Havok
Time Is Up


3.0
good

Review

by Madbutcher3 USER (79 Reviews)
July 28th, 2011 | 139 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Not the ray of hope it might have appeared in 2011, Time Is Up is still a fairly enjoyable modern thrash album with some great songs and amplified technicality.

2011 was perhaps the apex of popularity of the retro-thrash revival, with Warbringer's Worlds Torn Asunder, Vektor's Outer Isolation and Havok's Time Is Up all springing up and achieving reasonable acclaim. Of the three, Time Is Up has certainly aged the worst, but is still fairly enjoyable and vastly superior to the band's following efforts.

Havok's 2011 outing certainly exhibits the usual retro-thrash standard palm muted riffing and crossover influences, but it carries just a bit more energy, originality and technicality than most of them. The extremely crisp production works wonders for the band's sound as it provides a lot of chunk and slicing ferocity to the guitars. Further strengthening that solid sonic foundation is a generally urgency to most of the tracks; tracks like Scumbag In Disguise and Fatal Intervention waste no time in getting to their best riffs and as such manage to build a lot of momentum early, managing to be more accessible as a result. The sheer speed of some of the riffs also helps differentiate them from "generic thrash riff #1652", along with the healthy doses of melody in tracks like D.O.A. and Prepare for Attack, resulting in a more technical and nuanced listening experience than most similar albums.

The core problem here is a lack of variety. Even the slower tracks like The Cleric build to the same fast sections displayed elsewhere, and the song structures themselves are unchanging throughout for the most part. Whilst Time Is Up gets good results from its core formula, it misses greatness by sticking to it so closely, a problem that continues through to the band's following albums.

*Re-written 18/09/17*



Recent reviews by this author
The Haunted Strength in NumbersDyscarnate With All Their Might
However Sudden DuskVader XXV
Testament LowGod Dethroned Passiondale

user ratings (354)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
DoubtGin
July 28th 2011


6880 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

m/

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2011


7604 Comments


Your summary has got me amped. Will read later.

Digging: Fleurety - The White Death

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2011


7604 Comments


manages to be by far the greater album


manages to be their best effort to date (maybe?)





good review, have a pos.

Madbutcher3
July 28th 2011


1900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thanks!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2011


7604 Comments


i see in the band's page in metal archives that the band members are quite young.



Youth and thrash go along, right?

Madbutcher3
July 28th 2011


1900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Seems so, considering many metal bands from the 80s like Death Angel had pretty young members.

Wizard
July 28th 2011


20124 Comments


Blah, thrash is still a joke for the most part but some of this stuff is ok (besides Toxic Holocaust who seems to be the best at this thrash revival). Good review dude.

RangerTaffles
July 28th 2011


302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This stuff rules! Needs more exposure.



Nice review btw.

Pyosisified
July 28th 2011


2450 Comments


"Blah, thrash is still a joke for the most part"

?

Dummit
July 28th 2011


371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I heard Covering Fire on SiriusXM Liquid Metal the other day, i cranked that shit up real loud.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2011


21997 Comments


may check this out

ZombicidalMan
July 28th 2011


2476 Comments


This band sounded pretty good from what I listened too, but shit, it's nothing we haven't heard before. Seriously, do the bands all share one vocalist or something?

Album's still better than most of the new thrash out there, but I can see it wearing off after two or three listens.

gabethepiratesquid
July 28th 2011


4522 Comments


These guys and Fog of War are the only thrash bands I like.

KILL
July 28th 2011


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

fade didnt you know wizard doesnt dig thrash its not boring enough

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2011


21997 Comments


only repetitive enough

YetAnotherBrick
July 28th 2011


6691 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thrash til death and then some

Wizard
July 28th 2011


20124 Comments


Thrash is still beginner level metal. I've heard too much and I got really bored of the genre.

lobby
July 28th 2011


1251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this was the last thrash album i'm going to listen to in a long time

Ticondaroga
July 29th 2011


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Exceptional album a bit overproduced but if you can get past that this chills you(dead).

Ticondaroga
July 29th 2011


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"prepare" rips off a riff from the first doom game and lvl also lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy