Jesu
Opiate Sun


4.5
superb

Review

by psite45 USER (4 Reviews)
April 18th, 2011 | 10 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Never before I heard Jesu had I heard music so heavy, beautiful and real all at the same time.

If I had to sum it up I would have to say Jesu has been my favourite band of the last decade or so. The emotion captured in the pure simplicity of Justin Broadricks song writing; although linear, evokes a clear window to the individual and the soul behind the art; and this ep proves to be no different. All the songs here follow a similar format but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Every song has you feeling as though you're floating on a cloud of distorted and brooding guitars backed by the angelic simple and melodic vocals that come off primal yet deep. Yet if I had to have one complaint about Jesu it would be that oftentimes there are long stretches of instrumental that tend to become somewhat tedious but in the end play well into the massive nihilistic auditory wasteland that is Jesu.

The four songs presented on this ep stray a bit from the heavy side of the earlier Jesu releases and focus more on the slower guitar and synth melodies, yet keep in mind at the beginning of Jesu Justin had just wrapped up Godflesh (for the time being)a much heavier and visceral version of Justins emotional outlets. Despite it having it's small flaws in the end it makes it more human and that's just what makes more interesting and especially more emotional music. Never before I heard Jesu had I heard music so heavy, beautiful and real all at the same time.


user ratings (121)
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
brutebeard (3)
No timeless masterpieces on this disc, just humble, expressive art....



Comments:Add a Comment 
DarkNoctus
April 18th 2011


11474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one of my favorite Jesu releases

Digging: Kauan - Ice Fleet

psite45
April 18th 2011


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Mine as well. I know this is short but I felt i'd said everything I needed to say.

iFghtffyrdmns
April 18th 2011


7044 Comments


Not a bad review, you definitely say what you need to say and do so clearly, but it might not hurt to include at least a bit of an introduction and a conclusion. That might just make the whole thing read a little more smoothly and feel a bit more cohesive, you know?

psite45
April 18th 2011


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought i would be appropriate to do a very bare-boned Jesu review.

North0House2
April 18th 2011


6080 Comments


Yeah, definitely very simplistic, but well written nonetheless.

I think his self-titled is my favorite though. Friends are Evil and Sun Day are amazing tracks.

FadedSun
April 19th 2011


2543 Comments


Yeah, I couldn't dig much else from Jesu besides the self-titled. I showed one of my friends Friends are Evil and he's been obsessed with Jesu ever since.

sifFlammable
April 19th 2011


2741 Comments


Tbh I find it hard to get into jesu

If I wanted heavy stuff I'd listen to heavy drone like nadja
If I wanted emotional stuff I'd listen to ambient-related stuff lik hecker

IMO jesu is in between and, frankly, excels neither emotionally nor heavily

Rev
April 19th 2011


9882 Comments


Silver EP, S/T, and Heartache and Dethroned are my favorites

I also really like Sun Down/Sun Rise


but yes Nadja is far superior, but I'm probably biased since they're my favorite band

bodiesinflight57
April 19th 2011


870 Comments


Agree with this review, jesu at their best

Wizard
April 29th 2011


20340 Comments


Couldn't agree more with the review, love this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy