Boys Noize
Oi Oi Oi


4.5
superb

Review

by clercqie USER (40 Reviews)
July 8th, 2011 | 42 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The perfect club album? It's very close

Friday night! Time to party! Where to go" To hit the pubs or to hit the clubs" When you think about it, there isn't much of a difference - just that the music is a tad louder in the clubs. Because the music isn't generally the main reason to go clubbing, it's to have fun with your friends, to laugh your ass off, to flirt with the prom queen at the bar, to get stoned and not remembering what stupid things you did.

This then raises a tricky question: how to make the perfect club album" For an example on how it's done, let's take a look at Boys Noize's Oi Oi Oi. I don't know if it's because he's German, but Alex Riddha likes to keep things functional. This isn't about finding the details and layers in the music through close headphone listening but to feel and to experience it while it comes your way from a massive sound system; in short: it's the soundtrack to having a blast.

What makes this album so good is that each single track can be used for a different occasion during the night (next to the anthems, there are also the tracks to chill to and goof off to), while the album still gives the impression of being a very cohesive piece of work. A lot of this can be credited to the overall sound of the album. It sounds very rough, sometimes even aggressive and hard - imperfect in other words - because Boys Noize swears by the use of original, analogue synthesizers. This makes the album very human as opposed to the clean and perfect, but cold and sterile beats of modern-day club R&B. While the album catapulted Boys Noize into the mainstream, it's probably his most underground work, but it works thanks to this human feel it has to it.

Underground as it may be, there are plenty of pop elements to be discovered here as well. Take for example Let's Buy Happiness, the funkiest track of the record. At first glance there is little melody to be found, but it's the playful drum pattern that makes this song, until - towards the end - the buildup rewards the listener with a joyful melody, while still containing a lot of distortion, though. My Moon My Man (his remix of Feist) is even better. Her vocals are being accompanied by Riddha's calmest production ever. It's very different from the rawer rest of the album, while still maintaining the typical Boys Noize feel.

But the anthems are where it's really at: & Down, Lava Lava, Oh! and Don't Believe The Hype are all absolute electro house classics. They also contradict my point about the music being only of secondary importance while clubbing, because setting any one of these bad boys off, will almost certainly result into lighting the dance floor on fire.

Here's the functionality of Oi Oi Oi again: ultimately, it's the people creating the ambiance and having a blast, the record just gives a helping hand in that regard. And it does so brilliantly just about every time. All-in-all, the album is essential for electro house DJ's and enthusiasts, and highly recommended for just about anyone who likes to have a ball.



Recent reviews by this author
Voices From The Lake Velo Di MayaAmatorski From Clay To Figures
Ben Frost A U R O R AThe Notwist Close to the Glass
The Men Tomorrow's HitsValentin Stip Sigh
user ratings (71)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
July 8th 2011


6521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Party time!

- Lava Lava: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WdVjZWCOn0

- Oh! : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQSkRgBerM8

- My Moon My Man: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXDzbAo6VT8



FelixCulpa
July 8th 2011


1242 Comments


Listening now and it does sound pretty fun.

sifFlammable
July 8th 2011


2741 Comments


i mean this is good but this would be so much better live

clercqie
July 8th 2011


6521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^ it is

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Why do you keep putting electro in brackets?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also, I don't get how this could be his most underground yet be the album that catapulted him into fame. '&Down' was a huuuuge crossover success



Power is a 100x more minimal/"underground" sounding as well, which is the main reason why it's such a god-awful album, simply because BN isn't designed to be all subtle he's designed to release club bangers.

clercqie
July 8th 2011


6521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Why do you keep putting electro in brackets?


Remember our argument about house some time ago? I wanted to avoid such things this time, but I guess that hasn't worked out ; )



Also, I don't get how this could be his most underground yet be the album that catapulted him into fame.


I meant in sound. You could argue (and that's what I'm doing here) that - in comparison with his earlier stuff - here, he sounds more harsher and rough around the edges.



I disagree about Power as well. Granted, it's not as good as this, but that album came after an evolution he underwent in his live sets. He wanted to move away from making just bangers. Also, saying he's being designed is kind of mean...

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Remember our argument about house some time ago? I wanted to avoid such things this time, but I guess that hasn't worked out ; )




Yes, you were trying to separate electro and house and all I did was point out that you didn't need to because it's still a part of house. You can call it electro house because that's what it is. You were saying electro AND house



I meant in sound. You could argue (and that's what I'm doing here) that - in comparison with his earlier stuff - here, he sounds more harsher and rough around the edges.




The 3 EPs he put out prior to this, his DEBUT album, all bear a resemblance to this



Also, saying he's being designed is kind of mean...




I didn't say he was or is being designed, I'm saying he is himself. Like, listen to this and then Power. It's obvious the man's built/designed to make catchy infectious electro tracks, nothing else. That's not an insult, I'm saying he's great at doing what he knows best. It's when he wanders off into other territory (sonically, not as in a new genre) that he ends up falling on his face

sifFlammable
July 8th 2011


2741 Comments


question here

what exactly constitutes the 'electro' genre?

clercqie
July 8th 2011


6521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The 3 EPs he put out prior to this, his DEBUT album, all bear a resemblance to this


Not denying that, but I still find this the hardest/loudest/thrashiest of his releases.



And I liked a lot on Power, so still going to disagree with you on that topic. To each their own though.

clercqie
July 8th 2011


6521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

what exactly constitutes the 'electro' genre?




To me (correct me if I'm wrong), it's the more rough and dirty part of house. Lots of distortion and in a way resembling rock music. See for example this, Soulwax, Wolfgang Gartner and Justice.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

question here



what exactly constitutes the 'electro' genre?




electro just means electroclash, where the more traditional almost trance-like synth leads are rendered much more abrasively. There's lots of distortion, glitchy irregularities etc

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty much what clercqie just said

clercqie
July 8th 2011


6521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Electroclash... Term was hyped to death because of Fisherspooner and then it kinda died with them.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not at all

clercqie
July 8th 2011


6521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Really? I thought it was really big in the early 2000's but then faded away.

sifFlammable
July 8th 2011


2741 Comments


basically

wolfgang gartner = electro?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's what electro is short for, so it's still used today. People just started calling it by its long form before there were enough artists to justify an actual scene. Back when the first proper electro tracks were being put out by the likes of Benassi and Fedde Le Grand

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sif: electro house, yes

sifFlammable
July 8th 2011


2741 Comments


so is electro now a complementary sub-genre of other prominent electronic genres eg house?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy