I Hate Myself
4 Songs


4.0
excellent

Review

by ApplicationToHeaven USER (7 Reviews)
July 1st, 2011 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Although lacking in maturity, 4 Songs displays well-executed passionate emo

Despite only being a meager quarter of an hour, 4 Songs displays I Hate Myself's ability to craft catchy, hard hitting emo without any unnecessary complexity.

The music on this EP is very simple, yet there certainly is some variation. The mix of clean and distortion is obvious pretty common-place but still creates an enjoyable dynamic. But, despite the music being simple the EP never feels like it would benefit from any more complexity, the music flows well and the riffs are catchy and the playing on the album is passionate and raw. Possibly the album's biggest shortcoming is the lyrics sometimes coming across as quite juvenile, lines like, "I am piss I am sh*t, I am less than nothing" could come across like something a whiny teenager would write. However the lyrics, similarly to the band's name are very tongue in cheek so this is perhaps a fairly null point. Overall I would say this release is a must for any fan of raw emotional music who isn't too serious to look past slightly silly lyrics.



Recent reviews by this author
Chthonic Relentless RecurrenceRhinocervs Odour of Dust and Rot
One Eyed God Prophecy One Eyed God ProphecyTen In The Swear Jar My Very Private Map
Basilisk VintyrhellDystopia Human = Garbage
user ratings (83)
Chart.
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
ApplicationToHeaven
July 1st 2011


1566 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review might be pretty bad i cant really tell because its 3am, but dont be too harsh because this

is my first review

danielito19
July 1st 2011


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band fucking rocks. I haven't heard this yet though.

iFghtffyrdmns
July 1st 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hey someone finally reviewed this hurrah

ffs
July 1st 2011


5253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good band and nice review, though i'd argue the "juvenile" side of their lyrics is meant to be tongue in cheek, basically self-parody if you will



obviously its still gay and for babies though because its emo but ya

North0House2
July 2nd 2011


5999 Comments


Seriously, these guys are the greatest.
10 songs is a great work. Caught in a Flood... Is such a beautiful song, certainly one of my favorites.
Good review.

Digging: Delta Sleep - Management

MalleusMaleficarum
July 2nd 2011


16157 Comments


one less great release that needs to be reviewed; well done sir.

accompliceofmydeath
July 2nd 2011


4615 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've only got 10 Songs. Better get this, too.

Digging: Gatecreeper - Sweltering Madness

RagingStorm
July 2nd 2011


509 Comments


awesome band

demigod!
July 2nd 2011


49231 Comments


10 songs is pretty good when you get past the fucking whiny cleans. might check this out, but my shortlived screamo phase is over for now

sixthgoldenticket
July 2nd 2011


1176 Comments


the fact that their lyrics are so tongue in cheek has always made them a million times better to me


Spare
July 2nd 2011


5567 Comments


band is rad

Pyosisified
July 2nd 2011


2450 Comments


ok band

ApplicationToHeaven
July 2nd 2011


1566 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so my review was alright then? i'm not very good at self-assessing so any feedback would be appreciated

Pyosisified
July 2nd 2011


2450 Comments


avoid using phrases like "i think", " in my opinion", "for me" etc. redundant

its your review, its pretty clear that everything written here is your opinion

Spare
July 2nd 2011


5567 Comments


yeah review reads kinda like one of my buds recommending me a band

Spec
July 2nd 2011


34816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

About time this got a review.

MutnikSpusic
July 27th 2011


560 Comments


It's cool that you bumped your rating

Spec
December 15th 2011


34816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHY DID YOU HAVE TO DIIIIEEEE

ffs
December 15th 2011


5253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

im piss, im shit

iFghtffyrdmns
December 15th 2011


7047 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you are, you are.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy