Silverstein
Rescue


4.0
excellent

Review

by pizzamachine USER (220 Reviews)
June 20th, 2011 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: while it isn’t Discovering the Waterfront, Silverstein’s inspired, adventurous mix of old and new should please most Silverstein fans.

When you think about it, Silverstein hasn’t changed all that much. The band has always steadily improved or evolved over time, and that has been their preferred method of change. Perhaps their most drastic change was with their controversial album, Arrivals and Departures, but even that showcased the same old band. Sure, they anchored their ship in a more melodic, and accessible release, but this floated very well with Silverstein’s already melodic style. Unfortunately, this was considered a letdown after such a raw, punk influenced album, Discovering the Waterfront, and people begged for them to go back to the good old days. After that came A Shipwreck in the Sand, which was considered a continuation/improvement upon the previous album’s direction, but this gave little hope to those who wanted the old Silverstein back. Naturally, all hope rested on the shoulders of Rescue, for the album would either make or break the band. After all is said and done, Rescue proves to be the rescue that the band needed since Arrivals and Departures. This is a return to form of outstanding proportions.

Rather than attempting to ease album transitions by sounding too familiar, Silverstein enter with an immediate gut punch. The album opener, ‘Medication’, makes no mistake that the band is now on top of their game for once. The change immediately catches the ear. From thrash styled riffs to swift, punk drum beats, the opening track is a big “f you” to those who lost faith in them. ‘Medication’ isn’t the only absurdly aggressive track, though, and the aggression is a definite selling point for the album. The guitars are heavier, and the album is packed to the gills with improved screams. Silverstein is no longer a boring post-hardcore pretender. In their previous album, the screams were basic compensation for a lack of stick-it-to-the-man attitude, but this time around their implementations give character to the album. One can’t help but smile at some of the screamed lyrics such as:

We live to kill each other
We are the wealthy and the poor
We shout but we don't listen
All we want is more.

Silverstein have always mixed melody with aggression, and in this album they amp up both ends. This results in epic soundscapes that will leave your jaw on the floor. It also makes for a very fun album that makes their last two albums look absolutely trashy in comparison. The songs are finally connecting with the listener, for they are much grander in scope, and rife with passion. It is not often when the band sounds uninspired or sloppy. The last two tracks lack punch as the band’s song style becomes predictable from overuse, but this is quite welcome after an entirely ballsy album.

The band has finally broken out of its shell. No one really knows why they hid their potential for so long, but thankfully, they’re finally doing something with it. The only subpar aspect of the album is that most of the songs sound too similar, but this should not stop anyone from enjoying this album. Rescue is a catchy, heart-filled effort from a band that is finally living up to its potential.



Recent reviews by this author
Within Temptation The Silent ForceBreaking Benjamin Ember
Animals As Leaders The Madness of ManySevendust All I See Is War
Draconian A Rose For The ApocalypseDraconian Turning Season Within
user ratings (445)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
IfYouRun (4)
Silverstein make arguably their strongest record yet, but will challenge no opinions with this relea...


Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
June 20th 2011


14193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One review wasn't good enough! Comments?

silentstar
June 20th 2011


2526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review as always :]

pizzamachine
June 20th 2011


14193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks InnocentShadow :]

Blindsided
June 20th 2011


1871 Comments


Great review, one of the best of yours I've read.
Strong intro and conclusion but the middle is a little muddled.

MO
June 20th 2011


22621 Comments


Nice review Pizza. Never listened to these guys but good writing.

Zettel
June 20th 2011


661 Comments


"Comments?"

On the review or the album?


pizzamachine
June 20th 2011


14193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, one of the best of yours I've read.



Wow thanks a lot!



On the review or the album?



Haha any comment on anything is fine by me.









silentstar
June 20th 2011


2526 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

While I didn't quite enjoy the first half of the album, from Texas Mickey to In Memory Of, the songs were great.

Spec
June 20th 2011


35705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album was such a surprise.

Tyrael
June 20th 2011


21113 Comments


Cool review Pizza, very enjoyable as always.

Zettel
June 20th 2011


661 Comments


You do a very good job in your introduction. I do not know the band, so I get a good idea of their virtues and past missteps, while you pave the way for stating how this new record is a true development of their music. The thing is that you really do not do that, so the review is uneffective in that sense.

All I really get from the review is that "The songs are finally connecting with the listener, for they are much grander in scope, and rife with passion. You say that everything is bigger and better this time -melody, agression, screaming-, but I do not see really why or how this result in the band "finally living up to its potential", while all they are essentially doing is a "a catchy, heart-filled effort". You want me to believe this is really awesome, I just do not see why.

I guess if you are fan of the band, all of the above may have clearer meaning in the reader's mind, but for the beginner that is not really helpful. Basically you just said "all you loved from the band is just better here. I rest my case. Enjoy". Not really a bad review, but I felt toe urge to read the other guy's review to get a better picture of the album.

WashboardSuds
June 20th 2011


5101 Comments


awesome review pizza :]
you've sharpened my interest in listening to this.

I really really want this album

pizzamachine
June 20th 2011


14193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I guess if you are fan of the band, all of the above may have clearer meaning in the reader's mind"



That pretty much sums up the problem I had with writing this review. Arrivals and Departures was the first album I ever bought, so I have a history with the band. I couldn't help comparing this album to their previous efforts, and like you said, it all sounded so clear in my mind. Thanks for the critiquing sir I really appreciate it.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2011


7502 Comments


A pizza review with more than two paragraphs. I. Am. Stunned.

The elders had foreseen this would one day happen.

pizzamachine
June 20th 2011


14193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahaha it isn't *that* rare.

Acanthus
June 20th 2011


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually like this album, normally I can't get into anything by the band but this has it's moments - need to give it another listen.

CarterVance
June 20th 2011


37 Comments


Remember a lot of my friends liked these guys a few years back, but I could never get into them. Excellent review, though!

F0RBES
July 11th 2011


279 Comments


I really enjoyed these guys in grade 7. Bought the CD the day it came out and have yet to get past the 4th song. Hmmmm...

Awesomesauce
July 11th 2011


1089 Comments


Nice review, but I can't get behind this band.

WashboardSuds
July 11th 2011


5101 Comments


I finally listened to this

it gets my seal of approval



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy