Yes
Magnification


2.0
poor

Review

by Nagrarok USER (219 Reviews)
June 27th, 2011 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If Magnification proves anything, it is that Yes shouldn't try new things.

It’s not hard to imagine what drove Yes to the concept of Magnification, their first album of the 2000’s and eventually the only thing that we heard from them in a decade. With keyboardist Igor Khoroshev splitting ways with the band, there came another personnel shift, and even though The Ladder was, when seen in a certain light, a pretty decent comeback, this was still a group struggling to regain some of their former creativity. Unexpectedly, Yes chose to revisit and expand upon something they’d first attempted 30 years ago with their second LP Time And A Word, an album recorded with the aid of an orchestra. As of yet, Rick Wakeman was not interested in rejoining the group, and instead of looking for one new player, the remaining quarter simply hired 60 of them.

To be straight, the orchestra proves to be more of a downfall than a contribution to Magnification. The idea of merging one with a rock band, particularly a progressive one, has been bravely attempted by many in the past, and only a few of the original pioneers actually managed to get it right (e.g. The Moody Blues, Renaissance). In the current century and with a band this age, fortune does not as easily smile on such a combination. Not only are the production and sound subpar in this case, orchestra and band continually cancelling each other out in an unclear and uncontrolled wave of noise, most of Yes’ songwriting has simply become stale and predictable. Throw in an epic-length or two, a few ballads and rockers, not to forget a two-minute interlude with no clear purpose, and there is your new album.

Whether it was a genuine effort from their side or not, Magnification quickly comes to share the same fate as most of Yes’ works made in the past 25 years, orchestra or not. Sometimes it’s just a better thing to accept what you can still do rather than trying to tread new ground. Clearly, Yes are not very good at that.

Magnification’s Yes was:

- John Roy Anderson ~ Lead Vocals, Guitar
- Stephen James Howe ~ Lead Guitars, Mandolin, Backing Vocals
- Christopher Russell Squire ~ Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals
- Alan White ~ Drums, Percussion, Piano, Backing Vocals


TO BE CONCLUDED...




Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (277)
3
good
other reviews of this album
TheMoonchild (2)
Keys to DEscension....

LF96 (4)
...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
June 27th 2011


8656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And so it nearly draws to an end.

greg84
Emeritus
June 27th 2011


7654 Comments


I wish I cared more for Yes. This is a good review though.

War
June 27th 2011


16 Comments


Close to the Edge: This is Yes's epitaph.

Great review.

Nagrarok
June 27th 2011


8656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i need to get into yes still




Close to the Edge, yes please.



Thank you gentlemen.

Pyosisified
June 27th 2011


2450 Comments


is this as good as fragile

War
June 27th 2011


16 Comments


Nah. It's too retarded.

Pyosisified
June 27th 2011


2450 Comments


you would know how that feels like wouldnt you

DoubtGin
June 27th 2011


6879 Comments


will you do the new one too, nag?

Counterfeit
June 27th 2011


17836 Comments


i keep forgetting that youre not done with these and then a random nag review pops up ha

pos

Tyrael
June 27th 2011


21108 Comments


If Magnification proves anything, it is that Yes shouldn't try new things.

Haha great job as always Nag. Going by this summary their new one is gonna suck too ;]

DoubtGin
June 27th 2011


6879 Comments


and sputnik seems to rate newer releases by classic bands much lower

Nagrarok
June 27th 2011


8656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

will you do the new one too, nag?




Of course, would be silly if I didn't now, though I had no idea it was coming when I started this.



i keep forgetting that youre not done with these and then a random nag review pops up ha



pos




Well it has been some time since I started, cheers.



Going by this summary their new one is gonna suck too




I fear it will, but I expect it to be better than this, thanks Tyrael.

Nagrarok
June 27th 2011


8656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

and sputnik seems to rate newer releases by classic bands much lower




Often this is with good reason though.

Jethro42
June 27th 2011


18281 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That bad, really? ProgArchives average rating for this is surprisingly 3.8/5. It makes me curious.

pos'd

Ire
June 27th 2011


41944 Comments


seasons will pass you by

Jethro42
June 27th 2011


18281 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I get up

I get down

DoubtGin
June 27th 2011


6879 Comments


"That bad, really? ProgArchives average rating for this is surprisingly 3.8/5."

RYM has it at a 3.43/5 (which is pretty good-to-great), the best since Drama.

I'm kinda interested in how this actually sounds.

Irving
Emeritus
June 27th 2011


7496 Comments


Solid review Nag, and definitely pos-worthy. However I did feel the review was slightly short on specific details on why the album sucked. I would have much liked to learn about particular examples of Yes' failed experimentation.

That said, review was still classic Nagrarok - generally informative and uber-easy to read =)

Nagrarok
June 28th 2011


8656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That bad, really? ProgArchives average rating for this is surprisingly 3.8/5. It makes me curious.




I didn't find much to like in this, but opinion does seem to be divided.



However I did feel the review was slightly short on specific details on why the album sucked. I would have much liked to learn about particular examples of Yes' failed experimentation.




I'm well aware some of my recent Yes reviews have been less detailed, but I feel I'd be repeating myself. Besides, most of them do not deserve more explanation in my eyes. I do apologize Irving, your comment is valid as always.



Thanks everyone, Fly From Here will be here soon to close this all off.





Jethro42
June 28th 2011


18281 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening to that shit for the 1st time. Sure it's always risky to mix an orchestra with rock music. It's not that it doesn't work on here; The symphonic arrangements are actually well done. Musically, it also has its moments if one is able to get over the everpresent orchestral sonorities which, needless to say is rather an unusual experimentation within the band. Here however, it surprisingly shows lots of potential. Would have been interesting to see Rick Wakeman at work instead, I confess. Still unable to rate atm. Something around a 3...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy