are related to the supernatural and fantasy and the songs still have Dio's very unique signature based upon an extremely solid rhythm section performed by his long time mates Jimmy Bain and Vinny Appice.

Dream Evil is a very consistent effort with memorable songs like the title track, Night People, the power ballad All the Fools Sailed Away, Naked in the Rain or the commercially oriented I Could Have Been a Dreamer, but my favourite moment here is definitely Sunset Superman, specially Craig's epic riff and the unbelievably catchy and powerful pre-chorus.

Holy Diver and The Last in Line are Dio's most essential solo records however Dream Evil still is an absolute classic album in my book.

Pros:
Memorable catchy songs
Sunset Superman main riff and pre-chorus
Ronnie James Dio performance (as usual)

Cons:
Sound engineering



Recent reviews by this author
Marillion FugaziBolt Thrower War Master
Metal Church Blessing in DisguiseDio Sacred Heart
Coroner Punishment for DecadenceScorpions World Wide Live
user ratings (421)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
September 11th 2011


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Well...my first attempt at a short review guys.

English is not my first language, so sorry for the basic sentences or any grammar mistakes.

Digging: Michael Schenker Group - The Michael Schenker Group

Cipieron
September 11th 2011


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I rank Lock Up the Wolves a little higher than this one, but this is still a great album.



His first five and Killing the Dragon are all I've bothered with owning. The rest are kinda meh.



Review is short, like you said, but I liked it. Pos from me.

TheNotrap
September 11th 2011


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Cipieron.



I agree with you the first five and Killing the Dragon (that I really like) are Dio's best records.

Cipieron
September 11th 2011


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think losing Campbell hurt the music a little, I didn't care too much for Craig Goldy's parts though they were serviceable. When they got Rowan Robertson for LOTW, I think he came with some fresh ideas that just clicked better with my ears.

TheNotrap
September 11th 2011


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Well...In my opinion Craig Goldy almost cloned Vivian here. His solo scales and riffs are very similar to Vivian. I really like Craig's performance here, specially on Sunset Superman and All The Fools Sailed Away.



Rowan Robertson have another style. A Totally different guitar player, but I also like is performance on LOTW, specially on the title track and Wild One.

JamieTwort
September 11th 2011


26954 Comments


Not a bad review for a first, Notrap, especially considering English isn't your first language.

For me the only guitarist after Campbell that really did anything for me was Doug Aldrich, who is one of my favourite guitar players.

Ire
September 11th 2011


41948 Comments


For Dio's discog, I stopped after realizing how meh Sacred Heart was.

Cipieron
September 11th 2011


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sacred Heart is the weakest of the first 5 albums, Dream Evil and Lock Up The Wolves are definitely worth a listen. Just check 'em out on youtube

TheNotrap
September 11th 2011


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@JT Thanks man. Like you said, English is not my first language so it's hard for me to express myself on Shakespeare's language. I will try to improve next time.

Doug Aldrich is an unbelievable guitar player. I'm a huge fan of his solo style.



@Ire. Sacred Heart has some really good moments like Hungry for Heaven, King of Rock and Roll or Rock 'n' Roll Children.

Like Cipieron said, don't underrate Dream Evil (one of his best albums imo) and give also Killing the Dragon a chance, a very cool record.

Ire
September 11th 2011


41948 Comments


the problem with sacred heart is that it has like 2 really awesome songs, a few cool songs and a lot of filler.


Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2011


7745 Comments


decent/good review for a first, be sure to write more about the music in your next ones :-)

TheNotrap
September 11th 2011


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Agreed Ire

Sacred Heart is the worst record of his classic era with fillers like Shoot Shoot or Fallen Angels, but don't miss this one, you probably will find some dated stuff, like the keyboards, but all songs are really catchy.



Check this out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXOr3Qfkyl4

or

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MkCGcH2s3Q

TheNotrap
September 11th 2011


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Voivod.

You're saying talking/describing more each music?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2011


7745 Comments


Yeap.

rockandmetaljunkie
September 19th 2011


7068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's a good effort.

pos

TheNotrap
September 20th 2011


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2011


2462 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is slightly boring for me, not dio's best vocals either. But i agree with you that it is their last decent album anyhow.

Digging: Erdve - Vaitojimas

TheNotrap
October 8th 2011


8686 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"not dio's best vocals either"



Really? I find the vocals here amazing. His performance on Sunset Superman or All The Fools Sailed Away is memorable.

13themount
February 3rd 2012


173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

like fools overlove and dreamer; the rest is straight off the production line and a bit dull. After this i decided i did not need anymore dio albums.

sputnik1
February 3rd 2012


322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent album, remember that it's 1987 production values! Craig Goldy plays his best here. great cover, too!

Digging: Saxon - Thunderbolt



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy