Megadeth
So Far, So Good... So What!


3.5
great

Review

by AquariuS USER (1 Reviews)
August 22nd, 2011 | 22 replies


Release Date: 1988 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album could sound best? Yes. If Mustaine don't used the money of the production to bough some drugs... Even it's remastered and with new mix versions, it's still sound not much good like other of the classic Megadeth phase. Obvious, all sounds best

"So Far, So Good... And... So... What"!" This is the first thing that have came in my mind when I've listened to "Into The Lungs Of Hell". The song rocks so much myself, and for me, is one of the best open tracks of any Megadeth albums. With very good solos, it's a sequence of guitar ability - and enjoy it now, while you have time, cause in others musics you won't see anything too good as this solo, except by "In My Darkest Hour" or in "Mary Jane".

Other musics I've liked so much of this CD: "Set The World Afire". Ok, isn't a masterpiece or something like that, but the Paul Lani Mix version sounds very very good. While Dave screams "Set the world Afire" the blood in my veins start to burble. Isn't a *** ass thrash song, but oh god, it have power!

"Anarchy In The U.K." is a cover that in my opinion, sounds good, not better than the original, but... Mustaine adapted this Punk - and nice - music to a metal version, and it's a credit that he can gain. The lyrics was switched in some parts, but nothing that disturb the music.

Certain, "Mary Jane" have the greatest open of any other songs of this CD. At the first minutes, it's really sounds like a ballad or something like that... But wait and see! It's a very nice thrash song. One of the bests of the LP, too. The lyrics are very crazy: they're about one witch girl that starts to catch her father.

Bring a dark gravity to this album, comes the music "In My Darkest Hour". The people say that the lyrics of this is inspired by the Cliff Burton (Metallica's bassist). Wanting or not, it is one of the best lyric - or the REALLY best lyric - of this LP. The chorus is perfect, and the riff is taking we away. It's really a song to listen in a dark hour...

Mustaine said one time that "Liar" was wrote for Chris Poland - the guitarist of Peace Sells album, as I say in the start - and today he dedicate this song to Chris. Ironic or not, it's don't have more anything of some importance... The last track, "Hook In Mouth", is so much interesting. Ellefson proves a little bit of his ability with the bass in this song, on the intro. Slowly, it gaining some speed. After a quick solo, the music really starts. Sometimes, the music speed varies.

And this is the end of not a classic, not a trash thrash album. Have some cool musics, as "Into The Lungs Of Hell", "Hook In Mouth" and "Mary Jane", and, of course, the classic song "In My Darkest Hour". This LP was hidden in the middle of "Peace Sells... But Who's Is Buying"" and "Rust In Peace".

So, I hope you like my first review, and sorry for my bad english, I'm brazilian.


user ratings (2037)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
SWORD
August 22nd 2011


111 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

man you fucking rule keep it up

Asiatic667
August 22nd 2011


4651 Comments


This review needs a Brazillian wax.

Carnifex
August 22nd 2011


1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review is a bit rusty, but this album is their weakest "classic" record.

KILL
August 23rd 2011


81231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

FUCKIN RULES

HelloKiddies
August 23rd 2011


20 Comments


Needs some grammatical work. First sentence after quote of album is retarded.

HelloKiddies
August 23rd 2011


20 Comments


You write like your from fucking Costa Rica or Africa or some shit, the review has the right idea but learn to write.

Gyromania
August 23rd 2011


26094 Comments


This is hilarious. Pos.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2011


7504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You write like your from fucking Costa Rica or Africa or some shit, the review has the right idea but learn to write.



HEY POT MEET KETTLE.

Gyromania
August 23rd 2011


26094 Comments


Epic fail, HelloKiddies

Carnifex
August 23rd 2011


1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

HelloKiddies needs to chill.

vanderb0b
August 23rd 2011


3473 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You write like your from fucking Costa Rica or Africa or some shit, the review has the right idea but learn to write.


So, I hope you like my first review, and sorry for my bad english, I'm brazilian.


Your comment has the right idea but learn to read.



As for the review itself, its a very nice effort considering that English isn't your first language, but you really do need to improve your grammar.

GodL1ke
August 23rd 2011


809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahahha



HelloKiddies pwned self



pos on the review btw..nice effort, nice album

AliW1993
August 23rd 2011


7511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Their Anarchy In The UK cover is fucking awful

taylormemer
August 23rd 2011


4962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

wtf are nike shox

taylormemer
August 23rd 2011


4962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cool story bro

TheNotrap
August 23rd 2011


9416 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I'M NOT A FISH

I'M A MAAAN

HOOK

IN

MOUTHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

WashboardSuds
August 23rd 2011


5101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hehe

jayfatha
August 23rd 2011


2918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good shit mane

KILL
August 24th 2011


81231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mmmmmmmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy jaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaAAAAAAAAANE

TheNotrap
August 24th 2011


9416 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I'M IN THE ASTRALLL PLAANE AND I'LLL NEVER BE THE SAAAAMEE

NEVEERRR NEVEERRR NEVEERRR NEVEERRR NEVEERRR NEVEERRR NEVEERRR NEVEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy